We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ahhh Rome”
Review of Residenza Cellini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residenza Cellini
Ranked #59 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ahhh Rome”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We were arriving by train from Florence and we were there for the canonization of John Paul II ,so, we wanted to be close to the termini(train station)and a bit away fro the crowds.The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the train station(have your wits about you this is not the best part of town),the building is a simple plain apartment type building with signage for the hotel by the doorbells.As you are buzzed in there is an old wrought iron elevator with glass and wooden doors (adds to the charm).The office and some rooms are on the third floor ,our room was on the fifth floor.Clean,beautifully decorated with great attention to detail describes the hotel and our terraced room.Our room was large,sunny and immaculate with a large bathroom that was high tech.It was truly lovely.Many good restaurants are nearby,as is the subway.We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for the fifth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    839
    173
    24
    5
    5
See reviews for
256
491
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Echoing a lot of reviews, we decided on Residenza Cellini based on the Rick Steves travel book. And we we were happy we selected it for a final night in Rome. After returning from Florence by train, we found the Residenza an easy walk from the Termini. But, as noted by others, it is on the third floor of a building with very small signage! And, yes, the elevator is very small!!

But, once you've entered the front door, you might as well be in a nice, private home. The hallway and Rooms are spacious and quiet. The bed, the bath, and the breakfast were wonderful, and the staff was happy to look after our luggage while we explored Rome prior to our trip to the airport.

This is a very nice, centrally located property, with very good value. We'd be delighted to stay again!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andaltex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

I am feeling nostalgic as I write this, thinking about the Residenza Cellini in Rome. Be warned - when you first walk in there is no signage, no office, just a weird looking, ancient elevator. Somehow we finally figured out that the office is on the third floor, and once that was discovered we were in a whole new world. A world of fragrant flowers and marble floors and sweet Italian accents and friendly people and smiling faces. Our group had two rooms - my parents were so delighted to find that they had a small terrace all to themselves! It was so handy for them as they can't go out traipsing around every day, so they were able to rest on the terrace and enjoy the lovely foliage. The rooms were good sized for Europe and each contained fresh orchids. Our showers had such fancy hardware that I am sure it would have been fantastic if I had the energy to figure it out. But the rain shower head was enough for me - heaven! Great water pressure which means a lot at a hotel. Nice comfy beds and such a traditional European scene out our window - nothing fancy, just traditional. What a great location this hotel has! Great restaurants nearby, great heritage nearby, walking distance to the Coliseum and many other great sights. Wonderful, wonderful staff - so helpful and kind. Very nice complimentary breakfast every day. You can't go wrong at Cellini - it was just beautiful once you get past the ground floor! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoKat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Stayed here with 2 girlfriends on a girls weekend trip to Rome. We got a room with 3 twin beds at a reasonable price. Room and bathroom were sparklingly clean. Hotel staff were so very nice and friendly. Went out of their way to give good directions to whatever your itinerary was for the day. Breakfast was good too with a good selection of breads, fruits, jams, cheese and deli cuts, juices, and the coffee was excellent! Location was very near the Republicca metro station which made getting around Rome very easy. Pharmacy, grocery,ATMs and taxis were easy to find. Lots of good restos and cafés nearby too. All in all a very nice hotel in a good central location.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iluvtraveling123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

RC occupies the upper floors of an anonymous building near Termini. It's location is a bit removed from most places you want to go, but a bus runs nearby.

The positives, however, far outweigh the negatives. It's a nicely decorated place and one of the biggest and best rooms we've had. The bathroom was elegant with a huge whirlpool tub. The staff was exceptional. One anecdote will give you the idea. We arrived early morning to drop our bags and were going to wander off until our room would be available later. Instead, they invited us to stay for breakfast (which was excellent) even though our booking would not begin until check in later in the day. That kind of going above and beyond is rare.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Laddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We spent a week in Rome here - what a lovely place to stay. We had a beautiful room with a balcony which was so quiet we slept with the doors open and could not hear a sound. The staff are so pleasant and helpful and the buffet breakfast was fine. The coffee is delicious! The hotel is situated a few minutes walk from Republica or Termini metro stations which makes getting around very easy. There are a couple of good restaurants nearby - I recommend Target and Del Giglios plus it's right near the Opera House. One tip - they have a roof garden on the 5th floor of the building (reception is on the 3rd floor) which we only found out about on our last day- a pleasant place to sit on a hot day.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Punky_bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Very clean and friendly hotel close to the train station. The staff is very helpful and they all try to leave a cozy and warm feeling with you. It is only a few minutes to walk from the city center. And in case you feel comfortable with the metro and bus, you have access more or less in front of the building. We asked for a quiet room and we got one on the 5th floor. We even could sleep with open window in this busy city!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank thomas-mueller-zrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#31 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,044 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,833 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Cellini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Cellini

Property: Residenza Cellini
Address: Via Modena 5, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Rome
#24 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#39 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Residenza Cellini 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet and exclusive, Residenza Cellini combines the timeless charm of its luxurious historical interiors with the functionality of the most modern and exclusive comforts to ensure a pleasant and restful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Residenza Cellini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Cellini Hotel Rome
Residenza Cellini Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing