We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok I suppose”
Review of Hotel Cambridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cambridge
Ranked #760 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Coober Pedy
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ok I suppose”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

I stayed 4 nights. The location is excellent. A run down area but safe and handy for the rail Termini. Also there is an excellent restaurant about 5 mins away which I went to 3 nights out of four. The staff at the Hotel were pretty much like all Romans are to tourists. They generally seem to resent tourists and whilst not openly rude, are not especially friendly. I won't be back to Rome any time soon so their crashing economy won't get my money. The shower in my room stank of sewers but was generally OK by morning and the smell didn't pervade the room if the door was shut. If I turned the shower head upside down, the pressure was so low the water nearly stopped coming out and the water temperature was warm at best but no problem really. The 5th floor room was run down but clean and OK to crash. I've been in better in Guatemala for less than a dollar a night. Not a place for romance. Wi-fi was free for guests (in lobby only) and the breakfasts were plentiful and fine. But.....That Roman attitude? Why do they do that? Nearly forgot... the room was incredibly noisy despite my request for a quiet room. Loads of air conditioning units (I guess, but not mine, which was pitiful) going off with one particularly noisy one. I was so knackered I slept through it mostly, but it may not be for everyone. I won't be going back there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cameron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    94
    79
    35
    27
See reviews for
46
115
27
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

The location was very convenient to go to Termini (main station in Rome). It is in the heart of the city and access to all major tourist locations. The staff was friendly. some spoke english well. Wi-Fi works well. The shower stall was extremely small. The mattress felt different from usual.

Room Tip: the shower stall and the bathroom is not suitable for overweight people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Simple hotel, but clean and friendly staff. Room was basic but large with decent shower. Location was excellent, right next to termini station where all trains, buses, metros and airport transfers go from. Staff very helpful regarding places to eat and buses to get there.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahK85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

great central location 3 minute walk from termini with our case , helpful staff, clean rooms relaxed atmosphere . rooms were cleaned everyday fresh towels mini bar priced reasonable had a good stay breakfast was good plenty of food choice available extra coffees not a problem would highly recommend.had good stay here. warm friendly staff very helpful free guide book with your stay very helpful travel using buses 1 euro for 75mins travel get coloceum early 8:30am to avoid Q had great time thanks to all xxx karen n tony

Room Tip: had double room was practical for base to sleep etc city keeps you out all day xx
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank appyarrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Good location 5 minutes away from Termini, food available to buy at Spar and a handful of nice inexpensive restaurants and bars around.
Stayed with 3 other people and only had 1 key for all, you can imagine how inconvenient it was when we split up. Only 1 elevator, fit 3 people, so had to wait ages to go up or down.
Staff was very rude: when a couple of friends staying at another hotel visited us for a couple of minutes, they got kicked out; staff explained in bad English something about "police regulations" although I've never experienced anything like this at other hotels.
Checked "yes" on "Free High Speed Internet", but 1)definitely not high speed, 2)wifi only works downstairs in a small Internet cafe, not enough spare sockets for laptops.
Rooms small but in good condition. No closet: had to keep all clothes in suitcases.
Acceptable for student trips with friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timeywimeykid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We booked this hotel 2 days prior our arrival in Rome. The price was around 100 euro so our expectations were not unrealistic. That being said, the hotel is situated in a convenient central location, so we could take long walks around the major points of interest and not have to worry about taking a taxi etc.

The quadruple room we had was clean but felt like it was furnished 20 years ago. Then again we only used it to have a good night's sleep after a tiring sight-seeing session. Don't come here for a romantic experience but rather a good value for money considering how expensive Rome can be, esp. if you are a large family like us. If single, look elsewhere, but for the 5 of us it made a lot of sense to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teekay_cz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

The so so reviews nearly turned us off but I am so glad we kept the reservation. 4 of us stayed here for 3 nights in total. 2 days initially en route to Praiano and then one last night before we left Rome.
Everything was very nice, what you would expect from a 3 star. Strong AC which was very helpful as we are in a heat wave. Also clean.
A s aplus the porter kept our luggage for us for free when we were in Praiano, saved us a trip lugging it to the left luggage in Termini
Would stay again

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EverRoamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Gabriella
Hotel Gabriella
#926 of 1,258 in Rome
428 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Sol Levante
Hotel Sol Levante
#640 of 1,258 in Rome
114 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Texas
Hotel Texas
#729 of 1,258 in Rome
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Domus Praetoria
Hotel Domus Praetoria
#399 of 1,258 in Rome
760 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#451 of 1,258 in Rome
290 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Dolomiti
Hotel Dolomiti
#552 of 1,258 in Rome
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cambridge

Property: Hotel Cambridge
Address: Via Palestro 87, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #760 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cambridge 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing