We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No feeling of welcome here.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel
Ranked #444 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The only issue with this hotel that I did not experience elsewhere in my month's holiday was the feeling of not being welcome. It might have had something to do with the fact that I arrived with a back pack and had part payment of the cost was paid with Le Accor points. From comments that we received it was like we weren't important as we were only staying 1 night. Having arrived at the hotel earlier than the advertised arrival time we were quickly asked to move away from the counter to allow for people being checked out. That's understandable but the arrogant manner in which this was done was not appreciated. I must say that the porters and support staff were friendly however its the arrogant nature of the desk staff that will stick in my mind.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,697)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

606 - 612 of 1,698 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Since we didn´t want to pay an expensive rate near Navona and the touristic sites, and needed a place close to Roma Termini where we had a train to Naples in the morning in 3 days, but would also like to be at a walking distance for Fontana de Trevi. We also wanted a hotel with ar conditioning, which is a must for Rome in August, this hotel was what we needed for a very good rate. Breakfast was included in the rate in a terrace with a nice view of the city including Vatican. The only two minor problems were, the check in time, we were informed it was at 2pm when we arrived, and after a long flight, a 30 min train and a 15 min walk on a Sunday morning that’s not exactly what you expect to hear. Especially when the booking you paid in advanced said check in at 12pm, but that problem was solved immediately. The second was a little flood in our room on last night thanks to a strong summer rain, I wrote a complaint in the evaluation form and in days, I received an email from Mr Alessandro Morelli on behalf of Mr. Massimo Mainella GM at La Griffe with apologies. We don’t recommend walking from the train station unless it’s a Sunday like the day we arrived, it would be best to get a cab, like we did when we left, less then 10min for 15Eur.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristinabrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

During our visit on this hotel was a convenient central location, the receptionist was so kind to explain all that we asked for a room including the luggage to the room. Doorway had problems with the toilet and turned and within twenty minutes the plumber and the problem was addressed immediately. The dining room was pleasant surprises excellent food in the morning and extraordinary kindness of the waiters. Next time I'd just ask this and thanks again
ben noun yhe30bezeqint.net

Room Tip: To book in advance and ask for a room preferably
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avraham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGriffehotel R, General Manager at La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Sir, dear Madame

Thank You for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor and your kind words.

The excellent location and cleanliness are certainly two of our key strengths here at La Griffe Roma.

We are particularly proud to know you enjoyed the dining in our Rooftop Restaurant with the spectacular view of the Eternal City.

Lastly, please note that your comment about the problem experienced with the bathroom has been duly noted and addressed to avoid any further occurrences.

We look forward to welcoming back you for another memorable stay with us.

Sincerely,


Massimo Mainella
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 497Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LaGriffehotel R, General Manager at La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I would rank this hotel highly on it's design and concept. We had a basic room, so no view- it overlooked the centre of the building (we could see brick/other hotel rooms). The room was clean, the area central and close to the bus/train station, close to attractions by foot and on major bus routes. It is not however, the calibre of a 5-star North American hotel.

There were ongoing renovations to the elevator on our second night there. Ceramic and stainless steel surfaces in the main areas had finger print marks, etc. There were large cracks in the ground in our bathroom. Our keys did not work for the room upon check-in. While waiting for personnel to get us a replacement, a neighbour returned to find her room key wasn't working either. Our replacement key did not work either. We eventually used a backup standard lock and key since none of the swipe keys would work. Finally, they were sorely understaffed. At any given time, there were 3 personnel in the lobby- one working check-ins, one working check-outs, and one for information. We were going to be late leaving to the airport because there was an issue with a customer ahead of us in line on check-out.

Overall, I still recommend this hotel but don't expect North American service or standards.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mytravelid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGriffehotel R, General Manager at La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your precious time to share your constructive feedback on TripaAdvisor.

I sincerely regret to learn that your stay with us was disrupted by construction work which took place during your stay on July.

I am terribly sorry that this has impacted your stay. Rest assured that your comment raised have been duly viewed with our management.

Despite the encountered issues, we sincerely look forward to welcoming you once more and we will do our utmost to ensure that you receive the impeccable hospitality we strive to offer to our valuable guests

Sincerely,


Massimo Mainella
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Esquilino
NH Collection Roma Palazzo Cinquecento
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
#259 of 1,271 in Rome
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Hotel Lord Byron
Hotel Lord Byron
#50 of 1,271 in Rome
664 reviews
Parioli
Grand Hotel Ritz
Grand Hotel Ritz
#558 of 1,271 in Rome
350 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel

Address: Via Nazionale 13, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#158 Business Hotel in Rome
#241 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#296 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $142 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entwined in an elegant and sophisticated atmosphere in the heart of Rome, la Griffe Hotel is more than just traditional hospitality. The hotel is on Via Nazionale, between Piazza della Repubblica and Piazza Venetia, near the famous fountains of Tritone and Trevi, forming the triangle of Rome’s shopping with Via del Corso and Piazza di Spagna. Ideally positioned to discover the many sights and faces of the Eternal City, with excellent connections to public transport, busses to Vatican City, the Metro (Underground) at 150 m. and near Termini Station.The modern style of interior design is in sweet contrast with the 19th century building and it’s historic location fits it like a frame. The architectural concept is a perfect blend of classic and modern, where luxury and contemporary art surround you in total comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Griffe Rome
Hotel La Griffe
La Griffe Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing