We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel in Rome with good service & location”
Review of Hotel Isa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Isa
Ranked #71 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Friendly hotel in Rome with good service & location”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The receptionist welcomed us warmly and was helpful and friendly. The triple room was spacious, well designed and well-equipped which provided us with a pleasant stay. Breakfast on the rooftop terrace was what we were looking forward to every morning during our stay with good view and wide spread of food. The location of the hotel was really good, accessible and convenient. It was our best hotel during our 14 days of Europe tour. :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christie1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    468
    88
    24
    19
See reviews for
246
583
34
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Oz
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I originally chose this Hotel due to its proximity to the Castel Sant'Angelo (the highlight of our first visit to Rome in 2008 as part of a blink-and-miss-it bus tour of Europe), but the location paid further dividends upon arrival (it's just around the corner from the Vatican stop on the SIT airport transfer bus route) and departure (it's only a stroll away from Lepanto Metro station which is only 5 stops to Termini).

On arrival I was struck by the sleek, yet comfortable modern design and furnishings, which followed through to our beautiful, spacious room and bathroom, both immaculately clean. The only small hitch for me was the lack of a door on the shower cubicle (not sure if that was part of the design or if it was missing) - no matter how careful you were you couldn't avoid spreading water all over the floor. Apart from that tiny glitch, we loved the room.

Not feeling terribly adventurous after travelling most of the day, we decided to eat at the hotel's restaurant on our first night. All I can say is 'WOW' - the first thing you see when you walk up to the rooftop is an amazing view across to the Vatican. We enjoyed a magnificent meal, with amazing hospitality by Willy, the waiter. Needless to say, we didn't end up venturing out for dinner on our remaining two nights either! A buffet breakfast is also offered on the rooftop terrace/restaurant - what an amazing way to start your day in Rome!

To sum up: fantastic location, beautifully designed and styled, immaculately clean, helpful and friendly staff...and of course THAT incredible view from the rooftop terrace/restaurant! Will definitely stay here again if we are fortunate enough to return to bella Roma.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank twinbutterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Our room was a little small, but overall look of the hotel was gorgeous and kept immaculately clean. Breakfast on the rooftop terrace was an experience; it overlooks the Vatican, won't forget that view in a while! It also has the bar on the terrace so we enjoyed a drink in the evening too. Our room had a window facing the sun and overlooked the main square at the top of the street. The bathroom was lovely with a walk in shower but again a bit cramped. There are plenty of eateries within walking distance too which i liked, spoilt for choice. Overall a lovely and memorable stay in Rome, hope we go again one day! :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Friendly, helpful staff. Superior rooms are well presented and they are quiet at the rear of the hotel with a personal balcony (eg 501 and 201). Small standard (room 100) is pretty basic but is quiet and also has a personal balcony.
Rooftop restaurant (breakfast and bar) is excellent with a great view over Rome ( check out the photographs above the sofa to the right of the clock - Rome circa 1890, Rome hasn't really changed except for the addition of tv aerials and satellite dishes!). The restrooms also have some cheeky photographs that are worth a look (located by the garden area to the right of the clock)
Food is good! - I liked the breakfast with plenty of fresh fruit (help yourself), eggs are cooked to order (just pop up to bar area and ask one of the staff), might as well order fresh coffee at the same time:). Tea and ordinary filtered coffee is located to the right of the bar (again it's help yourself). Being a vegetarian I was well catered for so I was happy! The rest of my family eat meat and there is also a large section of fresh meat cuts, bacon, sausages etc. [breakfast 07:00 to 10:30]
Rooftop bar is open from 17:00 for a nice drink overlooking the rooftops towards the Vatican, Willy is great ensuring everyone is happy and well catered for :) Dinner is served from around 19:00, there is salad available as a help yourself and Willy takes your order from the menu, vegetarian options are pasta based but the meat/fish eaters had a great selection and the rest of the family thoroughly enjoyed their food. It should be noted that the restaurant is occasionally closed for private functions but there are plenty of good local restaurants around the hotel. Also, the lift only goes up to the 5th floor and the restaurant is on the 6th so disabled travellers may have difficulty (there are also several steps to the lift from the lobby area!). It should be noted that the lift is original and can only hold up to about 4 people so best not to overload!
There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms (being British we missed not being able to have a cup of tea when we wanted ;(), there is a minibar present and when you check in a complimentary bottle of water is provided. Wifi (secure network just need to get password from reception) is free though the coverage is a bit patchy (fine in rooms) To telephone other rooms just dial room number, reception is 9, outside line 0, restaurant 265
A room safe is available and the key is charged at €5 for the duration of your stay (lockable not code driven). A €3 charge is also made per night that the hotel has to charge and this goes to the city of Rome. The hotel can also arrange pick up/drop off at the airport ( excellent service and is in the region of €50 for 2, bit more for 3!)
We had a wonderful stay and I would come back in a heartbeat! We travelled from Belgium, England and Wales as it was a family gathering and we wanted to celebrate my brother Paul's birthday - Hotel Isa made it perfect and they also kindly left a lovely bottle of bubbly in Paul's room on the Friday (really nice gesture!).
General notes on Rome - wear comfortable shoes as you will do plenty of walking and the cobbled streets can be hard on your feet, you may also need to move pretty quickly as Roman drivers are slightly unforgiving! Pharmacy across the road from hotel if you need plasters, cream, sun lotion etc ( treat yourself to a gelato a few doors down from the pharmacy, takes your mind off the blisters!). Heat can be exhausting, ensure you have some water with you and take your time (except when crossing the road!)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesenice, Stredocesky Kraj, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have very good and nice time in this hotel. Hotel ISA is very good located, relax walk distance from metro A (Lepanto) , Piazza Navone, etc. Room was very nice, Italian design, staff of the hotel is really very friendly. Breakfast on the top terrace was exiting start of each day. There are only two disadvantages in this hotel. Hotel doesn´t have swimming pool (but on the other hand, if you want, journey from hotel to the see takes only 60 minutes) and lift is sometimes very busy. If I will go to Rome next time, I´m sure, I want be in this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vladislav G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2013

A little too small rooms but they where clean and the bathrooms where good. Is it really 4 stars? The breakfast was really excellent and nothing was missing. The staf was kind and friendly. It was really nice to have breakfast on the roof in the sun every morning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank stinapina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We moved here after our previous accommodation turned out to be a bust. The room was larger than advertised, breakfast was an experience, especially the rooftop terrace. Generally the staff were great, but there was one lady on reception who made us feel most unwelcome. However I won't downgrade the hotel experience because of one person.

The restaurant was interesting and if you would like a seat with a view then you really need to reserve seating. The food was ok, but the are better meals to be had locally. We had the tenderloin but it was very fatty and not worth the 20 euro we paid for it while the mixed fish grill was worth the money.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Greguska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Dei Mellini
Hotel Dei Mellini
#67 of 1,263 in Rome
1,512 reviews
Monti
Rome Life Hotel
Rome Life Hotel
#42 of 1,263 in Rome
892 reviews
Prati
NH Collection Roma Giustiniano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#32 of 1,263 in Rome
1,327 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel della Conciliazione
Hotel della Conciliazione
#51 of 1,263 in Rome
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Isa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isa

Property: Hotel Isa
Address: Via Cicerone 39, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#60 Business Hotel in Rome
#85 Family Hotel in Rome
#95 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Isa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Isa Design Hotel Rome is located in the heart of the city, in a 19th century historical building, and at a few steps away from Vatican City, St. Angelo Castle and St. Peter's Basilica. Navona Square, the Pantheon, Spanish Steps, Via del Corso shopping street are just a short walk away. The convenient location combined with the singularity of the interiors and high standard service will grant you a perfect stay in the Eternal City. Isa Hotel is the best expression of a boutique hotel in which a welcoming atmosphere perfectly matches with the luxury environment. Each floor features a unique and high level of style, from classical to design rooms, realized with the best tailor made fornitures and thought by brilliant italian interior designers. Hotel Isa is famous for its panoramic terrace "La terrazza di Isa", a roof garden with an astonishing view of the city and St. Peter's dome, where you can enjoy the rich breakfast or a drink at the relaxing bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Isa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isa Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing