We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Bailey's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bailey's Hotel
Ranked #448 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I will start with the positives..... Location great, bed comfy,sheets good,staff friendly,room clean .....
Now for the negatives...... Room small and dingy,bathroom basic,breakfast terrible,coffee very stewed and offerings for breakfast poor.......asked for porridge as advertised on menu but they didn't have it.breakfast room no natural light as no windows small room .this is not a 4 star hotel by anyone's standards.

This was our second trip to Rome but we won't stay at this hotel again

Room Tip: Stay at Hotel Artemide same rating and value for money......don't pay for breakfast eat at the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maree M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (765)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 766 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in an upgraded room which was fantastic. The hotel staff were very helpful and polite. The continental breakfast was fresh and plentiful. Set in a quiet area, but near enought to the Metro.There are plenty of restaurants nearby to eat in the evening - Flavio's within 50m walk and Taverna Barberini's- 10mins away. Barberini's was best value and a great atmosphere. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 104 - large room with a huge bathroom and overlooking the authentic deli across th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hendesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We booked a weekend 3 night stay in Rome in January. We were blessed with cold but sunny weather but not the flights in or out of Manchester both of which were delayed and shortened the stay. On arrival at Fiumicino Airport we bought tickets for the Leonardo Express into the Centre of Rome itself (Make sure you use the official ticket office, there are some others that dont offer the same value). Due to delays our trip took 50minutes instead of 30. We then walked to our Hotel, 'The Baileys'. The hotel is lovely and clean and although in a quiet district, a short walk from the Termini, bus stops etc. The breakfasts are as decribed by others, satisfactory. We ate locally at restaurants recommended in the area by the hotel staff. Of particular note is La Pentolaccia across the road, lovely ambience and food and reasonably priced.

Highly recommended (and to get your bearings) is a trip on the open top bus which takes about one and a half hours but you can hop on/hop off to suit. An ideal way to get around.
We prebooked a two day pass and used it to familiarise ourselves with the layout of Rome.

The next day we visited the Colosseum, Roman Forum, The 'typewriter' aka Altar of the Fatherland and the Pantheon. To avoid the long queues at the Colesseum, buy your tickets next door at the Forum which will allow you entry to both including Palatine Hill. This saves a lot of time for the other sights!

On our last day we managed to take in the Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, Piazza Navone, Vatican City and St Peter's Basilica (visit the post office and send yourself a postcard from the Vatican City), Castel Sant'Angelo and the Piazza del Popolo. We walked and used the hop on/off bus.

Points of note:
Eat on the roads behind the square in the Piazza Navone - much cheaper and generally excellent. This goes for all the major tourist areas, sit in the square for the view and pay the price.

At the Termini, a ticket system exists where you take a numbered ticket and then wait to be called to a desk. Touts use this creating lengthy queues which they then use to try and sell pre-purchased tickets to those waiting patiently (at no doubt inflated prices). The self service ticket machines are easy to follow in different languages.

At the Colesseum if you have your photo taken with the Gladiators - you will be expected to pay afterward, the same in the Piazza Del Popolo where a rose is pushed into the ladies hand and you are then hassled to pay for what was offered as a 'gift'.

We had an excellent whistlestop trip (would have liked to stay longer) with a lovely hotel as a base. Rome has much to offer but can be expensive.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JeanRoger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed every minute. This is a wonderful little Hotel. All the staff were exceptionally friendly and polite, the rooms were clean and well appointed and the breakfast was a highlight everyday. Loved it there and would happily return. PS. Don't get the transfer pickup from the airport. Driver was polite enough and met us on time, but drove way way too fast!! Scared the living daylights out of us!!

Room Tip: We had a family room overlooking the main street - it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The service atthe front desk could not be faulted, although the hotel over-booked our room and we had to move to a different hotel 800 yards away for our first night. The hotel paid for our taxi, transferred our bags across the next morning, upgraded our room and supplied us with a free bottle of Prosecco Superiore -so they were forgiven! The room was on the 5th floor and very spacious, but no coffee/tea making facilities, which was disappointing. The breakfast favoured those with a sweet tooth, with a predominenece of cakes, tarts, etc. There was the obligatory sweet cheese, ham and salami, but no bread except for sweet rolls or crusty rolls full of air. I totally agree with other reviewers that the Americano in the large urn was undrinkable, tasting rather like soap! The hotel is in the business quarter of Rome and so it's a very quiet area, with a few nearby restaurants, but no bars, etc. Probably ideal for a short stay, but we stayed for 4 nights and wished we'd stayed nearer the centre of Rome with a bit more going on.

Room Tip: We were on the front of the hotel, but if you stay on the higher floors you'll not hear any traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FreevasB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights, hotel is lovely, breakfast yummy, staff really helpful :) close to main attractions and train and bus routes. However... There was only one window in the room which opened on to a fire escape this made it very hot!! :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NaomiHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for our honeymoon. Expected room to be small. Didn't expect it to be so dark. Two dim lamps, and the only window looked out to the fire escape. Shower was very small. Almost could not bend over without turning the faucet off with your rear end. Also got floor wet. Nice bar, good Chardonnay.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Ranieri
Hotel Ranieri
#291 of 1,272 in Rome
547 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Empire Palace Hotel
Empire Palace Hotel
#264 of 1,272 in Rome
1,097 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Marcella Royal Hotel
Marcella Royal Hotel
#91 of 1,272 in Rome
1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gambrinus Hotel
#325 of 1,272 in Rome
1,397 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Veneto Palace Hotel
Veneto Palace Hotel
#259 of 1,272 in Rome
828 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Emona Aquaeductus
Hotel Emona Aquaeductus
#473 of 1,272 in Rome
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bailey's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailey's Hotel

Address: Via Flavia 39, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Family Hotel in Rome
#207 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#246 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $83 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bailey's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate Townhouse Hotel housed in a building dating from the 18th century & re-opened in 2001 after complete renovations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Bailey's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baileys Hotel Rome
Hotel Bailey Rome
Bailey Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing