We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service, good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Caravaggio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Caravaggio
Ranked #192 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Poor service, good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three days in September 2012 for our honeymoon. Having been excited by the beauty of this place from their website, we were disappointed in the quality of the hotel and the service we received (none).

We arrived at the hotel about 2.30pm for check-in and the front door to the lobby was locked and there was no one around. We waited half an hour on the curb before the concierge cam striding up the street, and passed between us standing at the doorstep, and unlocked the front door without a word. We followed him inside and he continued to ignore us whilst we waited at the counter. At this point I would have walked away if we had not pre-paid and everywhere else was showing "no vacancy" in their windows.

Eventually we were asked our name, given a key and directions to our room (in the adjoining property next door - a converted apartment terrace) and then promptly ignored again. There was no smile and no pleasantries whatsoever and he didn't even meet our gaze once.

Upon navigating the antique lift to our floor, we navigated the labyrinth of hallways to our room where we were again disappointed. The room had a tiny single window facing the apartment window next door (a view of laundry hanging in someone's bathroom) and the room was tired and dated - almost every wall had rubber scuff marks from shoes - some of them had whole footprints. The bathroom was surprisingly nice compared to the room.

The breakfast served in the mornings was quite nice, and all the attractions of the old city less than a brisk 10 minute walk away. At the end of via Palermo are a few great little trattoria's and enoteca's worth a visit that the locals attend.

Upon check out we were again ignored by a second employee we hadn't yet met, asked for the key, and then given a receipt all without another word uttered. I would have rated this place another star higher if the staff smiled, were friendly and not rude but this marred our whole stay making us feel like an unwelcome nuisance.

Room Tip: See it first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caravaggio1, Responsabile reception at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Guests,
thank you for your review. We would like to say that our rooms are facing to the street site, to the ministerial building or to the courtyard. There live families in the buildings around our hotel. That´s why sometimes you can see hanging clothes. Many times the guests write us what kind of view they prefer. We know that in advance and we try to satisfy their needs. We do not agree that our rooms are dated. They are renovated. We are sorry you found some marks on the wall from previous careless tourists. We are also sorry you did not receive the attention from the reception staff you expected. Unfortunately there is a bigger interval between your stay and your review, so we don´t know which member of the reception staff caused your dissatisfaction. Anyway, we have read your words carefully and we hope it will not happen in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    200
    80
    24
    29
See reviews for
82
248
26
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Didn't like this hotel at all. The location was nice, close to Colosseum and some historic places. But the building was very old, the elevator was ancient, we were scared to use it to go to the room in the 4th floor. Actually the hotel uses some floors of a residential building. Reception is at a neighbour building, meaning that we had to go to the next building if we wanted to go down to use internet, for example.
Room was tiny, dark, old, noisy. Bathroom was smallest than in a cruise ship.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brazilian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caravaggio1, Responsabile reception at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Guests,
we are sorry you didn´t enjoy your stay. It is true that most of historical places are very closely. There are no modern buildings in the historical city centre. Our building (including its elevator) is also a historical one. The elevator is ancient, but it is fully functional. We don´t understand why you were scared to use it. We don´t think the room is noisy. We are situated in the secondary street. The room and also the bathroom have standard sizes. There is a window in every room. Every room is also equipped with central room light and with light beside the bed. So we don´t agree they are dark. Our rooms were recently renovated, so they can not be described as „old“.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The best part of the Hotel is the location. You are within walking distance of most of what there is to see in Rome. The rooms are bit small, but comfortable and clean. Cheerful and help full staff and managers. Check it out on your next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kbsingh390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caravaggio1, Responsabile reception at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your pleasing review. We appreciate that you recommend us to other tourists.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend trip with the family. The hotel is quite nice and closely located to Termini station. Other sites are close as well also the"hop on - hof off" bus stops just a few blocks down the street on the left side of the Santa Maria Maggiore church. Back to the hotel: The staff is very friendly and helpful, in particular the lady at breakfast, who will make you a fresh coffee or cappuccino. The breakfast is basic but in this price range it was fine. The rooms are so,so. The rooms and beds are clean and the bathroom is good, clean and decent also. The bed could have been a bit longer, but I am a tall Dutchman so I can't really make a big deal about this, it's something I run into more often. The only real thing that bothered me with this hotel is space and noise. The rooms are very small, to say the least. Another issue is the lack of blinding possibilities. My room had a black curtain, but it was so thin that as soon as daylight broke well enough, so around 6:30am I was awake and up. Finally the rooms are quite noisy, but I always travel with earplugs, so it's not a huge issue. Finally the wifi is bad, there is no wifi in the rooms, only in the lobby and it is slow if it actually works at all. All in all price-quality wise its not too bad, but with minor tweaks and additions like proper curtains and wifi this hotel would be the true gem it has the potential to be! Side note: I loved the old open elevator with the wooden doors and little bench, very nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeroen22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caravaggio1, Responsabile reception at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guests,
thank you for your feedback. We are glad you were satisfied with our location, with our staff and with the ancient elevator. The size of our rooms is standard for a three stars hotel. If you like a lot of space, we can suggest you to look for a superior room. We are sad you didn´t mention your problem with the blinds during your stay. They are on our windows from outside, we think you didn´t see them. At this time we offer the wi-fi connection only at the reception, it is mentioned in our description on the website. We are sorry you had some troubles with your pc, our wi-fi is working properly.
The Staff of the Hotel Caravaggio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Rommel was fine. God breakfast. Great service from lobby. Forgot to tell us about happy hour. Lobby and room are in different buildings it would have been good to know before arriving at night time. Internet only in lobby down the street. However overall great stay. Very good service from staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caravaggio1, Responsabile reception at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guests,
thank you for your nice review abour your stay in Hotel Caravaggio. We really appreciate it. In the lobby every evening from 6.00 p.m. to 8.00 p.m. we offer a free of charge happy hour. You can find the invitation in every room on the schedule where are the informations about the hotel. Our reception is working 24/24. It is situated on the street level, it is properly visible and there is an illuminated sign too. The entrance to the rooms is from outside in the next door. In this moment we offer a free internet connection only in the lobby. In the future there will be a free of charge connection in the rooms too. We hope we will have a chance to welcome you again.
The Staff of the Hotel Caravaggio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

The hotel room was very small, but the best part was its location, near to metro station, national highway.

The receptionist did not have any knowledge about the surroundings. We reached at night and inquired about near-by restaurants, he told us nothing is nearby. We found an excellent Chinese restaurant in the nearby street plus many other restaurants which were open at night and easily reachable by foot.

The wifi area was so small and over-populated obviously. The lady taking care of breakfast was in a mess as she was alone handling a huge crowd.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSunahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caravaggio1, Responsabile reception at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guests,
thank you for your feedback. We are glad you were satisfied with our location. We would like to mention that there is no highway in the city centre of Rome. Maybe you think of „Via Nazionale“, it is a parallel street to us (there are churches, museums, shops, restaurants, bars, bus stops and metro stop). Our rooms have a standard size for our hotel category (we are a three stars hotel). We are sorry that you didn´t get the information about the restaurants. We think there had to be some misunderstanding, because the members of our reception know the surroundings very well and there are many restaurants in the neigbourghood. The free wi-fi area is in the lobby. The lobby has two spacious rooms, so we do not agree that it is small. We don´t understand your note about the breakfast service. We serve a continental breakfast, there is a buffet table from where the clients can take everything they like. The waitress serves warm drinks and she prepares the tables for next clients.
The Staff of the Hotel Caravaggio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ploiesti, Prahova, Romania
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

It's a good hotel to stay if you want to explore Rome by foot. Very close to almost all locations, just for Vatican you need to go with metro. Colosseum is at 10 minutes walk and also the rest of the sites in 10 - 20 minutes maximum (ex: Piazza di Popolo or Pantheon).

The room is not very good, I had a good bed and a slept well because the street is not so crowded and is parallel with via Nazionale which is one of the most crowded and a lot of noise. It's quite small and the furniture is old. The bathroom is small but ok. Everything is clean and checked everyday. Also another bad thing is for TV which had only one channel available and also just in Italian language. The breakfast is average in this amount of money and with lack of variety.

Considering the amount of money paid and also the location and security which is very good I can say that is a good hotel for tourists which want to explore Rome and spend less time in hotel, just for rest in the night. I will come again and I recommend also others to come if are not very strict or select in term of requirements.

Room Tip: Rooms not close to door entrance where is more noise in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian_Nicolae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magda R, Responsabile reception at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Mr. Adrian,
thank you for your contribution. We are delighted you appreciate our location and security, the price, the cleanness of the room and also the quality of the bed. We are sorry you didn´t like the room. Some rooms are equipped with antique furniture, some rooms with modern furniture. The size of the room and of the bathroom is standard for hotels in our category. On television there are lot of channels. It´s a pity you didn´t inform us during your stay about the problem with the remote control. It was possible to solve it immediately. We are glad you recommend us to other tourists. We will be happy to accommodate you again. It will be useful to let us know which kind of room you prefer (equipped with modern or antique furniture).
The Staff of the Hotel Caravaggio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#187 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#110 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Monti
Hotel Boutique Nazionale
Hotel Boutique Nazionale
#208 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#199 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#73 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#91 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caravaggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caravaggio

Property: Hotel Caravaggio
Address: Via Palermo 75 | Rione Monti, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#209 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Caravaggio 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Hotel Caravaggio is situated in the heart of Rome. The Hotel is the ideal base for visitors wishing to explore on foot the wonders of the Eternal City and to wake up in a quiet and pleasant atmosphere. The reception is opened 24/24. The courteous and friendly staff can give you information you need, city maps, information for the booking of sightseeing tours and airport transfer. Everything that is a part of the Rome experience: monuments, museums, galleries, theatres, shops, restaurants, bars and night life is within walking distance. Nearby the Hotel you will find all the public facilities as the underground and the bus. The area is also very well connected with both airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Caravaggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravaggio Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing