We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very hard to review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel
Ranked #391 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed June 5, 2014

where to begin? the positives are: a/ location: virtually every major attraction in Rome is walkable from here. b/ roof terrace: affording views of the entire city, and a great place to relax at any hour
c/ breakfast buffet is quite nice for a hotel in the three star category. d/ Doorman Joseph exceedingly friendly and helpful, as is waiter Franco. now for the negatives:

if it were not for the aforementioned positives, i would not give this hotel even one star. reception staff is rather disorganized and non-communicative, and the rooms are what i can only call atrocious. tiny even for a city hotel, it is nigh impossible to put down your luggage, not to mention open it. i cannot agree with some of the other reviewers who mention a totally newly renovated building. virtually everything in our two rooms showed either major wear and tear, or was broken.
the bathrooms in particular: claustrophobically small for average size persons. the tiny shelves under the mirrors in both our rooms, the only places to put something down since the sinks are rimless, were mounted at a downward angle and held nothing. the shower was a contraption offering three different sprays: handheld, from the top, and from eight different side jets. unfortunately, there was no way to tell which way the switch was positioned without getting drenched. once we figured out how to set it properly, we were greeted with unpredictable water temperatures, from cold to scalding hot, changing back and forth.

Room Tip: inspect rooms and bathrooms before you check in and commit
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fredontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,620)
There are newer reviews for La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

470 - 476 of 1,620 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014

We spent four days in this fantastic location with a great roof top terrace - a stylish and a nice peaceful place in the middle of the hectic city.

The location of the hotel is optimal; short distances to the wonderful places to see in Rome (Colosseum, Forum Romana, Trevi, historic city center eg.), good connection to the train station, also other different public transportation possibilities close by. We explored the city by feet most of the time - worked out perfectly.

Nice place, but gaps in the services provided.

The restaurant on the 9th floor is a beautiful place to have breakfast or dinner; nice interior design and atmosphere. The surroundings for a late afternoon drink on the 10th floor are splendid. Unfortunately the service and the attitude of the staff leave room for improvement. Our dinner reservation got lost, we waited as the only customers for our drinks for more than 20 minutes in the afternoon and getting a coffee for the breakfast required a lot of patience and active involvement unfortunately. It seemed in several occasions, that the staff was busy with themselves and more involved in inside discussions instead of taking care of the customers; self-fullfilling focus with little attention to the others.

We experienced also flaws in service in other areas; our luggage was not delivered to the right room and required additional inquiries at front desk, coffee in the room not provided as promised, check in was cumbersome and not professional, not what you expect at this level. Also the recommendation from the concierge for organized tour (GLT) was a big disappointment; by reading the travel guide I knew more than the tour guide and could have organized a very good private tour with the money. Definetely out of question for a wanna be 5 star hotel to recommend tours at that low level.

The room was stylish modern, small, but tidy. The bathroom was a challenge; it took some time to figure out, how not to cause a flod when washing your hands or taking a shower.

The quality of food is good; breakfast was fine with the exception having cold scrambled eggs one morning (the heater did not work and nobody was informed), fresh fruit and pastries - very nice. Also salad and tomatoes - unfortunately dressing only in big plastic bags I would not expect in five star locations. Why not a bottle of olive oil and vinegar to toss on the salad yourself - we are in Italy, with the best oils and vinegars and I get a cheap plastig bag dressing? Also dinner was good; tender lamb chops as a main course. Very enjoyable, price high end.

Still in total: the last mile is (five miles are) missing. A pity, since it is really all out there: a great location, stylish interior, seems to be a good chef in the kitchen - why not going and getting it? It is all about attitude and culture and how you bring it to your customers, how you face them.

Great location, nice time, but will invest the money to a different place next time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Troll692013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

La Griffe is in a totally newly renovated building. The rooms are a little small but very tastefully setup. The toilet is well arranged. Fast elevators bring you to your floor.
Ninth floor is a lovely dining room with a open view of Rome. The breakfast is quite full. There are meats available. There is a full offering of breads and baked goods. Naturally there are the juices and cereals, tears and coffee. Unlike most places there is waiter service in addition to the buffet. One floor up there is a sunroof set with comfortable chairs and lounges. Quite a comfortable place to sit and read and view Rome. A church across the street has a bell tower and the ringing of the bells is most enjoyable.
The hotel is located on a major street Via Nazionale where there is a lot of action.
The staff was wonderful. Doormen are outstanding. Desk personnel and concierge very helpful making necessary arrangements for taxis's and car to airport.etc.

Room Tip: Ask to look at the room first. Was offered a room but had to reject because it had a weird internal...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berniez34372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGriffehotel R, General Manager at La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review and also for recommending to stay at La Griffe Roma.

I am really glad you had a wonderful stay, I will immediately share your comment with our Team Members, and particularly with the Reception Team for their attitude.

Please come to visit us again and do not hesitate to contact me personally.

Yours sincerely,

Massimo Mainella
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I would have loved to provide a five star rating, but our restaurant experiences were less than positive...memorable only for the abrupt , less than inviting style of some restaurant staff.

Reserved a suite after 9 days in Sardinia to stretch out and relax. The room was amazing....very chic decor to our liking with 1 1/2 bath! However, split level apt was somewhat cumbersome ....bags separate from sleeping are.and NOT for older clients. Concierge desk was only staffed upon arrival.

Made dinner rez with front desk for Sunday night on Saturday...requesting outside table on the terrace. That's when we should have been informed that a large private party would take place......hardly the quiet, romantic setting we had hoped for. So we waited and sat on 10th floor lounge area trying to decide to stay or go..........impolite, short, waiter with glasses helped our decision...we left.

Overall, cool room, great setting, but some leftover staff from the old days can't be retrained. C'mon Accor!

Room Tip: Saw the smaller rooms....suite well worth the $$$$$, if you can handle steps in the night!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zforall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGriffehotel R, General Manager at La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at La Griffe Roma after your tour in Sardinia.

I really appreciate your valuable and constructive feedback, although I am really sorry about the situation you experienced with the restaurant reservation. Please allow me to express my sincere apologies.

You comment has been shared with our Front Office and Restaurant Team in order to avoid any similar occurrences in the future.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any further assistance.

Yours sincerely,


Massimo Mainella
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The room was small but clean. Breakfast was good with most things that you desire.There was a small gym in the basement. 9th floor had a lovely restaurant overlooking the city and the Vatican. 10th floor was a roof terrace with sofas and sun deck chairs to slouch in both daytime or in the evening. Nice and friendly staff and excellent limo service to/from the airport. It was nicely situated on a street that wasn´t too busy and had very good shopping to reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGriffehotel R, General Manager at La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review posted on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to learn you had a very positive experience with us at La Griffe Roma and I will immediately share your appreciation with the entire Team.

Please come to visit us again and do not hesitate to contact me personally.

Yours sincerely,

Massimo Mainella
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We spent two nights here during May. We were accommodated in a suite on the second floor.

it is a somewhat strangely decorated and designed hotel and somewhat down market given the positioning of the MG Brand within the Accor stable. I have spent some time in an MG Gallery hotel in Asia and that was in a different league. An example would be the polystyrene cups provided in the bedroom for tea drinking. Another example would be the badly insulated windows which resulted in all the street noises leaking in.

I did not bother with eating breakfast at the hotel. There are a few cafes nearby where you can get a coffee and pasty for under EUR 5.

Pros:
+ Great helpful reception staff
+ Rooms are clean
+ Great location

Cons:
- Overpriced unless you get a good deal
- Noisy paper thin walls and badly glazed windows. We could hear the shower from next door and the traffic outside
- A concierge who recommended a tour that was an absolute rip-off (see my review on Green line tours)

Overall, it was not an unpleasant stay but my expectations of the MG Gallery brand were not met on this occasion.

Room Tip: Get the highest floor your can to avoid street noise
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarkDogZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGriffehotel R, General Manager at La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Guest

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing La Griffe Roma for your stay in the Eternal City.

Please allow me to express my sincere apologies for not been able

Since we joined the Accor Group with the MGallery Brand

I understand your doubt but the whole hotel experience, value for money, in the same hotel, in the same period, it may not be the same for all customers.

We host more than 70,000 guests per year after all, and we will keep trying to do our best to satisfy all of them.

We still have a lot to develop as you kindly pointed out, we will continue to improve the quality of our services and product.

I really hope will come back to visit us for a real memorable stay up to Your expectations.

Yours Sincerely,


Massimo Mainella
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LaGriffehotel R, General Manager at La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
#267 of 1,267 in Rome
945 reviews
Esquilino
NH Collection Roma Palazzo Cinquecento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Palace Residenze di Charme
Parioli
Hotel Lord Byron
Hotel Lord Byron
#54 of 1,267 in Rome
646 reviews
Esquilino
Radisson Blu es. Hotel, Roma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel

Address: Via Nazionale 13, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#158 Business Hotel in Rome
#211 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#297 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $188 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entwined in an elegant and sophisticated atmosphere in the heart of Rome, la Griffe Hotel is more than just traditional hospitality. The hotel is on Via Nazionale, between Piazza della Repubblica and Piazza Venetia, near the famous fountains of Tritone and Trevi, forming the triangle of Rome’s shopping with Via del Corso and Piazza di Spagna. Ideally positioned to discover the many sights and faces of the Eternal City, with excellent connections to public transport, busses to Vatican City, the Metro (Underground) at 150 m. and near Termini Station.The modern style of interior design is in sweet contrast with the 19th century building and it’s historic location fits it like a frame. The architectural concept is a perfect blend of classic and modern, where luxury and contemporary art surround you in total comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Griffe Rome
Hotel La Griffe
La Griffe Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing