We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky and fun!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound
Ranked #261 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2009

I highly recommend the Franklin. I took my nephew to Italy in June 2009 as a graduation gift. After extensive research on multiple sites, I decided to book this hotel. I have traveled extensively (34 countries so far) and am pretty picky about where I stay and I want good value and good service. The Franklin really exceeded my expectations. Value: Excellent! Our room was large by the tiny European hotel room standard. Everything in the room was very modern. Excellent sound system and a flat panel TV! Our bathroom had a mirror-ball and blue light that flooded the room when we put our room key in the slot! We couldn’t stop laughing! Snare-drums served as bedside tables! The reception area is funky, with a huge drum for a desk and hundreds of CDs to choose from to take to your room. Lots of modern, music themed art around the hotel in the hallways and stairwell. The reception staff were outstanding in recommending restaurants and giving directions. The buffet style breakfast was good. It must be an Italian thing to have only one cup of coffee (or espresso based coffee) as that’s all you’re going to get! Location: Close enough to walk the Vatican. It’s a short walk to the Metro as well. Best of all - the hotel is NON-SMOKING! A welcome respite from the cigarette smoke filled streets of Rome.

Traveler's tip on saving a few bucks:
If you’re in Rome for 3 or more days, get the Roma Pass. It’s available at certain locations. You get 3 days unlimited travel on the metro/subway system and buses (great if you have tired feet!). Admission to two participating attractions, which include the Colosseum, Forum, and most of the museums! After you’ve used your 2 admissions, you receive discounted admission to the other participating attractions. We saved quite a bit!

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hildynyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 616 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2009

Firstly the location of the Franklin hotel is in a residential area that is a good 10 minute walk from the nearest Metro station which is Ottaviano. It is also close to the Vatican, but for most other tourist areas and attractions you will need to get the Metro and travel further into Rome.

Our poor customer experience began a week before, as we needed to add an extra night's stay. After sending three emails and a telephone call we received no confirmation that the extra night had been allocated. Upon arrival we were greeted by a friendly member of staff who was not aware of any request for an extra night's stay either by email or phone.

We checked into a room on the third floor next to the lift which also had a very soft warn mattress, not what you want after travelling for near 12 hours. I did also request one of the rooms with a balcony upon booking (we booked directly with the hotel via it's website). After raising the issue with the member of staff at the front desk we were moved to another room the following night for the rest of our stay. This room had a much better mattress and a balcony, strangely they don't mention this when booking as the room is the same cost!

The room was very clean and modern including a disco ball in the bathroom. The B&O sound system although a little old was a great touch as we could connect our iPod to the aux input. The drums used as side tables were very cool to play with. There is free Wi-Fi although you have to ask for a key that lasts 24 hours and you can only get reception downstairs and it regularly cut's you off.

Breakfast was served outside in the courtyard although we recommend getting down early as there was only a small selection of baked goods like croissants. On the first morning there were lot's of oranges available for freshly squeezed juice although this never happened again. Also you had to request coffee or tea instead of being greeted and asked, small but this would really add to the customer service. The coffee is also a Nespresso, not that that is a bad thing but just so you are aware. There was a great selection of honey's and jams, we especially liked the black cherry, fantastic.

Generally not a bad hotel a bit out of the way with no real restaurants near by. It was let down by bad communication and slow inattentive customer service. A short stay would be better than staying a whole week.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMWhittaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Arriving at the hotel in the late afternoon I was pleasantly surprised as we walked into the reception area; which was very cool, light and spacious. Upon walking into the room we were both very happy with the modern look, very cool bathroom and general appearance of the room.
Everything was fine as we went to bed later that night...

The morning however was a different matter, 9am the cleaners were making a racket outside the room banging around and almost shouting to each other, being rudely awoken is not a very good start for your first day.

Then on the second night the Air Conditioning stopped working, it was 38 degrees outside and not being able to sleep because of the heat is not nice. Sweating from simply getting dressed in the morning is also not very nice. After reporting this to 3 members of staff on about 5 occassions, we were told a 'technik' is coming out...he obviously didnt show up as our remaining nights were hot, sticky and generally nasty.

The manager simply kept shrugging his shoulders and raising his hands in a very typical mediterranean manner when we spoke about the heat!

Do not stay at this hotel, appearances are skin deep after all...what the hotel has in looks does not make up for its lack of service.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinNJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

We found the The Franklin Hotel online and were ecstatic that it exceeded our expectations in every way. "Feel the music..." is correct! Access to a large CD library for use on our sterio in-room was unique. The rooms are clean, funky and very comfortable. Having a shower with the music full blast was great fun and our friends next door didn't hear a thing - except their own music! The breakfast on the patio was tasty and included several options. The staff are friendly and very helpful.
There are many neighbourhood restaurants but we found a gem of a cafe at the corner of Via Rodi and Via della Giuliana (out the door to the left 80 metres) that served the best food we had anywhere in Italy. Massimo and Maria prepared home cooked meals on two separate occasions that were truly memorable for half the price of poorer quality meals served at the supposed good restaurants we had tried elsewhere.
To add to our visit to Rome, we hired Ivano Iacovo who owns Driver Guide Service to show us his city in 8 hours. What a truly enjoyable way to see the sights, learn of the history and be spoiled by being escorted on a comfy Mercedes Van! Foir those short on time and wanting to see as much as possible, Ivano provideds a great service.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skiblue11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

The hotel itself is fine but after reading some of the great reviews on here, we had expected something a bit better. Unfortunately when we arrived the hotel had no record of our booking (which had been made through hotels.com) the guy at reception said we were lucky that they had a room for us anyway - not a great start but at least we had a room. The room itself was very small and looking at the floorplan of the hotel it seemed to be by far the smallest double room - couldn't help but wonder if this was because they had no record of our booking. Other then that the room was reasonably clean. Breakfast was good but you had to arrive early to get the choice of everything available rather than just what was left at the end of breakfast time. However we really liked the terrace outside where you could eat breakfast - a real bonus when the sun is shining.

In terms of location, it's good because it's in a quiet residential area but be prepared for a bit of a walk into the main sites. 10-15 minutes to vatican, 20-30 minutes to Piazza Navona etc.

Also although having a stereo in your room is good - hearing everyone elses music late at night/early morning not so good!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruthiejm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Franklin the first two nights in Rome and it was definitely our favorite hotel by far out of all the hotels we stayed in all over Italy. The Vatican is close by so if you're planning a visit to the city, this place is highly recommended. The staff was friendly and helpful to our every need. The room was surprisingly big and came with great amenities including surround sound audio system. The breakfast buffet was probably the best we had during our entire trip (even better than the 5 star hotel we stayed at during the last few days of our trip elsewhere). It's very modern and stylish so if you're looking for a different experience, Franklin is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2008

The Franklin was the perfect choice for our weekend getaway to Rome!
It's nestled in a relatively quiet, residential part of Rome, yet all the sights are very accessible either by metro or on foot. The Vatican is really close and from there it's really easy to get to theTiber and walk along the river and cross into the "old" part of the city. Very walkable in my opinion! Plus there were some great little neighborhood restaurants literally right around the corner from the hotel which are perfect for dinner and totally non-touristy - my husband and I were the only foreigners at the two places we tried. (One restaurant, called "Piccolo Toscana", had this pumpkin ravioli which was to die for!!!)
For 30 euro/night more (155 euro/night) we booked a "blues" room which is meant for three people as opposed to the "rock" room which is their classic double. Definitely worth paying the extra money - the room is roomier AND the bathroom is just fantastic - the blue disco ball (!!!), jacuzzi bathtub, and in-bathroom speakers make taking a bath a real experience! Plus the free mini-bar is a great touch! We also loved the drums as night-stands! Generally, the room was sleek, modern, clean, and very comfortable and functional with just the right number of amenities.
The only thing lacking in my opinion was the breakfast room. While the selection of food items available is fine, the room initself and the whole breakfast "system" is not functional at all. There's only one person doing everything - making and serving coffee, clearing tables, re-stocking the buffets, and the poor woman can hardly keep up!
But that was our only gripe; overall, the hotel is excellent value for money and we had a fantastic stay - we will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsKap_Greece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Flaminio
Best Western Hotel Astrid
Best Western Hotel Astrid
#192 of 1,273 in Rome
764 reviews
Hotel La Genziana
#484 of 1,273 in Rome
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Best Western Globus Hotel
Hotel Capannelle
#734 of 1,273 in Rome
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound

Address: Via Rodi 29, 00195 Rome, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Franklin Feel the Sound)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#284 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $51 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound is not just a hotel. It is the ideal place from which to visit the center of Rome in an intimate, family-friendly setting, just steps away from the elegant Prati quarter. If, like us, you are passionate about music, design and technology, come visit us at the Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound, a relaxing 3 star accommodation option in Rome where you can enjoy your trip to the rythm of your favourite music! Feel Our Sound and make it resound in one of our 22 rooms inspired in Pop, Rock, Blues, Jazz, and Soul music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing