We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend staying here!”
Review of Residenza Cellini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residenza Cellini
Ranked #120 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2011

A lovely little hotel! The position is great, lovely and quiet in a very noisy city. Our room (a triple) was lovely and spacious and our daughter fell in love with the jacuzzi bath. Sweet little breakfast room with a good selection to eat, great cappuccinos and hot chocolates. There is also a quiet terrace on the 5th floor, nice in the evening.

All the staff were lovely and could not do enough for us, from organising taxis to recommending good local restaurants. A great introduction to Rome and Italy, would definitely stay there again! It deserves the rating it has on here.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pumpkin1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,058)
There are newer reviews for Residenza Cellini
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

449 - 455 of 1,058 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2011

We chose Residenza Cellini based on reviews on TA as well as its proximity to Termini Station. Since Rome was our first stop after a long flight from the West coast, this seemed to make sense. The hotel was fairly easy to find on foot from the train station. We found the room to be very nicely appointed and the staff accommodating. It was a great retreat after a long day of walking Rome and seeing the sites. Very, very quiet. As far as location goes, while convenient to the train station it was a bit of a hike to get to places like Piazza Navona or Campo d' Fiori where you really get a wonderful sense of what Rome is all about. The breakfast provided in the morning was great and the staff was helpful if we had questions about where to go, although no one could give us a good restaurant recommendation close to the hotel. (Try Target restaurant right around the corner - we had an excellent meal, bottle of wine and great tiramisu) If it's warm when you go - make sure you go to the rooftop deck. None of the staff told us about it and we discovered it on our last day after another guest mentioned it. It's a nice space to have a drink or coffee. Overall I would recommend the hotel although I think it's a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllysonJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Definitely stay here. Best hotel I've stayed in for years. I wish all hotels were as nice, friendly, comfortable, etc as this one.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avidtraveler0055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

My sister and I stayed here last summer ending our Italian tour including Como, Venice, and Florence. Residenza Cellini was without a doubt the friendliest, most accomadating hotel. It is beautifully decorated with magnificent rooms. The breakfast was delicious every morning and the staff always willing and eager to help. Matches the "ancient mixed with modern" feel of Rome perfectly. Great location - we walked everywhere but the Vatican and on the hotel's recommendation got the Roma Pass for the times we didn't want to walk.

Definitely ask the owners for recommendations. They restaurants they sent us to were the best all trip.

I found none of the negative reviews on here as true. To be sure the rooms/showers are smaller than they typically are in the US but that is merely a difference in culture. It was the same in every city we visited. You also have to remember it is a pensione and not a large hotel chain.

Residenza Cellini is a wonderful family run pensione and anyone who stays there is in for a treat.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

After a four (4) day stay at the Residenza Cellini, my wife and I would highly recommend this hotel. It is an "old world" charm hotel with the most friendly and wonderful staff ever assembled. The location is quiet and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good. For visitors to Rome, the hotel's location affords easy access to any of the many Roman treasures. The Metro, whose Republicca stop is literally around the corner from Residenza Cellini, is easy to use and well marked for travelers unfamilair with Rome.

This is a big city hotel where you can take a romantic evening stroll through quiet side streets, or enjoy conversation on the hotel's quiet and romantic patio balcony (pictured above). The hotel, of course, carries a variety of Italian wines which are wonderful for that intimate patio conversation.

This is a "must stay" hotel, to which we will return on our next trip to Rome........afterall, my wife did throw a coin into the Trevi Fountain.

Rick and Kathy Thompson

Room Tip: Book a room with a balcony
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

My wife and I have stayed in many hotels in Rome and Residenza Cellini is by far the best. The rooms are spacious and clean with comfortable beds, and have all the amenities one would normally expect to find in a five star hotel, to include a jacuzzi. Barbara and her staff are friendly and helpful. Cellini is located close to good restaurants, shops and the train station, and is within reasonable walking distance to many of Rome's major attractions. It is off the main street and the rooms are quiet. Our stay in Rome was made even more memorable as a result of this fine hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xgman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Traveling with our two adult children, we rented the quadruple room and it was a bit tight but we made do. The bathroom was beautiful and clean. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. It's within walking distance to the train station and the T as well. Great location! Plenty of good restaurants nearby. Wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thehaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
NH Collection Roma Palazzo Cinquecento
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,267 in Rome
1,354 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,267 in Rome
4,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#68 of 1,267 in Rome
723 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Cellini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Cellini

Address: Via Modena 5, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Rome
#24 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#73 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $164 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Residenza Cellini 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet and exclusive, Residenza Cellini combines the timeless charm of its luxurious historical interiors with the functionality of the most modern and exclusive comforts to ensure a pleasant and restful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Residenza Cellini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Cellini Hotel Rome
Residenza Cellini Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing