We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT, EXCELLENT, EXCELLENT WOULD RETURN IN A MINUTE”
Review of Residenza Cellini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residenza Cellini
Ranked #121 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2009

We stayed at the Residenza Cellini for 6 nights and it was just wonderful. I worked with Francesca and Georges to plan our hotel stay. I couldn't have asked for a cleaner hotel with impeccable service that was within walking distance to many attractions. It was 5 minutes to the train station and about 7 minutes to the bus station. It far exceeded our expectations. I can't say enough about the staff and the service. Anything we wanted or needed was taken care of including reservations to museums, restaurants or just plain directions. I felt like I was in a movie with the shinning marble floors and draperies from ceiling to floor. The next street over from the Residenza is the main road Nationale Republic which has lots of shopping, restaurants and a great little bar we found where the people were very friendly. That was relaxing at the end of our long day of touring. One thing I must say is that we left some items in the room when we departed and by the time we arrived home in the US we had a message from the Hotel about our items. They were immediately sent to us and some included dollars. I was really impressed but based on the people we interfaced with I wasn't surprised. They have very high standards. We will definitely stay at the Residenza Cellini during our next trip to Rome and highly recommend it to anyone thinking of traveling to Rome.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Floridatravelingduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,058)
There are newer reviews for Residenza Cellini
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

594 - 600 of 1,058 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2009

Location is the best! Train station is a 5 minute walk, metro a 1 minute walk (metro goes to Vatican, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, etc). Many sites are within walking distance (we walked to the Colisseum!) The hotel is located on a quiet street and is one of a few hotels in the same building, which is fun. There is an elevator if you don't want to walk up the three flights of beautiful marble stairs, but after eating the fabulous food in the neighborhood, you'll want to burn off some calories! The rooms are beautifully decorated and the bathrooms are large and elegant (with heated towel warmers!) The staff is very friendly, helpful and all speak excellent English. Internet is available all day long. The breakfast is delicious and although the breakfast room is small, you never feel pressured or crowded. I would recommend this hotel to everyone - you will feel pampered!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kwatson103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2009

We stayed 10 nights at the Residenza Cellini and simply put it was our nicest hotel experience ever. The hotel itself is wonderful with high ceilings, wood floors, tastefully decorated rooms (with live orchids!), and the kind of old world charm that is very difficult to find in Europe any more.

But, as with any hotel, it is the staff and owners that make a hotel and I can say that that the staff and owner at this hotel truly understand what service is all about. Without exception, the staff was kind, gracious, and helpful, something I cannot unfortunately say for the 5-star hotels in which we have have stayed. I was under the weather two days and they prepared breakfast trays for me at their suggestion. We asked where we could buy stamps and they got them for us. Our flight left early, so they set up the breakfast room an hour early, so we could have breakfast before we left. Because we were staying a long time, the owner sent us complimentary wine two different times and a take-home box of fine chocolates. This list goes on and on.

Would we stay at the Cellini again? In a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Illinioisian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2009

This was our second time in Rome but the first time at Residenza Cellini. No disappointments there. T his hotel is on the 3rd and 5th floor. The breakfast room is on the 3rd floor along with the front desk. We stayed on the 5th floor in a newly renovated room. Modern bathroom that had a shower which was not large but adequate with choice of a regular shower head or multi jet.
The room itself was large enough with sufficient storage space in an armoire. Very clean and made up every day. On our floor we had a terrific covered terrace to go and have a glass of wine before heading out for dinner.
Breakfast was adequate. After all, this is Europe and they do not eat the same way that we do. There were meats (hams and salamis), cheeses, bread, pastries, yogurts and fresh fruit. And of course, the wonderful cappuccino's.
The location is terrific and on a quiet street just behind the via Nationale. There are shops, retaurants, bus stops, and the metro station just a few steps away. About a 10 minute walk to the Spanish steps. Maybe 20 minutes from the Colloseum and 20 minutes from the Borghese museum.
The people at the front desk were always ready to recommend restaurants, sites to visit or directions to whereever you were going. They also reserved the Borghese museum for us. Everyone was very polite and helpful and they all spoke English.
This hotel somehow seemed to be a little above the standards of European hotels and I think it is very good value. When we go back to Rome we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizzypumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2009

Great hotel with lots of charm and newly remodeled rooms. Near train, metro stops. 11 rooms only with attentive staff. Cold meat cheese and pastries breakfast was adequate, but the make great cappuccino. Our room faced a courtyard so it was pretty quiet with no traffic noise.
If we come back to Rome, we will stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AramcoJeannette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2009

The Cellini is a wonderful boutique hotel in an old building near the main train, bus and metro station. This makes it easy to get around Rome. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They all speak excellent English. Rooms are newly remodeled and spacious. There is a beautiful rooftop terrace down the hall. A great place for relaxing and having a glass of wine. My only mild complaint would be the breakfast. It is minimal and the same every day which gets tiring if you are staying very long. They do have a WONDERFUL cappuccino in the morning though.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deserttraveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2009

Never having visited Rome before, I researched the lodging descriptions, recommendations and user reviews of at least six different travel guide web sites and guide books. I searched by areas within the historical part of Rome and compared prices and ratings and finally located about six hotels to contact for availability and prices for our four night stay. Several of my choices offered online booking, but we contacted Residenza Cellini directly via email.

Within 24 hours, the hotel responded with their offer based on a final payment of cash or travelers checks. We guaranteed our stay with a credit card and faxed that number to them. We could have called the hotel with the information, but were deterred by the time difference between CA and Rome. The hotel’s excellent service began immediately with prompt responses to our few questions about specific sightseeing recommendations and transfer options from the cruise terminal into the city.

We appreciated the hotel's quiet location, one block north of Via Nationale, near Piazza Republica. The hotel’s sign on the building is smaller than expected, so we had a little trouble locating the building initially, but our Google map printed from home before departure came to the rescue. As first time visitors to Italy and Rome, we had no familiarity with the “residenza” lodging category, which seems to be a cross between a small hotel and a B & B. The reception area and some rooms are located on the third floor; our attractive and generous-sized room was located on the fifth floor across the hall from a lovely covered terrace where we ate our take away snacks.

Our room and bathroom were spotless and very well maintained each day. The shower enclosure, about the size of a cruise ship shower, offered a variety of sprays and the wonderful water pressure was something I’d forgotten existed. The bed was firm, but because we walked a lot each day and returned exhausted in the evening, we had no trouble sleeping. The new flat screen TV offered a clear, sharp picture and a large selection of program options. The breakfast choices were ample with fresh cold meats and cheeses, cereal, yogurt, fresh fruits and juices, coffee, tea, assorted rolls, Danish, and cookies.

Best of all were the suggestions and recommendations of the staff in response to our questions regarding sightseeing, transportation and places to eat. They graciously volunteered to make reservations for the Borghese museum and our transfer from the hotel to the airport. They even lent us a currency converter so that we could recharge our camera battery. The helpfulness and sincere concern of the owners and staff of Residenza Cellini made our visit to Rome something special-a memorable experience and the highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank halelani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
NH Collection Roma Palazzo Cinquecento
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,267 in Rome
1,353 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,267 in Rome
4,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#68 of 1,267 in Rome
723 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Cellini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Cellini

Address: Via Modena 5, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Rome
#24 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#73 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $167 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Residenza Cellini 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet and exclusive, Residenza Cellini combines the timeless charm of its luxurious historical interiors with the functionality of the most modern and exclusive comforts to ensure a pleasant and restful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Residenza Cellini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Cellini Hotel Rome
Residenza Cellini Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing