We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel, great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Diana Roof Garden
Ranked #339 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely hotel, great location.”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Diana at the beginning of July, the hotel is about a 5-10 minute walk from the train station which comes in handy if you want to venture out the city for the day. The hotel itself is basic but just what we wanted especially for the price, our room was on the 6th floor which I recommend as it came with a much needed balcony! Cleanliness was superb, the hotel staff were very friendly and a maid was there to clean our room each day whilst we were out, always topping up the mini fridge with free drinks and snacks which was a nice surprise every day after coming back from long walks around the city.
In terms of location, the hotel isn't as central as liked but it was fine if you don't mind walking. But anywhere you stay in Rome you'll need to walk to get anywhere just to soak everything in. The best places to eat and drink we found was just off Via Cavour which is very near to Hotel Diana, or anywhere within Trastevere which is just under an hours walk away but worth it for trendy bars and nice little restaurants. Overall a great stay for a great price.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms with a balcony, it's worth it and the sun comes down on it about half 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maddy_c_jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    743
    370
    114
    79
See reviews for
394
645
115
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cambridge
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have just returned from our holiday at Hotel Diana. After reading some of the reviews We were a bit concerned what would greet us. When we arrived the staff were so helpful and friendly. We were early arriving and they checked if our room was ready. It was not but we did not expect it to be. It was no problem as we were able to leave our luggage there. We had booked a triple room through Travel Republic this is included breakfast, free wifi and free mini bar which was replenished daily. The room was spacious and overlooked the main street,all the beds were full size singles. The roof garden was lovely to have breakfast and a great way to start the day. We all enjoyed the breakfast there was plenty to chose from We did eat at the hotel one night and it was fine but there are so many other nice restaurants to try. Yes there are people trying to sell you things but it is not just the hotel location this happens at. The road from the Vatican to St Peters Square was far worse. Our room was cleaned every day and was good to have the air conditioning as it was very hot. If we went back to Rome we would definitely stay there again. All the attractions were in walking distance, although we did take the Metro to the Vatican but we did walk back. If you intend to go to the Colosseum we would recommend you book your tickets in advance it was great to not have to queue, the Colosseum was at least a 3 hour queue to buy tickets on the day as was the Vatican. Thank you staff at the Hotel Diana for helping to make our holiday a great one. For eating out try the Il Tavolinetto just around the corner from the hotel, nice food we ate there most nights and the waiter was very friendly

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMJ27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dornach, Basel-Stadt, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Location was quiet central, it was possible to visit the attractions by foot. There is an excellent restaurant just down the road (delicious Italian food). Hotel staff was friendly but that's it. Breakfast was at the roof garden which was very pretty but the food itself was average. The room as well as the bathroom were very clean, but the installation (as well as the whole hotel) was rather old. It took a while until the elevator stopped at the selected floor. The roof garden itself was beautiful and the bar was great. For dinner you only could have a buffet, which was varied. All in all it was okay but I wouldnt go to this hotel a second time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed in Rome at this hotel for three nights from July 8th-11th. We weren't recommended this hotel but told to stay by the termini which it is exactly - literally a 5minute walk with our cases.
The reception staff were ok - not overally friendly (an English thing perhaps?) and i was disappointed initially that we were placed on the 1st floor as i wanted to be higher, however after learning there is only one, tiny, slow elevator we were quite relieved we could just use the staircase and not spend ages waiting like everyone else!
The roof garden is beautiful - but wouldn't stay for more than one drink! we ordered two small beers after a day out to unwind and was €10. this isn't a reflection of the hotel but of Rome overall - very pricey!
The room was small, but hey, when in Rome you only use it for sleeping! the bed was nice, air conditioning unit, clean bathroom, nice shower, and maid service daily.
Breakfast was ok - coffee machine and selection of meats/cheese/bread/toast/cereal/fruit/yoghurt. i didn't like the look of the fried food so i stuck with watermelon and yoghurt daily.

if you are planning on a trip to Rome i would 100% recommend the Omnia passes - i was reluctant at first but we paid 90euro for them online before we went and i couldn't imagine not having them! great to jump on and off buses, fast track entry in to attractions (the queue at the Colosseum alone looked like 4hrs in 30degree heat!)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank original_mustang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

When our expectations are exceeded by reality, I tend to give 5 stars. Such is the case with the Hotel Diana. This is not a 5 star hotel in the classic sense; however, for what we paid and what we expected, we were ecstatic. Great location, near Termini Station and an easy walk to many of Rome's sites. We booked three rooms for three couples, and everything went very smoothly - internet registration and processing from the US, check-in, availability of computer-printer (for boarding passes and a wee bit of work), and everything one might want in a mid-range hotel in a cosmopolitan city. Roof top breakfast was fun, scenic, and healthy. We also enjoyed drinks at night there. Room was smallish, but everything worked well and we slept well (maybe it was all the walking?). Lots of good restaurants nearby. Seemed to be a safe neighborhood. Easy access to taxis, metro, trains, and tour buses. Staff attentive and helpful. Aggravating per day charge for wi-fi - suck it up, hotels.... wi-fi is now as important as little shampoo and conditioner containers and should be built into the base price.

Room Tip: Street front rooms can be noisy, but air conditioner drowned out much of that. Higher floors seemed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Very nice breakfast at roof garden, wide range of food selection.
The towel is not so clean, c somebody's hair on the towel which are not belongs to me.
Very close to Termini station, quite area but still easy to find restuarants nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hyde Park, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Hotel is within many hotels, so tourists feel very safe. Everything with the accommodations and services were great. We had the Family Room, 1 double + 2 singles. Room was very clean, comfortable size, separate storage/closet area. Every morning we went up to the roof terrace for a breakfast buffet. Front desk tried their very best to speak English to us and were very helpful. The only complaint I had was that our room was not ready till after 1pm, when check-in was suppose to be 12noon. Most of the sites are at a walkable 15-20 minute distance. a few blocks away from the Metro - very centrally located. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: definitely choose a 4 star
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ngplusng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Best Western Plus Hotel Universo
Esquilino
Augusta Lucilla Palace
Augusta Lucilla Palace
#186 of 1,264 in Rome
1,701 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
#247 of 1,264 in Rome
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Bettoja Hotel Mediterraneo
Esquilino
Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio
Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio
#330 of 1,264 in Rome
920 reviews
Esquilino
Starhotels Metropole
Starhotels Metropole
#171 of 1,264 in Rome
2,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diana Roof Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diana Roof Garden

Property: Hotel Diana Roof Garden
Address: Via Principe Amedeo 4, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#181 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diana Roof Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Hotel offering modern comforts and amenities, restaurant and bar; situated in the heart of Rome near the Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Diana Roof Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Diana Rome Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing