We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't recommend this small hotel highly enough.”
Review of Residenza Cellini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residenza Cellini
Ranked #151 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2010

We booked a short 3 night stay, for my wife and myself. The hotel staff were very welcoming. We were surprised at the size and quality of the room - it was large, beautifully decorated with a small balcony. Bathroom had a jacuzzi. The continental Italian breakfast was good and available until 10.30. The staff were all very helpful and polite. The location was great to walk to most sights.The hotel recommended some restaurants, two of which we tried and were superb - Taverna Flavia and Rinaldi Al Quirinalle. Would definately go back to the hotel ( and restaurants).

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vallerenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,072)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

575 - 581 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2010

We had 8 days to spend in Rome, partly for business (spent at another conference hotel on the outskirts), and partly for pleasure. This is where we spent 5 of 8 days, for our leisure portion. Once our patient cab driver made his way from the airport through the blocked off streets (massive political rallies in the city that day), we found ourselves at this charming little boutique hotel, consisting of about a dozen rooms on two floors in a quaint "Belle Epoque" building near the Piazza della Repubblica- complete with tiny, cranky, luggage-challenged elevator cage, just like you see in the movies. You would actually walk right by it if you didn't know it was there. Certainly no grand facade or pretentions on the outside. There are 5 or 6 floors to the building, with each floor accommodating a few rooms as part of several small hotels within. Opt for the 5th floor, with outside terraces off the hallway and one of the rooms. Rooms are actually quite small, but very well-appointed, elegant and comfortable. Beds a bit on the hard side, but generous in size. Stunning, if small, bathrooms. TV service is about what you'd expect - once you figure out the "code" you can bring in more than just Italian-language programming. But who stays in Rome to watch TV?! If you stay more than 2 days, and pay cash, you get a reduced rate. Still a bit pricey, but given that you are a 5 minute walk from the "Republicca" metro station, or a 15 minute walk from some of the major sites (incl the Colosseum, the Tiber River, etc), it's worth it. Excellent restaurants within minutes' walking, and the accommodating staff are quite happy to make recommendations and reservations. Breakfast is included in the price; nothing special - standard continental fare of coffee/tea, juice, bread and pastries, meat and cheese trays, fresh fruit, yogurt and cereal, but enough to get you going. Some decent, affordable shopping just around the corner along Via Nationale. Charming, relaxed, old fashioned service in the heart of one of the most exciting cities in the world. Certainly worth its rating as one of the top places to stay in Rome.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripperGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

We spent the Easter weekend with our 2 kids (7 and 10) at the Residenza Cellini. We had a quadruple room which had a king size bed and two single beds. The room was spacious, clean and very beautiful with stuccoed ceiling and parquet flooring. We had a Jacuzzi bathtub which was great after a long day in the streets of Rome and Sky Cable TV with many English and children’s channels.

Hotel Cellini is well located, within walking distance of Rome's major attractions and Termini. We took the bus from the airport to Termini and walked to Cellini. We also walked to Termini for the sightseeing and public buses which start there. At the following stops the buses were often too crowded for anyone to get in!

Breakfast was very good with cappuccino, bread, ham, cheese, pastries, yoghurt and fruits. The staff is very caring and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mefa2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2010

My daughter decided to run the Rome marathon and I traveled to Rome to witness the event and enjoy being in Italy. The hotel had been recommended to me by a friend. The service and attention by the staff was remarkable. When they knew she was running and would leave before the breakfast set up, they opened the entire breakfast up early so we could have something to eat before we left. They graciously rewarded her when she returned having completed 42 kilometers and were extraordinarily kind and helpful. I travel extensively for work and seldom find this level of attention. The hotel is located near the termini so easy to walk to all public transport options. The room we had was spacious and comfortable. I don't see myself staying anywhere else when I return to Rome.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryoffmarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

I recently travelled to Italy with my mother and 15 year old daughter. We loved our stay at Residenza Cellini (Mar 13 to 18). The ambience of the hotel is charming (and the quaint lift was appreciated by my mother). The location is ideal and most attractions are walking distance (or a short taxi ride when legs were tired). The train station and subway stop are very close, too. Our room (a triple suite) was well appointed, spacious, and exceptionally clean. The bathroom was large with lots of space to park toiletry items. The rooms were quiet and very soundproof. Free wireless was appreciated (a netbook is ideal to take on a trip like this, especially for teens!). The breakfasts were delicious, and will be even more appreciated when the weather is fine enough to enjoy out on the attractive outdoor terrace. Best of all, though, was the very courteous, attentive, and helpful staff who went out of their way to make sure our excursions, restaurant dinners, and hotel stay were optimal. The staff also offered important touring/walking/taxi/train information for us. Rome can be overwhelming for first-time visitors, but useful advice and assistance is always appreciated. I chose this hotel based on the reviews on Trip Advisor. I was not disappointed. It was the perfect choice.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoxMySoxOff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

Hotel Cellini is a superb hotel. The staff is cordial, charming and and helpful, the hotel itself is lovely and spotless -- literally, and the room was spacious, well equipped, and and beautiful. It felt like a quiet refuge in the midst of the rush and noise of Rome. The staff made you feel that they were delighted to see you. To the staff: Thank you for a wonderful week!
LOVED HOTEL CELLINI

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2010

We had a truly wonderful experience at the Residenza Cellini. It is well located, within walking distance of Rome's major attractions. The facilities are attractive, and the staff was as nice and accommodating as any I have seen anywhere. The rooms are generously large and are attractive and recently renovated. Very clean. It was very nice to come back to the hotel at night. They make you feel like family. I would describe it as a hidden gem.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinks2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Suite Dreams
Suite Dreams
#108 of 1,272 in Rome
1,530 reviews
Esquilino
Target Inn
Target Inn
#451 of 1,272 in Rome
284 reviews
Parioli
Hotel Lord Byron
Hotel Lord Byron
#43 of 1,272 in Rome
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Oceania
Hotel Oceania
#129 of 1,272 in Rome
647 reviews
Esquilino
NH Collection Roma Palazzo Cinquecento
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Cellini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Cellini

Address: Via Modena 5, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Rome
#24 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#93 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $84 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Residenza Cellini 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet and exclusive, Residenza Cellini combines the timeless charm of its luxurious historical interiors with the functionality of the most modern and exclusive comforts to ensure a pleasant and restful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residenza Cellini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Cellini Hotel Rome
Residenza Cellini Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing