We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but don't expect much from happy hour”
Review of Hotel Caravaggio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Caravaggio
Ranked #239 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel was really nice and great value for money. Breakfast was good although the poor waitress did seem really rushed on all three mornings that we were there. The room was really nicely decorated and well equipped, great location too. The only thing I wish to warn people of is the "happy hour". We expected the happy hour to be in the hotel bar and consist of "buy one get one free" drinks, or maybe a complimentary drink. As it happens, the hotel doesn't actually have a bar and the happy hour is actually a table and two chairs, in the lobby, with a bottle of cordial juice and a bowl of crisps. It reminded us of a child's birthday party.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Europeangirl91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caravaggio1, Responsabile reception at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Dear Guests, thank you for your rewiev. We are happy you liked the room, the breakfast and the location of our hotel. We also like our waitress – she is a kindly person and she does her job perfectly. She really works fast, it is in her natural disposition. We can not agree with your statement that our guests should be warn in connection with our happy hour. Even if we don´t have a bar we think the happy hour we prepare is a nice event. It is in the lobby of our hotel, so the tourists have the chance to meet the other tourists. They can converse if they want, they can share their travel experiencies, they can use our internet point. We offer the happy hour completely charge free. The guests can choose from sparkling wine (red or white), from different fruit drinks and from the variety of salty delicacies. So everybody can find something he likes. We are sad the happy hour didn´t met your expectations. Even thought we hope you will come back to Rome and it will be a pleasure for us to accommodate you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 550 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

Surrounded by typical Roman atmosphere, the hotel is established in an old town house (better said in two houses). The reception is in one house, the entrance in the neighbouring one. I reached my room I had to pass several corridors and corners, at the end I was surprised to find a spacious room. Only the bath room was a bit narrow. And: there was an AC!
In the breakfast room the tables were pretty small (I can't imagine how 4 people will be able to sit at one of these tables).
Disadvantage: (free) web access ws possible in the lobby only

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steirerbub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caravaggio1, Responsabile reception at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Dear Guest, thank you for your contribution. Yes, you noticed correctly that our building is a historical one built in a typical umbertian style. It has maintained its original nature. That´s why the reception is in one part of the building and the access to the rooms is from the other part of the building. We are situated in the city centre. All around there are many historical buildings and this all creates an authentic Roman atmosphere. We are happy you liked the size of the room. Each of our room is equipped with an air conditioning. The bathroom has a standard size for the three stars hotel what is our category. In our breakfast room you can find tables of different sizes, there are tables for two, three or four people. We think everyone can find a table that suits him. For this moment we have the internet in the lobby (free wi-fi and free internet point). We are preparing a project to have a wi-fi in the rooms too. If you will visit Rome again, it will be pleasure for us to have you amoung our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

If you are looking for a nice and clean hotel in the center of Rome,not too expensive then Caravaggio hotel is the one!Good value for the money,very close ,walking distance ,to all the main attractions in Rome-5 minutes from termini,10 minutes from Fontana di Trevi and about 10 minutes from Colosseum.It really is a 3 star hotel-clean rooms(a little bit small,but that's Italy),good continental breakfast, friendly staff at the reception.If you are looking for luxury and hotels with SPA's and swimming pools then this is not your kind of place!It is a small,nice boutique hotel!

P.S:Between 06.00 pm and 08.00 pm every day are happy hours at the reception where you can drink champagne and eat some snacks.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Silvia0689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caravaggio1, Responsabile reception at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Guests, thank you for your really nice review. We appreciate it very much. It is good to hear you were satisfied with our hotel. We hope we will have a pleasure to accommodate so kind guests like you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

When I travel I want a hotel which is near the center and the sights, that is clean and economic. I don't care about luxury. Well Hotel Caravaggio doesn't offer you luxury.

The room is a bit small, but it is always clean. The woman who cleaned the room did a very nice job. The breakfast is poor, but it will get the day started. The thing that bothered me was that there was a lot of noise from upstairs. I think a family lived above us and the kids were running all the time and making a terrible noise. Also the noise from the morning breakfast buffet wakes you up.

I can't say that the price was worth it, but after comparing it to other hotels in Rome and after finding out that Rome is an expensive city, I think it was ok. The good thing is that it is very close to the metro, and very close to all the sights. We only used the metro to go to the Vatican. For everything else we went by foot. If I were to go back to Rome, I would check out the other hotels prices for that period, but I would have Caravaggio in mind!

Oh and there's Internet access only at the hotel lobby and not in the rooms. But lets face it... with all the sightseeing, you don't have time to surf the Internet!

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was too close to the breakfast buffet and in the morning we waked up from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stavroula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caravaggio1, Responsabile reception at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Guests, thank you for your review. We are happy you liked our placement, the cleanness of our rooms and the work of our staff. We would like to mention a few things. Our hotel fulfils every standard of a three stars hotel which we are (it also concerns the room size, they are not small). We do not advertise us as a hotel of luxury category. The luxury hotels are not economic. We don´t agree our breakfast is poor. For breakfast we offer: coffee, milk (warm or cold), tea, mineral water, chocolate, orange juice, corn flackes, muesli, bread, cracker, breadrolls, wholemeal bread, little butter bagels, croissants, cakes, biscuits, fresh fruit, yoghurt (white or fruity), eggs, cheese, butter, marmelade, honey, nut cream. We regret you didn´t inform us that you hear some noises. We are at the reception 24 hours a day 7 days a week. It was possible to find out, where the noise came from and to request the person for more tactfulness. We are sorry you heard sounds from breakfast room, but we think it´s a really weak sound and it is not disturbing at all. For this moment we have internet only in the lobby as we advertise it on the internet. We hope in the future we will be able to offer the internet in the hotel rooms too. Crossly little remarks we hope you will choose us for your next stay in Rome again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We have just returned from a weeks stay at caravaggio and it was the best holiday ever. The reception staff were lovely, breakfast was excellent and our room was spotlessly clean. The location of the hotel was brilliant as it is within easy walking distance of all the main attractions. We are planning to return to rome next year and will definately stay at the caravaggio.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jendanielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caravaggio1, Responsabile reception at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Dear Guests, we have read your nice contribution. It´s a big pleasure for us to know you were satisfied. We would like to thank you for your rewiev and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

My experience with my friend was pretty unusual since we paid almost the same money than in a hostel and we got the best experience, great breakfast, happy hour free snacks and wine, and the people working there as we told them we were leaving early to the airport they made a special bag with a great breakfast.
I honestly can't ask for more, they were super nice and the location is excellent.

Room Tip: I dont think rooms vary much, its a traditional Italian hostel, good as it is!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natiramone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caravaggio1, Responsabile reception at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Dear Guests, thank you for your nice words. We appreciate it very much. It is good to read you liked your time spent in our hotel. We hope you will choose us again for your next stay in Rome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Lovely hotel in a perfect location to explore Rome! When we got there the staff on the front desk gave us a map, circled the main attractions and wrote how to get to each one - we thought this was a lovely touch and found it very helpful. The staff were excellent and always answered our questions. The room and ensuite were immaculately clean. I'd definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeckySmith2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caravaggio1, Responsabile reception at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Guests, we have read your kind review. We are happy that the information about the attractions of our beautiful city of Rome were helpful. It is a big pleasure for us that you have appreciated the work of our staff. We would like to thank you for your recommendation and we will be happy to meet you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#210 of 1,271 in Rome
1,071 reviews
Monti
Hotel Picasso
Hotel Picasso
#475 of 1,271 in Rome
300 reviews
Monti
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#219 of 1,271 in Rome
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#128 of 1,271 in Rome
1,129 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#208 of 1,271 in Rome
989 reviews
Monti
Hotel Virgilio
Hotel Virgilio
#273 of 1,271 in Rome
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caravaggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caravaggio

Address: Via Palermo 75 | Rione Monti, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#120 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#209 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $63 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Caravaggio 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Hotel Caravaggio is situated in the heart of Rome. The Hotel is the ideal base for visitors wishing to explore on foot the wonders of the Eternal City and to wake up in a quiet and pleasant atmosphere. The reception is opened 24/24. The courteous and friendly staff can give you information you need, city maps, information for the booking of sightseeing tours and airport transfer. Everything that is a part of the Rome experience: monuments, museums, galleries, theatres, shops, restaurants, bars and night life is within walking distance. Nearby the Hotel you will find all the public facilities as the underground and the bus. The area is also very well connected with both airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Caravaggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravaggio Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing