We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Decieving at First”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound
Ranked #236 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Decieving at First”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

When we first arrived we were a little taken aback by the lack of a front desk or lobby. Its basically a room with a PC that the single staff person used to check in guests. Just made us wonder what the rooms were like. The music motif was definately different and some of the decor was very creative such as using a stack of graters in a frame for wall decoration. The one thing I didn't like about the decor was the use of snare drums as night stands. Very inefficient and impractical. I hope they add even simple night stands next to the bed. After that though everything was great. The room was well kept, neat and clean. The bathrooms seemed new. The rooms are somewhat small though with not much closet space. Beds were firm. I had to book a triple to guarantee two beds. The nice surprise was the complimentary breakfast in the mornings. Mostly continental but they did provide scrambed eggs and bacon. They also have a small courtyard next to the restaurant which is a great to eat in. Also well kept and clean. Overall a great little hotel. Just don't expect the big hotel experience. I'd stay their again. Location was in a quiet neighborhood but aside from being close to the vatican there wasn't a whole lot around us. That can be good or bad depending on what you're looking for. I'll probably pick a location closer to the inside City to be closer to shops and more restaurants.

Room Tip: If you need two beds you need to book a triple. If you book a double you may or may not get two bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JU808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    227
    65
    28
    9
See reviews for
144
270
16
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Very good staff!! great location…near the vatican and the metro station…i will stay there again…cable tv, private bathroom….breakfast was included and it was awesome….wifi included, good restaurants around the area

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jessefinance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in this hotel at the beginning of the year for our short break and I strongly suggest it to everyone who is looking for something different for their holiday in Rome.

When we checked in, we were greeted by knowledgeable, friendly and caring staff who gave us a free upgrade to a superior room and all the information regarding services and location, including a map and directions to the centre.

The hotel was perfectly located within walking distance to the Vatican and all means of transportation. You really don't need a car, it took us only 10 minutes to reach the centre on foot.

The hotel's facilities were brilliant! The room we were given was clean and spacious with theme furniture such as drum-shaped bedside tables. The bathroom was also quite large with a glitter ball and a jacuzzi bath. In addition, the bed and pillows were extremely comfortable.

The front desk was open 24/7 ready to help you with any type of query and at reception you can find a large choice of cds to borrow and play in your room.

Moreover, breakfast was also quite good although we would have preferred a greater variety of savoury food as well as just sweets.

We would definitely stay in this hotel again. However, I gave the hotel 4/5 because our room was right next to the breakfast area and the noise made by other guests woke us up every morning but this did not spoil our holiday. Hence if you don't want to wake up early during your holiday, make sure you ask for a room away from the breakfast and reception area.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room away from reception and breakfast area as it can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 24Ago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights, and everything about it was perfect for our Rome break.
When we arrived, we were offered juice or water and little pastries, (which are nearly always available in reception). Which we thought was a nice touch. In reception there is a large choice of cd's that you can borrow to play in your room.
(our room had a jacuzzi bath :) so after a busy day it was lovely relaxing in the bath, with a glass of wine listening to music!). Loved the glitter ball too!
Our room (303) was a great size, and on the back of the hotel. We couldn't believe how quiet it was. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable, loved the drums as bed side tables!
There was a minibar, and also a safe. The safe was not attached to anything though, so it was kind of an unsafe safe!
But the hotel and Prati area felt safe(the hotel had 24 hour reception, and you had to use the buzzer/intercom, to be let in at night.), Prati is the area where Italians live, so you get a true feel of what it's like to be a Roman and Roman living!
The hotel is 10 mins away from the Vatican Museums, (the queues for this are 3 hours long, so i would suggest that you book a Skip the line tour, we used City wonders and they were amazing. I have done a seperate review for them if you're interested!)
The bus stops are a couple of mins away, and the Metro, about 10 mins walk away.We were at the Colloseum within 20 mins of leaving hotel. One thing I would say is that Rome is smaller than maps show!
Breakfast at the hotel was good, typical Italian hotel breakfast. Bacon, scrambled eggs, rolls, cheeses, hams, fruit, pastries, etc. There is a juicer so you can make your own juice, or decantered pineapple or orange juice. There is a wonderful Barrista, lovely lady, that makes your drinks. Cappucino, latte, americano, tea etc. She does a really good job!
There were lots of places to eat nearby, popeyes is literally round the corner. Food in Prati was noticably cheaper than by Trevi fountain, Piazza Navona etc. Almost by half.Great Gelaterias nearby too, the one on Via del Gracchi is fab!
The hotel staff were incredibly helpful, and friendly. Very impressed.
We would stay at this hotel anytime! Wonderful!

Room Tip: We loved room 303, it was very quiet when we stayed, you can hear the church bells and that's ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank son5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
519 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We visited here in Summer 2013 and for the price I think the hotel and it's facilities were brilliant. We had a wonderful room and a bathroom with a jacuzzi bath. It's worth upgrading! Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holiday_Junkie222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

This hotel was on the west side of Rome and was 10 minutes walk to Vatican. All in all, it was a perfect hotel for our stay.

The staff were very friendly and the hotel front desk was open 24 hours a day. The breakfast area is not large but the food was very good. The lady in charge of the breakfast area was super fast handling everything.

Just mention another thing: the hotel even provided us with umbrella in the front. The details told everything :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_ORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a couple of nights before a Western Mediterranean cruise. We arrived early after a very long over night flight from Toronto. We were permitted to check in early, and invited to help ourselves to the juice and pastries in the lobby (nice touch). The room was well appointed, clean and comfortable. It took me a couple of tries before I figured out some of the lighting, but it was all good. We were upgraded to a main floor junior suite (thanks!) and it was great. We had a private patio area that would be extraordinary in the summer months. Although the weather wasn't really warm, we still managed to spend some time out here because it really was a nice area.
The hotel is tucked down a quiet side street, but well within a short walking distance to many restaurants, little shops, etc.
Breakfast was quite substantial with lots of options. The breakfast server was very personable, and seemed to enjoy taking care of the hotel guests.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the BW Franklin to anyone looking for a nice, quiet, clean and well maintained hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank tbaytraveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Flaminio
Best Western Hotel Astrid
Best Western Hotel Astrid
#246 of 1,263 in Rome
675 reviews
San Lorenzo
Best Western Globus Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Genziana
#452 of 1,263 in Rome
127 reviews
Hotel Capannelle
#620 of 1,263 in Rome
1,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound

Property: Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound
Address: Via Rodi 29, 00195 Rome, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Franklin Feel the Sound)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#285 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound is not just a hotel. It is the ideal place from which to visit the center of Rome in an intimate, family-friendly setting, just steps away from the elegant Prati quarter. If, like us, you are passionate about music, design and technology, come visit us at the Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound, a relaxing 3 star accommodation option in Rome where you can enjoy your trip to the rythm of your favourite music! Feel Our Sound and make it resound in one of our 22 rooms inspired in Pop, Rock, Blues, Jazz, and Soul music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing