We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a honeymoon hotel !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Diana Roof Garden
Ranked #350 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Riyadh Province, Saudi Arabia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not a honeymoon hotel !!”
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

I got married 3 months ago and my husband and I chose Rome for our honeymoon. When we arrived to the hotel, 1 person out of 3 at the front desk spoke English and the bellboys didn't understand at all. So it was really hard to communicate! Upon our arrival to our room I was shocked by how much the room was small as well as the bathroom (we were expecting at least a better and romantic room!) they dont do anything special for honeymooners. ps: when our travel agency reserved, they wrote to the hotel that we are on our honeymoon. We changed rooms but all rooms are the same size. Diana hotel is so NOT a place to stay in during your honeymoon! The staff really needs to learn english more! We were really disappointed. However the roof garden is great and overlooks Rome and the location was also good.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rawan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    731
    366
    113
    76
See reviews for
384
629
114
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aspen, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

The hotel is impossible to find, front desk is stuffy, unfriendly and unamused by first time visitors to Rome. By the way, I found so many helpful, friendly, courteous Romans, it was a sharp contrast to the atmosphere at Hotel Diana Roof Garden. The Roof Garden was inconsistently open, lobby bar/restaurant had short hours for food - I believe the kitchen closes early and only microwavable fare is available. The room I reserved online by picture and the room I got were also nowhere near the same - and to the negative. Wifi difficult to access even in the lobby.

There are so many places to choose from in Rome that can offer you much more, I would not settle for mediocre here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cs2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I had read some negative reviews on here so was a bit sceptical about how this hotel would actually be. I have to say that the negative reviews are unfounded in my eyes! The hotel was very near to the Termini which takes you straight from/to the airport, staff were friendly, helpful & very smiley. Room was big, clean and they give you a couple of free bottles of water, a can of pop and a bag of crisps for free each day in the minibar. The only issue we had was when they checked out our room key before 10am on the day of our checkout but this was resolved with not too much trouble. Also, we were on the delivery alley side and it was a bit noisy around 6am but this was not a major problem. Hotel is in a good location & there are lots of nice, cheap places to eat nearby. I would recommend a place called Cotto which was about two streets away. Lovely food and staff!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the street where you enter the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My wife and I had visited Rome only once before many years ago. Back then we picked a more central location for the main attractions but this had the disadvantage of being further from the station than we'd have liked (because it's so easy to get from the airport by train).
I selected the Diana Roof Garden hotel on the basis that it was closer to the station and because it must be one of the few hotels (still relatively close to the centre) where we could enjoy breakfast on a roof terrace with a view. We weren't necessarily interested in facilities on offer during the day or whether the evening dining was fine - the hotel was essentially a comfortable crash pad to sleep at night and hopefully somewhere pleasant to have breakfast in the morning before each long day of sight-seeing etc. In this respect the hotel was great and I don't recall being disturbed by outside noise once. We all slept extremely well.
We selected one of the hotel's apartment type rooms (2 bedrooms, bathroom and a kitchen) although on arrival we were offered either this room or another which swapped the kitchen for another bathroom - we opted for the latter and it made even more sense.
The 'apartment' was plenty big enough for our stay (me, my wife and 18 yr old daughter - would be a great choice for families with small children also) and was kept clean and tidy by the maids.
A nice touch was the complimentary refreshments in the room (instant tea and coffee along with a pack of crisps, water and a soft drink) not because I begrudge paying for refreshments or room service, it's just nice to have them on hand after a long day walking the streets.
Breakfast was also absolutely fine, made all the more enjoyable if taken on the rooftop garden.
Based on other reviews and our own experience, I think the biggest single factor which prevents higher ratings (and it doesn't do too badly in any event) is that the staff don't appear to be overly friendly or, seemingly, that happy. It's a pity because what they're actually doing is quite effective.
On the whole, I believe the hotel offers really good value for money and if I was looking for something which provided a sensible balance between comfort (rather than luxury) and cost then I reckon I'd struggle to find something any better in Rome. It seems a shame that it's just the lack of a few smiling faces which would be all that's needed for an even better presence.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeHibb666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My wife, my 21 yr old son and myself have just spent a really pleasant stay at this hotel. This is the first hotel that I have had reservations about after reading several negative reviews here.
However for us the negativity was unfounded the staff were really pleasant and friendly and made us welcome from the outset.
We spent three nights here in really comfortable rooms. the one that my wife and I was in was a bit on the snug side but hey what else do you do in a room in Rome except sleep, it suited our needs. The room that our son was in was really nice, bordering on boutique style, this was next to our room as requested.
The hotel is situated in a really great area for all attractions and in an area where restaurants are plentyfull and good value, which cannot be said of the tourist haunts around the vatican we paid just short of 60 euros near the hotel but 106 euros in a small eatery near to the Vatican for the same sort of meal.
The only thing for us that the rooms lack are coffee and tea facilities but this was more than made up for by the chance of eating breakfast on the rooftop without a thermal vest in November.
I would recommend this hotel for its price, location and the friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westcountryBadBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishkill, New York
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

My hubby and I stayed here for 4 nights in October.
The location is perfect!!! We walked every where. Only took a cab one morning and the front desk arranged it for us.
The front desk, in my opinion needed some training in customer service. There were 4 employees standing in the general area of the desk when we arrived. No one else ( customer wise) was around. No one made eye contact for 4 minutes or so. I will say check in time was 1pm. We got there at 10 am, and they let us check. How ever no bell service!!
Breakfast was a home run. We ate and were out by 7 am each morning.
The room was on the 6 th floor. Very nice room. ( We were a little spastic , the electric did not work...we had to put the key card in the slot by the door...silly us.) They are energy conscious , which is good.
Our room was on the court yard side. The weather was quite warm. We opened the window, beautiful.....till the restaurants around started to close and it was like New Year's Eve with the pots banging. We just closed the window. Then opened it again in the morning around 4 am. And this is where our true Italy experience , there was a man singing every morning. BEAUTIFUL !!! Just added a special touch to our trip.
The roof top restaurant was great for breakfast but we tried 2x to eat there. The same staff was there from the morning. I felt bad for them by 8 pm they were exhausted and it showed.
So we went to the restaurant next door.
So, as long as you are not a very demanding individual this hotel is great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K2mgmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Rome is a city where panoramic views are rare but the roof garden at the Hotel Diana gives you a nearly 360 degree view of Rome. Have a cocktail/appetizer con mi amici Vincenzo.
We also stayed at the hotel and were very comfortable and central to all we needed to see, do etc.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Augusta Lucilla Palace
Augusta Lucilla Palace
#188 of 1,258 in Rome
1,693 reviews
Esquilino
Best Western Plus Hotel Universo
Esquilino
Bettoja Massimo D'Azeglio
Bettoja Massimo D'Azeglio
#333 of 1,258 in Rome
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
#250 of 1,258 in Rome
1,139 reviews
Esquilino
Bettoja Hotel Mediterraneo
Esquilino
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#169 of 1,258 in Rome
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diana Roof Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diana Roof Garden

Property: Hotel Diana Roof Garden
Address: Via Principe Amedeo 4, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#190 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diana Roof Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Hotel offering modern comforts and amenities, restaurant and bar; situated in the heart of Rome near the Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Diana Roof Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Diana Rome Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing