We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nazionale 13, 00184 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #362 of 1,284 Hotels in Rome
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Great hotel fantastic staff rooftop dinning and bar, very close to all attractions tithe balcony room we had was beautiful ( thanks for everything guys ) Check out the resteraunt , will be returning soon

Room Tip: Balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulr1r1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGriffehotel R, General Manager at La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest

On behalf of the entire Team I would like to thank you very much for your fantastic review about your stay at La GriffeRoma.

I already shared your comments our Staff and they were really pleased and encouraged from your positive hotel experience.

I strongly agree with you, La GriffeRoma has an excellent location and a great value for money.

It is my hope to see you again in the near future, for another stay with us, a memorable one.

Yours sincerely,


Massimo Mainella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    461
    249
    91
    71
See reviews for
191
718
23
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

On arrival at the hotel our booking couldn't be found.
massimillion the manager gave us an upgraded room for our first night.
The next day he found out the problem with the booking and sorted everything out.
He even by way of apology arranged for a nice bottle of wine, sweet biscuits, glasses and a corkscrew put in our rooms, and a very nice letter explaining things.
Staff in reception were helpful, friendly and patient to our requirements.
breakfasts were quite basic but tasty and plenty of it.
Rooms were quite nice, clean, modern and quite adequate.
Big thank you to Massimillon, Angela, and the ever friendly Joseph the doorman.
Would we stay here again?
Definitely!
P.s. thanks for the pens.
:-)


  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laddermanmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Few hotels would beat this one for location in the heart of Rome. It is right on the Via Nazionale,Rome - and walking distance to so many attractions, restaurants, cafes and right on the bus route to so many other places. This is a very short walk to the Repubblica, Teatro del'Opera and the beautiful Santa Maria Maggiorre Basilca. Further afield, there is the Spanish Steps. My favourite, a few steps away, is the Irish Pub that has an extensive Italian Menu and serves very decent Italian food. What a find ! However, rooms are small and some, particularly those facing Via Nazionale can be very noisy. Traffic noise permeates the hotel - day and night. We were on a high floor and still heard the noise. Rooms on lower floors - beware !

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first and listen to the traffic noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lakbay2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is perfectly located for walking to most of the sights. And with Termini only 5 minutes walk away, the metro and sightseeing buses are also very convenient.
The staff were helpful, our room was nice and had a small, private balcony, and the breakfast was perfectly fine.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just returned from a four day trip to Rome which was the experience of a lifetime made all the more pleasurable by the courtesy and friendliness shown by all members of staff in this unique and charming hotel. The Porters and Desk Clerks really went out of their way to accommodate and make us feel special. My wife and I fully intend returning to Rome in the very near future and will certainly include staying at the La Griffe as a number one priority.

Room Tip: Ask for room with window and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Hotel La Griffe was the first hotel we stayed when we came to Rome on an Insight Tour. I have to say it was clean, the porters were very friendly and if I knew better we would have complained that our room didn't have a window. It felt as if we were sleeping in a closet. They moved us to the top floor but the bathroom were extremely outdated and needed refurbishment. We could hear the dining room chairs being moved around since we were on the top floor. The tour couldn't pick us up or let us off at the door and we had to walk several blocks to get our bus but that wasen't the hotels fault. The breakfast was good served on the rooftop. Of all the hotels you had to choose from, this would have been our last choice.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room with a window unless you like sleeping in a closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Diane43_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very Modern and well decorated large beds and room luxurious bathroom with huge bath. Lovely
breakfast served on top floor wiyh fantastic views of Rome.Central location near to station and many tourist attractions and shopping. Staff very friendly highly recommend stayed 3 nights.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massimo M, General Manager at La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel, responded to this review, June 2, 2015
Dear Madame,

Thank you for recommending our hotel and also for posting your review.

I am very glad to learn you enjoyed your stay at La Griffe Roma and you were positively impressed by courtesy and helpfulness of our Team Members.

Please come to visit us again and do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Yours Sincerely,


Massimo Mainella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Esquilino
Radisson Blu es. Hotel, Roma
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Aleph Hotel Rome
Aleph Hotel Rome
#434 of 1,284 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Esquilino
NH Collection Roma Palazzo Cinquecento
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
#331 of 1,284 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel

Property: La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel
Address: Via Nazionale 13, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#159 Business Hotel in Rome
#184 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#299 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entwined in an elegant and sophisticated atmosphere in the heart of Rome, la Griffe Hotel is more than just traditional hospitality. The hotel is on Via Nazionale, between Piazza della Repubblica and Piazza Venetia, near the famous fountains of Tritone and Trevi, forming the triangle of Rome’s shopping with Via del Corso and Piazza di Spagna. Ideally positioned to discover the many sights and faces of the Eternal City, with excellent connections to public transport, busses to Vatican City, the Metro (Underground) at 150 m. and near Termini Station.The modern style of interior design is in sweet contrast with the 19th century building and it’s historic location fits it like a frame. The architectural concept is a perfect blend of classic and modern, where luxury and contemporary art surround you in total comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelsClick, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Griffe Rome
Hotel La Griffe
La Griffe Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing