We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Below Average” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Diana Roof Garden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Diana Roof Garden
Ranked #329 of 1,285 Hotels in Rome
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Below Average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Assigned to us by CIT Tours prior to starting our South of Italy tour. This hotel has very Small rooms, very small elevators that need to wait for forever.
Breakfast is good. Would not stay there again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hind B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    619
    319
    94
    63
See reviews for
325
521
104
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
beirut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is not very far from Fumicino airport.
Centrally located.
Walking distance to the bus & train station (eventhough didn't give it a try ....).
The same street has a lot of restaurants & shops.
It's not a huge hotel.
Single rooms reserved for me were a bit squeezed; yet clean.
The breakfast restaurant is not very large also. Simple breakfast served.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salibarania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I had a reservation for 1 night, Thursday 26 September. I had booked it on the "free cancellation 8% off" offer. I was in Rome for a few days 19-22, then flying to Genoa, then maybe returning to Rome for one night.

My plans changed, and I did not need the Hotel Diana Roof Garden for the night of Thursday 26 September. Their cancellation rules stated on the reservation form I had taken with me: "cancellations must be made directly to the hotel at least 48 hours before your expected arrival time". What could possibly go wrong?

I visited the hotel in person on Saturday 21st September to cancel, 5 days beforehand. The receptionist refused to accept my cancellation - I had booking reference, passport etc with me. She was arrogant, rude, dismissive. She told me I must cancel online through the ticket agency I had used. I pointed out I had booked directly through the hotel's own website! She said that made no difference. Their website routed via an agency and it was through them I must cancel.

I regarded my walking into the hotel in person was meeting their criteria "cancellations should be made directly to the hotel". They did not!

I told her I did not have a pc with me. That was, apparently, my problem. Though she did haughtily say I could use the hotel computer "over there" ..... er, why could she not do it herself?! She had my name on the system for the night in question and reference number! How hard could it be for them to cancel?

She told me I would have to come back on Monday and see the manager to see if he would accept the cancellation in person. "you have plenty of time before the 48 hours" she said, haughtily. No possible thought that maybe I would not be in the vicinity of the hotel that day, or even if I was, that I would want to make a second trip there.

I left in despair. I texted a friend in UK. He could make no sense of how to use their website to cancel the booking, and he had my details and reference number. But I gave him the hotel's email address, he emailed them, and they emailed on Monday to say my cancellation was accepted. No hint of an apology from them.

Had they had availability, I would have stayed there for my 4 nights 19-22 Sept. Luckily they didn't. Maybe the hotel is fine if you stay, I don't know.

But i would advise in the strongest possible terms not to make any booking at a rate advertising "free cancellation". They will put you through hell should you need to use the cancellation option.

A year ago I stayed at the StarHotel Metropole across the road for 6 days and it was superb. They were full this year, so I could not stay there. But I walked in to say hello to one friendly receptionist I recalled fondly - and I got a huge welcome, he remembered me. Quite a contrast.

I will never go near the Hotel Diana Roof Garden in future. AVOID. You can not trust them not to make life hell for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charles r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My Mum and I stayed here in July. Found it be in a great location. Reception staff oredered a few taxis for us. Not sure if they were working together, but the taxi drivers always seemed to take us the long way round. Never happened when we found our own taxi. Staff were polite and courteous to us. Rooftop Garden restaurant was lovely and had a nice view of the city. Good eateries and easy to find your way around Rome. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The only thing that you can benefit from is the location since it is located next to the subway and train station. Other than that, do not even ask for service. The breakfast buffet is unacceptable. If you are looking for an employee at breakfast, just try to chase the loud voices that annoys you in the morning since those people scream in the morning when talking to each others. The only person who approaches you is a kind trainee. The rooms are so small to the point that you can barely move.
I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JJTraveller7785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I truly hope a manager is reading this because I would like to think they will take my feedback on board.

I am from Ireland and I stayed in the hotel 2 weeks ago and was very much looking forward to my first-time-visit to Rome, and the hotel looked very nice from the website.

In truth, the hotel itself isn't that bad. It is clean, comfortable with a nice breakfast and good location to Termini station, this providing easy access to the rest of the city.

However, the customer service and general staff behaviour was appalling. The check-in staff were curt and ignorant - slapping my room key onto the counter and not providing any details about breakfast or hotel amenities. For a 4-star hotel this was a surprise. My room wasn't registered until over 3 hours later, so I couldn't use the internet. I noticed later they were much more friendly with an elderly American couple, giving them discount vouchers for drinks at the bar and so on. I sincerely hope that it wasn't because I was perceived as a young English-speaking traveller, on my own and therefore without any money. Regardless, this is how it felt at the time.

However, upon going to the roof-top bar, it got even worse. The man behind the bar was discourteous, arrogant and obnoxious. He was very aggressive when speaking to me ("What do you want?"). In some ways, i was thankful that it wasn't just me this time - he was also astonishingly ignorant to a group of old people trying to order some drinks and enjoy themselves. This person also engaged with a heated discussion with the other staff, so all-in-all it was a very unpleasant experience. So much so, that myself and my colleagues, who were previously going to order some food there, decided that we wouldn't spend any more money than we had to in the hotel, and went elsewhere for the night.

There are many things to enjoy in Rome, but Diana Roof Garden is not one of them. If people ask about where I stayed, I will never recommend this hotel. In fact, I will actively discourage people from coming here. I often wonder why people, who obviously have little time or patience for other people, work in customer-facing roles such as this. It is clear that hotels like this are very fortunate to have Rome as their selling point.

In conclusion, I would like to advise the hotel this ... it costs nothing to be polite and friendly, but the lack of such things is priceless.

Room Tip: Very busy location in the morning, so try and get a room on higher floors. It won't get rid of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jesse K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Hotel Diana Roof Garden is a very nice 4 star hotel near the Termini so getting around Rome on the Metro was easy. The staff was helpful although not especially friendly. The roof top restaurant is wonderful. Breakfast, which is included, is served there if you want, and drinks and even dinner is available later in the evening. Great view. The drinks were a little expensive though. Our only other complaint was that our room could not pick up the free Wi-Fi service and our bathroom was extremely small. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MagistraMattingly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Augusta Lucilla Palace
Augusta Lucilla Palace
#181 of 1,285 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 1,434 reviews
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN Hotel Universo
Esquilino
Bettoja Massimo D'Azeglio Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Starhotels Metropole
Starhotels Metropole
#150 of 1,285 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 1,911 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
#321 of 1,285 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 916 reviews
Esquilino
Bettoja Hotel Mediterraneo
Bettoja Hotel Mediterraneo
#324 of 1,285 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diana Roof Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diana Roof Garden

Property: Hotel Diana Roof Garden
Address: Via Principe Amedeo 4, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#169 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diana Roof Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Hotel offering modern comforts and amenities, restaurant and bar; situated in the heart of Rome near the Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Diana Roof Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Diana Rome Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing