We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At Home in Rome.”
Review of Residenza Cellini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residenza Cellini
Ranked #121 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This was our first experience in renting an apartment for a few days and the experience was great. We are a family of five with three teenagers and an apartment provides the additional needed space not otherwise available. Barbara met us on our arrival and she is a gracious host who spent at least 20 minutes going over details regarding the apartment and the surrounding area. Barbara was sincerely interested in our having an enjoyable experience. We stayed for threee nights. The apartment was perfect for our needs and the kitchen allowed us to eat breakfast at a leisurely pace. Rome is a large city to cover on foot but the apartment was centrally located that allowed for a good night rest without noise. Our family strongly recommends this apartment.

Room Tip: Our review relates to apartment N. 10, which has three bedrooms.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redhook55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,058)
There are newer reviews for Residenza Cellini
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 1,058 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2014

Me and my wife stayed at Residenza Cellini for five nights in late May and early June 20014. We selected this hotel based on the Trip Advisor reviews. It is a little expensive but my wife was very happy and that was worth it. Nice, clean and spacious room and bathroom, compare to the European standards, with modern fixtures and new furniture. Towels, toiletries, bed sheets, etc. were changed daily. The air-conditioning worked fine. No disturbing outside noise. The common areas were spacious and well decorated. The free internet connection was available in the room and the breakfast was fine. Our room was on the fifth floor and we will request this floor on our next visit.

The best part of this hotel is it’s staff. Very courteous, helping, and always available to your request. I cannot appreciate enough their positive attitudes, smiling faces and willingness to assist you. A very very special thank to Mr. Jose Romero for his hospitality, kindness and friendly manner. He made our stay pleasant and stress free.

The location is excellent, 10 minutes walk to the main train station Termini, bus station, eating and shopping places, and five minutes walk to metro (subway). Colosseum is 20 minutes walk and we will recommend taking metro. The nearby bus and metro will take you to all major attractions. However, we walked everywhere and twice got lost. The hotel is located very close to a major road and the area is safe. It is situated on the third floor and there are other hotels in the same building. The hotel’s security precautions are very good. The hotel may consider improving the breakfast and the elevator. We will come back and will recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOY_MIAMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Used their 2 apartments(not the hotel) for family of 9 and worked out perfectly. Well located between the Vatican and historical district. They are not in main tourist sera, but plenty of good restaurants at reasonable prices. The staff was great with all the arrangements including plenty of breakfast food.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank LausanneWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

This little boutique hotel is in a great location. Close to all of the tourist attractions yet far enough away to be out of the hustle and bustle. And the personal service provided by the staff is wonderful. It has the feel of a bread and breakfast as it is very very small. When we first arrived and encountered the elevator we were a little taken aback. It is an old fashioned open air elevator but it turned out to be fine and in fact we even took pictures of it to show to our friends back home. A real conversation piece. The rooms are nothing special except for the fact that they are spotless. Very clean. So this is a good choice and I would definitely stay here again upon my return to Rome.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JefferyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

This is our second stay at Residenza Cellini and once again the visit was fantastic. We noticed upgrades to our room (# 504) including a more comfy bed and new bath and shower fixtures. Also, the internet connection was much improved - top notch. The room was spacious and well appointed. The common areas, as well as the guest rooms, were immaculate.

The building itself, which houses other hotels and private residences, could use a fresh coat of paint and might have been off-putting if we had not stayed previously. However, once inside the Cellini, the scent of fresh flowers and gleaming marble floors set our mind to rest that this would be another positive experience at this hotel.

The Cellini's location is excellent - close to all major tourist sites, within walking distance to the subway, fine dining and shopping.

We can not say enough about the exceptional service. We were graciously greeted by Barbara and Marjorie who made us feel like we were coming home. Nestor, Katherina and Cindy were always pleasant with warm greetings. Of special mention is Jose's who's infections smile and enthusiasm never wavered.

Great staff. Great Service. Great Hotel.

Room Tip: We arrived a day early so we stayed in a double room for that night. Double room (3rd floor) was lo...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We were meeting friends in Rome, and I had booked this hotel, but stupidly and inadvertently cancelled my reservation--- believing that I was cancelling a reservation in Venice. When I arrived at the hotel, (hot and tired after a long train ride) and was told that I did not have a reservation and the hotel was booked. I was livid! The clerk remained calm and printed out my cancellation. Then I went into panic mode; we are in Rome for three nights with no room! The young clerk (a girl) kindly volunteered to try and locate a room for us. She found a less expensive room in a hotel in the same building which was clean, cool and efficient. A very kind and unexpected gesture for someone who was NOT a hotel guest. Our friends stayed here and their room was lovely, and we visited them in the atrium which was a nice oasis away from the hustle and bustle of Rome. We would definitely stay here if we returned to Rome.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We just returned from our second stay at the Residenza Cellini. Our first visit was in 2002 and this visit included our college-age children. The hotel offered us the same hospitality, comforts, beauty and convenience as our earlier visit--with an addition. The hotel now has rooms on the 5th floor with a flower-adorned terrace open to all guests. We enjoyed our first lunch there. It was magical.

The owners, Barbara, Gaetano and Donato DePaolis are the definition of gracious hospitality. Their staff, including Margiry and Jose, are welcoming and professional.

The rooms and common areas are beautifully appointed and cared for meticulously. The fabrics, wide mouldings, floors, oil paintings of Rome and the fresh flowers make the hotel feel more like an elegant private home than hotel. The daily breakfast is plentiful and the cappuccino delicious. We slept soundly in quiet and comfortable rooms.

It is clear the family and their staff take special care to provide an exceptional experience. I want to return---tomorrow, if that can be arranged.

Room Tip: Room 3 was a wonderful space for the four of us. We were offered the apartment for a reasonable pric...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StacyBayVillage_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
NH Collection Roma Palazzo Cinquecento
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,267 in Rome
1,353 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,267 in Rome
4,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#68 of 1,267 in Rome
723 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Cellini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Cellini

Address: Via Modena 5, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Rome
#24 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#73 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $167 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Residenza Cellini 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet and exclusive, Residenza Cellini combines the timeless charm of its luxurious historical interiors with the functionality of the most modern and exclusive comforts to ensure a pleasant and restful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residenza Cellini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Cellini Hotel Rome
Residenza Cellini Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing