We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelllent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bailey's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bailey's Hotel
Ranked #355 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excelllent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2006

We decided on Rome for our 25th Wedding Anniversary and so looked for a good comfortable hotel. We were attracted by the reviews Baileys had on TripAdvisor. We booked the Hotel on the hotels website and found it clear and easy. We arrived in Rome on the Leonardo train from Fiumicino Airport to the Termini station. This Station is very large and we suggest you stay inside the station and walk past the other platforms leaving the station by the main entrance where the ticket offices and shops are, this can take upto 10 minutes! Fom this point the hotel is 10 to 15 minutes walk. The hotel is on a road parallel to the 'Via XX Settembre". Via Flavia is quiet with a mixture of Hotels Restaurants and small businesses. Baileys is a small hotel but is well appointed and nicely decorated, our room was larger than we had been led to expect for Rome. The service provided in all aspects of the hotel was exemplary. Whilst one expects the hotel to act on any problems you may point out, I was surprised when I noticed one of the light bulbs in our room was out as we left for a walk to the coliseum one morning, on our return the bulb had been replaced without us mentioning it at all! It shows the sort of care taken by all the staff.
The breakfast buffet was nicely presented with a sufficient choice to accommodate our tastes. We found the hotel to be convenient for the major sites and although in Rome you should expect to have to walk we found the routes enjoyable and not too strenuous. We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank PoyntonClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    263
    87
    30
    14
See reviews for
115
388
11
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2006

Entering my 40 th, my wife Lina surprised me and took me to Rome.
What a better place to stay than the Bailey's Hotel. It wasn't in the middle of the noise and clutter but no more than 15-20 minutes away from the sights.
Once you get your bearings within a day or so you'd see and understand how close you are to these places.
If you need help definitely ask Simona at the front desk. Simona will send you on your way which will be just right.
Go on a tour to Florence. Highly recommended.
The hotel atmosphere wasn't grand but just right. Room was comfortable enough for two ( not that you'd want to stay inside with all to see) and the bathroom was always clean.
The breakfast was astonishing. Great service! and Excellent coffee (American). Must wake up early enough to taste the fresh eggs!
At night if you're hungry from walking and shopping all day,across the street from Bailey's hotel exiting left a block away, try theGreek food from Mythos, or the assorted food from the snack shop in front of the Newsstand. Make sure you don't buy from the snack shops near the tourist areas, they tend to overcharge, ie. 3,95 for 1 warm Coke or ask how much before you sit down.
Over all Bailey's hotel was exactly what we needed not too much and not to little. With excellent service and no complaints! Any questions, always ask Simona she'd know what to do for you, and she always does it with a smile! Bravo to Baley's and the staff.

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislke
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure u lock up your Passport and valuables. Keep a weary eye for pickpockets
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank Us_Deux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2006

My friend and I stayed @ Bailey's for 5 night's. We found it quite adequate. It was close to termini and in walking distance of lot of the tourisity places. The staff were helpful and the room was more then we expected. We really enjoyed our breakfast each day. Gave us agreat start to our day. Staff were nice but especially Simona !!!!!!!! Would recommend this place to anyone visiting Rome.

  • Liked — clean rooms and small enough to find everything
  • Disliked — little more friendliness at desk from guys Samona is great
  • Tips/Secrets — shop across street close early
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bakeapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2006

I really don't get it! I chose this hotel, mainly because of the reviews in this page. I found the location bad, yes quiet, that it is, but def. not a "cool" or "cute" or anything location. The staff was terrible, the lobby and the rest of the hotel def. missing personality. Way too expensive for what we got. The room was a nice size, ammenitites terrible, comfy bed, worst view ever.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank cestlaviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2006

My husband and I stayed in the Baileys Hotel in November 2006. The hotel is in a good location, down a quiet side street. It is walking distance from the Termini station and also from many of the attractions. We found the best way to see Rome was to walk everywhere but there are some good bus tours which allow you to get on and off all day at the major attractions, if you don't fancy walking. Also there is a good metro system as an alternative.

We stayed in a double deluxe bedroom, which was averagely sized but a bit disappointing as the photo's on the website suggested it would be a lot bigger and a lot more luxurious than it was. The complimentary fruit was a nice touch, although ours looked like it had been hanging around for a while and may have been rejected by the last occupants.

The bathroom was clean and averagely sized - the photo's provided by the hotel are a bit deceiving in terms of size. Also, bring a hairdryer (if you use one) as the hairdryers provided barely blow out any air at all!

I didn't find the staff at all friendly or helpful, in contrary to previous reviews. The hotel bar, never seemed to be open - we had wanted a pre-dinner drink but the lights were out and there was no-one around to serve us.

The breakfast was adequate - standard cold buffet you expect at any European hotel - the coffee was lovely though but staff service left a lot to be desired!

Overall Rome is a lovely city, the hotel is in a good location to see all the sights in a short visit. I would stay at the hotel again, but felt it was overpriced for the service and facilities provided.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Price v facilities/staff service
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank AC&JC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2006

We stayed at the Baileys with a number of friends for a 50th Birthday. The Hotel was well placed and was very clean and tidy. It had obviously been renovated in the last few years. The room was very well decorated and the bed very comfortable. The size of room and en-suite were what you would expect of a major European City, not over generous but nothing to complain about. Some very nice touches with fresh fruit in the room. I found the breakfast fine, not a big English but hey this is Rome. There was certainly a selection and plently of it.

The staff were pleasant and helpful tho you did have to seach out someone to serve you at the tiny and not well appointed bar. Just a very nice family feel city hotel that I would stay at again.

  • Liked — Room finish was above average
  • Disliked — Room and en-suite size were adequate but not large
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank roots-and-wings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, England
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2006

Situated away from the bustle of the main tourist traps in Rome , Bailey's Hotel is still easily accessible to most of them by metro, bus and good old fashioned walking. My wife and I selected it primarily for its proximity to the Termini station as we were arriving by the bus from Ciampino airport which stops outside the station and eventually departing by train for our onward trip to Naples. We spent four nights there in early November.

The hotel staff were very welcoming and were only too pleased to provide us with advice on places to see and make recommendations for restaurants etc. The room was clean but rather garishly decorated. It had very atmospheric subdued lighting which was fine except that it made identifying the contents of one's suitcase at night a bit difficult !
Breakfast was served in a rather small but adequate room. A good range of the usual cold buffet items was provided. A nice touch which pleased us as English tea drinkers was the provision of a reasonable sized teapot to allow the beverage to infuse - unlike the sad "teabag in the cup scenario "which is found frequently in many continental hotels.

Unfortunately the hotel's accounting system is not too efficient . Upon our departure we were billed for extras ( a hot breakfast and items from the minibar) which we had not consumed. After some discussion ( a good job we were not in too much of a hurry to catch our train) these were cancelled. However the incident left a bit of a sour taste which spoilt what otherwise was a very pleasant stay there. Nevertheless it is still a fine hotel and we would definitely stay there again when in Rome

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Unexpected extras on the bill
  • Tips/Secrets — Buy a 3 day travel pass when in Rome. Get to the Vatican museum before 8am
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveller-on-Tyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Gambrinus Hotel
#293 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Oxford
Hotel Oxford
#335 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Empire Palace Hotel
Empire Palace Hotel
#237 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#203 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Veneto Palace Hotel
Veneto Palace Hotel
#314 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN Hotel Artdeco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bailey's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailey's Hotel

Property: Bailey's Hotel
Address: Via Flavia 39, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Family Hotel in Rome
#190 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#207 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bailey's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate Townhouse Hotel housed in a building dating from the 18th century & re-opened in 2001 after complete renovations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bailey's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baileys Hotel Rome
Bailey Hotel
Hotel Bailey Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing