We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, a Bit Out of the Way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound
Ranked #233 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Elkhart, Indiana
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, a Bit Out of the Way”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This hotel has a very cool music theme that made it interesting to stay at. There's a disco ball in the bathroom! Our first impression after arriving in Rome by train and taking a taxi was not so great, we kind of felt like we were getting dropped off at someone's apartment on a random side street rather than at a hotel. Once you walk inside, that all changes. The location is not the best for sightseeing in Rome - it's a 10-15 minute-walk from the Vatican, and about 10 minutes to the Ottaviano Metro Stop. Many of the places you might want to see are a bit out-of-the way, but it's not totally unreasonable. The room and bathroom were modern and very clean. For the price, this is a pretty nice place to stay in Rome.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    224
    64
    28
    9
See reviews for
139
266
16
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

If you are looking for an hostel-like quality you'll be defnitely satisfied, although the price is a 4 star hotel. unacceptable low level of service, sound-proofing and cleanlingness. I would not recommend it and I am quite surprised of the overall positive feedback.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllaScopertadelMondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Beautiful small hotel with a musical theme, immaculately clean, very modern ,10 minute walk from Vatican city, hotel staff amazingly helpful (no request to much to ask)
Continental breakfast is very good, reception area has a huge supply of Music CDs for you room that can be played on the Bang and Olufsen system!!
Each day there was a fresh selection of cakes and fruit juices available in reception
WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO EVERYONE...

Room Tip: we had 5 rooms between us in total, all were lovely, modern, clean, with a high standard of fitments...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cosgrovefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We loved the Franklin. It looks unprepossessing outside but the moment you walk in, it is unusual and stylish. There's no conventional Reception , just a computer terminal and a friendly Receptionist , in a Reception choc-full of CDs to borrow as well as Guide Books and information.
Our room was relatively small but very comfortable. There's a great Bang and Olufsen CD player as well as a TV with all the terrible TV programmes that dear old Uncle Silvio let's you have- stick with the music was our view.
The bed was comfortable with an attractive canopy. The music theme extended to snare drums as bedside tables and a glitter ball in the bathroom. We had a nice balcony looking out on the rear garden. Overall it was comfortable,stylish and fun. The framed NewYork skyline made of cheese graters was a perfect example of the style and wit of the place.
Breakfast was decent, it could be taken in the breakfast room or the small garden.
Location in Prati was safe-feeling and in a nice area. It was not far to Ottoviano Subway station which could take you to the Spanish Steps, near the Trevi Fountain or to the Colosseum (with 1 change). Very accessible for the Vatican but found the atmosphere round there rather oppressive- it was a relief to get to Piazza de Risorgimento where Italy and Rome began again and the Vatican ended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Devafeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The great service began before we even arrived, when the hotel emailed us to assess our needs. The room was lovely, the staff were friendly and helpful, and breakfast delicious. We took advantage of the car service; it was good value and nice to be met at the airport after a long trip. A modern, funky, and fun boutique hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzerWoozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savusavu
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Loved it - Bar menu on the CD, notepad in a piano, disco light in the bathroom, organic bathroom amenities, table for 3, clean, excellent nespresso coffee, and most importantly, the friendly, efficient staff who were happy to provide assistance with tour bookings, missing baggage, and other practical information.
Was my first experience in Italy at the beginning of a 6 week holiday and plan to stay here again before we leave.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thesweetlifeSavusavu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel is a bit of a surprised. We stayed in the family room on the first floor by the reception. Initially we were not crazy about this but it proved to be very convenient especially with all our luggage. The hotel is in walking distance to the Vatican but far from many major attractions. This was disappointing when we first arrived but later we discovered that being a taxi ride away was easy and removed us from all the tourists. Finally, the breakfast food and service was excellent. In the end, I would recommend the Franklin for its value, cleanliness, and service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Delle Vittorie
#279 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
San Lorenzo
Best Western Globus Hotel
Prati
Hotel Relais dei Papi
Hotel Relais dei Papi
#183 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel San Pietrino
#539 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Monti
Guest House Maison Colosseo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound

Property: Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound
Address: Via Rodi 29, 00195 Rome, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Franklin Feel the Sound)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#285 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound is not just a hotel. It is the ideal place from which to visit the center of Rome in an intimate, family-friendly setting, just steps away from the elegant Prati quarter. If, like us, you are passionate about music, design and technology, come visit us at the Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound, a relaxing 3 star accommodation option in Rome where you can enjoy your trip to the rythm of your favourite music! Feel Our Sound and make it resound in one of our 22 rooms inspired in Pop, Rock, Blues, Jazz, and Soul music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing