We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable service! Beautiful place!”
Review of Residenza Cellini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residenza Cellini
Ranked #39 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Impeccable service! Beautiful place!”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We were meeting friends in Rome, and I had booked this hotel, but stupidly and inadvertently cancelled my reservation--- believing that I was cancelling a reservation in Venice. When I arrived at the hotel, (hot and tired after a long train ride) and was told that I did not have a reservation and the hotel was booked. I was livid! The clerk remained calm and printed out my cancellation. Then I went into panic mode; we are in Rome for three nights with no room! The young clerk (a girl) kindly volunteered to try and locate a room for us. She found a less expensive room in a hotel in the same building which was clean, cool and efficient. A very kind and unexpected gesture for someone who was NOT a hotel guest. Our friends stayed here and their room was lovely, and we visited them in the atrium which was a nice oasis away from the hustle and bustle of Rome. We would definitely stay here if we returned to Rome.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    174
    25
    5
    4
See reviews for
256
494
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Village, OH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We just returned from our second stay at the Residenza Cellini. Our first visit was in 2002 and this visit included our college-age children. The hotel offered us the same hospitality, comforts, beauty and convenience as our earlier visit--with an addition. The hotel now has rooms on the 5th floor with a flower-adorned terrace open to all guests. We enjoyed our first lunch there. It was magical.

The owners, Barbara, Gaetano and Donato DePaolis are the definition of gracious hospitality. Their staff, including Margiry and Jose, are welcoming and professional.

The rooms and common areas are beautifully appointed and cared for meticulously. The fabrics, wide mouldings, floors, oil paintings of Rome and the fresh flowers make the hotel feel more like an elegant private home than hotel. The daily breakfast is plentiful and the cappuccino delicious. We slept soundly in quiet and comfortable rooms.

It is clear the family and their staff take special care to provide an exceptional experience. I want to return---tomorrow, if that can be arranged.

Room Tip: Room 3 was a wonderful space for the four of us. We were offered the apartment for a reasonable pric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StacyBayVillage_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The staff was very friendly and upgraded us to the Junior suite when we arrived. The bed was very comfortable, we had very deep sleep there. The bathroom was large and modern with great water pressure. The room was nicely decorated, very charming. We had problems figuring out how to work the AC and the TV (operator error, I'm sure), but the weather was nice so it wasn't an issue and we really weren't in the room long enough to worry about TV.

The location was really convenient, not far from Trevi Fountain or the Train Station. We were right around the corner from a Metro stop, so getting to more distant locations was easy if we were too tired to walk. We had no problems walking from the Colosseum.

We enjoyed the rooftop terrace for a late night bottle of wine.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room that is not near the breakfast room when making the reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerriS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We were arriving by train from Florence and we were there for the canonization of John Paul II ,so, we wanted to be close to the termini(train station)and a bit away fro the crowds.The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the train station(have your wits about you this is not the best part of town),the building is a simple plain apartment type building with signage for the hotel by the doorbells.As you are buzzed in there is an old wrought iron elevator with glass and wooden doors (adds to the charm).The office and some rooms are on the third floor ,our room was on the fifth floor.Clean,beautifully decorated with great attention to detail describes the hotel and our terraced room.Our room was large,sunny and immaculate with a large bathroom that was high tech.It was truly lovely.Many good restaurants are nearby,as is the subway.We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for the fifth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Echoing a lot of reviews, we decided on Residenza Cellini based on the Rick Steves travel book. And we we were happy we selected it for a final night in Rome. After returning from Florence by train, we found the Residenza an easy walk from the Termini. But, as noted by others, it is on the third floor of a building with very small signage! And, yes, the elevator is very small!!

But, once you've entered the front door, you might as well be in a nice, private home. The hallway and Rooms are spacious and quiet. The bed, the bath, and the breakfast were wonderful, and the staff was happy to look after our luggage while we explored Rome prior to our trip to the airport.

This is a very nice, centrally located property, with very good value. We'd be delighted to stay again!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andaltex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

I am feeling nostalgic as I write this, thinking about the Residenza Cellini in Rome. Be warned - when you first walk in there is no signage, no office, just a weird looking, ancient elevator. Somehow we finally figured out that the office is on the third floor, and once that was discovered we were in a whole new world. A world of fragrant flowers and marble floors and sweet Italian accents and friendly people and smiling faces. Our group had two rooms - my parents were so delighted to find that they had a small terrace all to themselves! It was so handy for them as they can't go out traipsing around every day, so they were able to rest on the terrace and enjoy the lovely foliage. The rooms were good sized for Europe and each contained fresh orchids. Our showers had such fancy hardware that I am sure it would have been fantastic if I had the energy to figure it out. But the rain shower head was enough for me - heaven! Great water pressure which means a lot at a hotel. Nice comfy beds and such a traditional European scene out our window - nothing fancy, just traditional. What a great location this hotel has! Great restaurants nearby, great heritage nearby, walking distance to the Coliseum and many other great sights. Wonderful, wonderful staff - so helpful and kind. Very nice complimentary breakfast every day. You can't go wrong at Cellini - it was just beautiful once you get past the ground floor! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoKat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Stayed here with 2 girlfriends on a girls weekend trip to Rome. We got a room with 3 twin beds at a reasonable price. Room and bathroom were sparklingly clean. Hotel staff were so very nice and friendly. Went out of their way to give good directions to whatever your itinerary was for the day. Breakfast was good too with a good selection of breads, fruits, jams, cheese and deli cuts, juices, and the coffee was excellent! Location was very near the Republicca metro station which made getting around Rome very easy. Pharmacy, grocery,ATMs and taxis were easy to find. Lots of good restos and cafés nearby too. All in all a very nice hotel in a good central location.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iluvtraveling123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,256 in Rome
1,267 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
NH Collection Roma Palazzo Cinquecento
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,256 in Rome
4,094 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Cellini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Cellini

Property: Residenza Cellini
Address: Via Modena 5, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Rome
#22 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#24 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Residenza Cellini 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet and exclusive, Residenza Cellini combines the timeless charm of its luxurious historical interiors with the functionality of the most modern and exclusive comforts to ensure a pleasant and restful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Residenza Cellini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Cellini Hotel Rome
Residenza Cellini Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing