We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, well staffed Rome hotel”
Review of Residenza Cellini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residenza Cellini
Ranked #40 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Danville, Ca
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Well located, well staffed Rome hotel”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Residenza Cellini is a pleasant small hotel located within a short walk of Rome's main railroad station, Termini. It's just steps away from the Metro and the Bus 64 (the pickpocket express) that will take you close to the Coliseum/Forum and, a little farther, to St. Peter's and Vatican City. It's a short walk to other very interesting sites. We took advantage of the hotel's discounts for three day booking and cash payment to get a very fair rate for a large and attractive " junior suite" with all the bells and whistles- a safe, a/c, small fridge, jacuzzi tub, complementary wi-fi, etc. The hotel has a pleasant deck area on the fifth floor. The hotel has a tiny elevator that worked just fine during our stay. They serve a nice European style breakfast in a small breakfast room, which they are hoping to expand. As other people have mentioned, the hotel prides itself on good service. The staff is very helpful in making dinner reservations and providing suggestions. The Residenza Cellini is our first choice for accommodations when visiting the " Eternal City".

Room Tip: The junior suites are very nice and worth the extra price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    841
    174
    25
    5
    4
See reviews for
256
494
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This small but perfectly situated bed and breakfast was literally in the middle of everything. Being a block away from the Metro, it was a perfect way in getting to all the sites in Rome with the use of a daily train pass. Skip the buses - it is true what they say about these scurvy pickpockets. Our room was neat and clean and the staff was more than helpful with all of our needs. They had free computer services in their breakfast room and we were able to contact our family at home. They also had a really nice rooftop terrace to unwind at the end of each day of sightseeing. All in all it was a perfect experience and much better than any 4 or 5 star hotel that would probably not have had that personal touch that the Cellini had. I did everything online with making reservations to providing transfer trips from the airport to the Cellini and then two days later, to our cruise ship. Roberto (Cellini front desk) was extraordinary in making this all happen which made this a very pleasurable experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BklynFamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This hotel is on the 3rd floor. Every floor has a different hotel. A great room with a wonderful feel. All staff were very helpful. They assisted with printing tickets to attractions and had a good knowledge of Rome.
En-suite was small but very nicely finished and maintained.
Breakfast is what I expected after having read other reviews but also had phili cheese, yoghurts and a large bowl of fresh fruit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lionel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Residenza Cellini confirms everything I have read on Tripadvisor. Only about 6 min. walk from the Termini train station. This is a hidden gem. Small but nice and cosy rooms. Great breakfast. You can without any problems walk to all of Romes senic attractions! A great small hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kjetil-Sk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Residenza Cellini in May, 2012. We were greeted every day with a friendly staff member who was always willing to help us find our way around or recommend a restaurant. The breakfast every day was very filling and the waiter service while we ate was a nice surprise. The rooms were comfortable, the bathrooms were clean and the location overall was superb. Would definitely stay there again if we were lucky enough to return to Rome.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheHealys611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Another terrific recommendation from Tripadvisor and Rick Steves. Rick's description comparing the hotel's ambiance to a "Neoclassical palace" was no exaggeration! Upon arrival Margiry greeted us and made us feel right at home for our 3, late-September days in Rome. She and Roberto continued to offer us helpful advice on the city, restaurants and transportation ... including cautions regarding security on the metro. The hotel's beds were incredibly comfortable and our room was spotless. The bathroom was well-appointed with every amenity including fluffy towels, nice soaps & bath gels, shower caps and featured a state-of-the-art shower. The 5th floor, rooftop terrace is a lovely place for an afternoon respite. The hotel is conveniently located within easy walking distance to the train station (10-15 minutes) and the metro (5 minutes). Residenza Cellini exceeded our expectations and we will surely stay here on any return trip to Rome! Try the restaurant (Target) around the corner for great food and lovely outdoor dining. Ask for Angelo, he is delightful and an excellent waiter.

Room Tip: Although we'd read other reviews regarding potential noise level for rooms near the breakfast ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2_ToGo_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

our family of 4 women loved this hotel. the location is perfect; a quiet street one block away from a busy city street with banking, shopping and easy taxi hailing. we had an easy walk with luggage to the train station and an easier walk to the metro. we found the small antique elevator very charming and loved the terrace. the hosts were unfailingly pleasant and helpful and our room was very comfortable with the air conditioning very blessed in the roman august heat wave. i have traveled some in both the us and europe and stayed at many higher priced hotels and can safely say this is the most pristine property i have ever seen. the white glove test would not find a speck of anything even on the shining floors. when i go back to rome this is the place i would stay again. nuff said.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beck52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
NH Collection Roma Palazzo Cinquecento
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,257 in Rome
1,295 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#58 of 1,257 in Rome
715 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,257 in Rome
4,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Cellini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Cellini

Property: Residenza Cellini
Address: Via Modena 5, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Rome
#23 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#24 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Residenza Cellini 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet and exclusive, Residenza Cellini combines the timeless charm of its luxurious historical interiors with the functionality of the most modern and exclusive comforts to ensure a pleasant and restful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Residenza Cellini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Cellini Hotel Rome
Residenza Cellini Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing