We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not satisfied at all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel
Ranked #365 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Mellieha, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not satisfied at all”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Not at all a 5star hotel!it seems a modern hotel but its not.we took this impression upon arrival when we used the bathroom allocated at reception....dirty and wash hand basin falling into pieces.
The 1st room we were allocated on the 7th floor was fine..but on the first night we had water dripping from the ceiling and this was quite dangerous as it was close to the tv plug.First thing in the morning we told reception and she promised us that all will be sorted,returned back in the eve and nothing was done.Went back and there was a guy which was not helpful at all..we were shown another room and this was really a cramped room on the 2nd floor ...we had no choice as this was the only room they had available,besides being too small the bathroom smelled of humidity.
For a 5star hotel bfast was nothing special....When we asked the waitress for whole meal bread the answer we got was that they don't have any!!Do you call this a 5star hotel?? Not even a 4star!!For sure we won't recommend it!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    526
    288
    106
    86
See reviews for
217
837
28
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Diemen
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

A perfect location for a holiday or business trip to Rome and to visit the interesting and historic sites. At entrance of the hotel there is that1950's Vespa scooter in impeccable mint condition, and most of the hotel is perfect up to the roof where visitors can enjoy a marvelous breakfast buffet with great panoramic views over Rome. Service comes with a smiling perfection and personal attention.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank JohannesBoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
153 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

The people at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. The facilities are very modern and clean. We had a small problem with a shower door, but that's all. Breakfast was not included, but was very good, with excellent selections at the buffet. The location is convenient to restaurants and many of the sights. For Rome, the value was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FunnyAnimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed at La Griffe for 2 nights at the end of a cruise. The plus point is its location: right on the Via Nazionale so very convenient for all the sites and within walking distance of some great restaurants. It is located in a lovely old Italian building but unfortunately that is where the Italian atmosphere ends. Inside it has been re-furbished to an ultra modern standard with a black and red colour scheme throughout. Even the corridors on the bedroom floors are painted a dark grey - walls, floors and ceilings. Our room was small, which was fine as we have become used to this in Italian city hotels. But the décor and the fact there was no carpet or rugs meant that the room was really not comfortable at all. Lighting was particularly poor. On the plus side, the bathroom was large and very functional. Service was ok although when we returned at 3pm our room had not been cleaned. Some people will love this hotel for its décor and ultra modern feel. Others, like us, will hate it.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the Via Nazionale suffer from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyskier50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

NOT a 5 star hotel, (how are these ratings produced, anyways?) Where do I start....
TV did not work,
key card system did not work properly, had to get staff twice to open it
WIFI limited and poor, but found way to steal other rooms wifi allotments
room VERY small, for the price they charge you would expect room for a chair maybe?
bathroom offered no privacy, best described as a translucent fishbowl, no proper walls
No computer access for guests, had to wait in line to use concierge computer and printer
breakfast was OK, nothing special, B&B style I guess,
shower leaked all over floor when used
staff polite by Italy's standards, but not 5 star
although not their fault, the amount of emergency vehicles blasting down the street and the volume made you feel like you were next to a siren testing facility
could go on but......like I said NOT 5 star, not recommended.

Room Tip: don't get room with fishbowl style bathroom, avoid front of hotel due sirens
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alsass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, CA USA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

The La Griffe is not a 5 or even 4 star hotel. I struggle to find nice things to say about our stay at this property. It seems glitzy, modern and cool. But mostly just a facade. Our room was cramped. We've had bigger rooms on cruise ships. There was hardly room for our 2 suitcases. The hand held shower attachment was broken and continually fell off the wall. The door lock/plastic key card only worked when you shoved your shoulder hard into the door. We asked well in advance for quiet rooms off the street and were given 2nd floor right over the entrance. Noisy. We had very poor service in the bar on the 9th floor. It was not busy, all the tables were dirty, and sticky. The bartenders were in no rush to service us. The drinks were over priced. The rooftop service was better. Breakfast in the 9th floor dining room was good. But you'll wait for a second cup of capuccino or coffee. And lastly, we asked the doorman for a recommendation for dinner. We specifically asked for a non tourist place. We wanted a small restaurant where locals would dine. He assured us that this one specific one was perfect. It turned out to be a big tourist rip off. I'm sure he was compensated for sending another sucker.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Was our 30th wedding anniversary. We decided to go to Rome for 2 weeks then a Transatlantic Cruise back to Canada. This hotel was amazing. We had emailed them in advance as we had a deluxe room and wanted this to be a special occasion. They made the arrangements for us to be picked up at the hotel. There was a charge but the fact was we did not have to worry about it. When we arrived they had upgraded us to a junior suite. We could not believe how beautiful the room was. We has a glass staircase to the loft bedroom. The windows opened up to Via Nazionale. The staff were spectacular. Carmen who answered our every email. The girl who was at the desk was so helpful. I think her name was Veronica. Who cannot go without naming the best door man that we have ever encountered Joseph. We cannot say enough about him. He loves people and is so helpful for a couple who has never been to Italy. He gave us tips and the best restaurant to go to. These staff members made the hotel a place we would go to again and recommend to our friends and family.
There are so many hotels to chose from but our reason for staying here was that nearly every review on Trip Advisor was answered by Massimo Mainilla the General Manager who we did not have the pleasure of meeting. This shows how much the hotel cares about their guests.

We stayed at La Griffe from Oct 2 to Oct 16th 2013.

Karen and Chris de Orla Edmonton Alberta Canada

Room Tip: If in Rome please check out this hotel. We were not disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen5252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Esquilino
Radisson Blu es. Hotel, Roma
Parioli
Hotel Lord Byron
Hotel Lord Byron
#61 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
#287 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Esquilino
NH Collection Roma Palazzo Cinquecento
Trevi
Sina Bernini Bristol
Sina Bernini Bristol
#281 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel

Property: La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel
Address: Via Nazionale 13, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#158 Business Hotel in Rome
#197 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#297 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entwined in an elegant and sophisticated atmosphere in the heart of Rome, la Griffe Hotel is more than just traditional hospitality. The hotel is on Via Nazionale, between Piazza della Repubblica and Piazza Venetia, near the famous fountains of Tritone and Trevi, forming the triangle of Rome’s shopping with Via del Corso and Piazza di Spagna. Ideally positioned to discover the many sights and faces of the Eternal City, with excellent connections to public transport, busses to Vatican City, the Metro (Underground) at 150 m. and near Termini Station.The modern style of interior design is in sweet contrast with the 19th century building and it’s historic location fits it like a frame. The architectural concept is a perfect blend of classic and modern, where luxury and contemporary art surround you in total comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Griffe Rome
Hotel La Griffe
La Griffe Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing