We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best compromise”
Review of Hotel Isa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Isa
Ranked #71 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best compromise”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Not trendy, but great room (superior, 5th floor), very clean, great and helpful staff, delicious breakfast (8/10) with pretty good coffee. I guess the roof terrace is great during summer - yeah, why did we came in November???
Do not miss the fireplace in the lobby, great room to hang around with a book... ;)

Room Tip: 5th (top) floor, superior rooms are great equipped, howerver a little "old looking", like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VilagVandor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    462
    88
    24
    19
See reviews for
238
572
34
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Isa for seven nights in early November. After a couple of nights our feelings were still a bit mixed but as the week drew to an end the negatives started to outweigh the positives.

The first impression was good. Isa can be found at a convenient location with both the metro station and the Vatican reasonably close. The neighborhood feels safe even during late night strolls. Many of the side streets sport Italian or ethnic restaurants, our favorite being San Marco whose pizza “Prosciutto and Funghi” will blow your mind.

We had a standard room on the fourth floor with a window facing the garden. It was clean but slightly old-fashioned and tiny even by European standards. As there was nowhere to put your belongings we ended up keeping our clothes on the floor in our travel trunks. The only half-size cupboard available was partly occupied by a small safe to which the key could be rented for 5 euros per stay. The room had a flat screen television with 300 channels of which only CNN was English. We had a pants press but no clothes iron. Free wireless Internet was provided but the quality was poor, and it took numerous attempts to connect, and once connected, the dropouts were frequent. We tried with a Nokia, an Apple, and a Sony tablet. The bed which occupied most of the room was hard - think brick and mortar. We are used to concrete mattresses but this was perhaps the most solid surface I have slept on. The worst thing, though, was the front door which lacked any kind of insulation. We were lucky not to have hard partying fellow guests but when somebody entered a room on our floor or uttered a single syllable we could hear it all, crisp and clear as if somebody had been in the room. The windows were not much better and did little to block the noises of garbage being thrown into metal containers every morning at seven. I should perhaps mention that my wife slept with ear plugs the whole week.

The breakfast is good. Although they serve the same ingredients every morning, the selection is large enough to justify it. The only complaint is that they make no effort to keep the bacon, sausages and vegetable stew warm. It did not matter if you had the breakfast at 7.30 or 9.00, these items were always cold. While the staff working in the lobby made quite a nondescript effort at being welcoming, the cleaning ladies were tremendous. Everything was kept clean and spotless and whenever you ran into any of them there was a smile and a greeting coming up. The opposite can be said about the hotel’s airport shuttle service driver. During the 40 minute trip to the airport in an ancient Mercedes with no AC, the only thing he muttered was that he wanted the money (50e). We got no receipt.

Our visit to Rome was very pleasant, and it feels important to underline that despite what I have written, our stay at Isa was okay enough not to ruin it. It would just have been so much better had the bed been comfortable, and the noises kept in check. To me it seems that while the hotel staff is doing a proper job, the facility itself and the characteristics of the rooms are just not very good. I would give Hotel Isa 2.5 stars mainly because of poor sleep quality, and conclude that next we come to Rome we will try something else.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Our room, #301, in no way looks like the pictures posted. It is outdated with tacky orange decor, as if this room was totally overlooked. The walls are super thin. We could hear some guy singing and chanting. The hair dryer only works for about 30 seconds and shuts off. Have to wait for at least 5 minutes before being able to use it for just another 30 seconds! The Wi-Fi works sporadically. The front desk lame explanations were "the hair dryer gets too hot and Apple devices are not compatible with the Wi-Fi." Yet we have Samsung Galaxy S4 cell phones and couldn't get internet access. The location and breakfast are the only good things about this hotel. For $200 a night, it is totally unacceptable!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Khanh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We liked our small room with a balcony looking over the inner courtyard. Very clean with a comfortable bed and all you need in a bathroom. Well stocked fridge at reasonable prices, flat screen TV etc...

We loved the brilliant location which is in walking distance of all Rome main tourist hotspots and easy walking distance of most. We also loved the breakfast on the roof. Great choice and very tasty.

We absolutely adored the rooftop terrace bar and the brilliant views of St Peters illuminated at night. We had an unexpected extra in Willy who served us in the bar. He is simply wonderful, charming and provides tasty pre dinner bites along with your drinks.

It was my wife's birthday during our stay. The hotel must have spotted the cards in our room and surprised us with a bottle of champagne, sweets and a card on a tray. A very unexpected extra but one which absolutely convinced us that this is a great place to stay.

Yes, our room was small and they do offer larger ones but as we were planning on spending time in Rome and not at the hotel it did not matter. However, the unexpected extras of the views from the hotel, the brilliant service from Willy and the thoughtful champagne made the Hotel Isa a very special place to stay.

Definately recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GranpaGlenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

I booked a family room, which actually turned out to be two separate rooms (each with their own bathrooms), one twin and one double. This was just about perfect for me, my wife and my two teenage sons.

The hotel staff were charming throughout, and we had lovely breakfasts each morning on the sunny roof terrace, with a view of Saint Peters. Then we walked our feet off, usually ending up by the Coliseum - only 30 mins from the hotel, but always longer with diversions.

Overall a lovely hotel in a quiet part of Rome, and one I'd love to return to.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon_of_Henley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The location is just great! short walking distance to the Vatican and many of Romes attractions. Good proximity to the metro trains and bus lines. The rooftop restaurant offers breakfast service which is very nice and the wait staff are very friendly.

The two bed rooms are okay, but very cramped. Beds are small and certainly substandard.
Very little amenities, but it worked for us since all we needed is a place to sleep.

I would certainly recommend this property for its great location. However, the rest is about average.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAndari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Five of us spent two nights at the Hotel Isa and found everything to be wonderful. Our rooms were spacious with all of the amenities expected. My only suggestion there would be an upgrade in the hair dryers. The rooftop terrace gave you incredible views of the Vatican and other parts of Rome. The breakfasts were delicious with the staff being extremely attentive and friendly. At night, the Terrace bar was a wonderful place to unwind and have some snacks and wine.
Perhaps one of the best features of this hotel is its location. It is within easy walking distance to most of the major attractions in Rome, except the Coliseum. It is not in the middle of a busy tourist part which makes it more relaxing. The front desk staff were all very friendly and accommodating offering suggestions readily. My traveling companions and I would definitely return to this hotel on our next stay in Rome.

Room Tip: The rooms on the inner courtyard are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngiePA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Dei Mellini
Hotel Dei Mellini
#63 of 1,257 in Rome
1,496 reviews
Prati
NH Collection Roma Giustiniano
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel della Conciliazione
Hotel della Conciliazione
#59 of 1,257 in Rome
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,257 in Rome
1,295 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Prati
Le Meridien Visconti Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Isa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isa

Property: Hotel Isa
Address: Via Cicerone 39, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#60 Business Hotel in Rome
#85 Family Hotel in Rome
#95 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Isa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Isa Design Hotel Rome is located in the heart of the city, in a 19th century historical building, and at a few steps away from Vatican City, St. Angelo Castle and St. Peter's Basilica. Navona Square, the Pantheon, Spanish Steps, Via del Corso shopping street are just a short walk away. The convenient location combined with the singularity of the interiors and high standard service will grant you a perfect stay in the Eternal City. Isa Hotel is the best expression of a boutique hotel in which a welcoming atmosphere perfectly matches with the luxury environment. Each floor features a unique and high level of style, from classical to design rooms, realized with the best tailor made fornitures and thought by brilliant italian interior designers. Hotel Isa is famous for its panoramic terrace "La terrazza di Isa", a roof garden with an astonishing view of the city and St. Peter's dome, where you can enjoy the rich breakfast or a drink at the relaxing bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, MyHotelShop, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Isa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isa Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing