We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home before the cruise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Diana Roof Garden
Ranked #336 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a great little hotel. The rooms are small but you're in Europe not North America. It included a very nice roof top restaurant where we had breakfast every morning. Great coffee!!, eggs, breads, meats, cheeses, etc. It was a great place to start the day. We used the hop on hop off buses to tour Rome and there was a stop a few blocks from the hotel. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Whittaker A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,669)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Diana Roof Garden
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

663 - 669 of 1,670 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2012

Very central, ideal for transport or for walking to the main Rome places of interest.
Service is both friendly and helpful.
Rooms are clean and comfortable.
Breakfast is excellent.
Tried the hotel dining room one evening, don't use it if you're looking for a proper evening meal but ok for a snack.
The rooftop restaurant is quaint with fantastic views over Rome.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank constrictor12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in November with a friend. Being situated relatively close to Termini, it is convenient for the train direct from the airport and also for the downtown office of Hotel Shuttle Express ( the other office is in the airport train station, one euro more than the train per person for door to door service). Yes, the area is a catchpool for tourists, so lots of hotels, not particularly special souvenir shops and relatively cheap places to eat, however, it felt reasonably safe - bearing in mind, it is a big city in Italy - and one doesn´t really have to go very far.

No issues at all with any of the staff at reception or otherwise.

At first we were a little frustrated by the lift, until we discovered that there are three lifts in the hotel. There is the lift you see when you come in the front door. And directly behind it there is another lift, which takes you to the landing on the stairwell between the floors (so fine for all those times when you aren´t lugging bags) and a lift further down the corridor which covers all the floors from 2 to the top - so if you are going from your room to the breakfast room, for example. Otherwise, a bit of patience might be required until it reaches you.

Our room looked over the street at the back. The room was so warm we slept with the window open both nights, my room mate was disturbed a little by the noise on the second night but nothing serious. The room was big enough, the beds were comfortable, we had two pillows each (plus there was a third bed in our room, if we had wished to steal more), there wered spare blankets in the wardrobe. The bathroom was small but functional. We are not quite sure why the bidet had more than its fair share of space and the bath tub was rather narrow, however, there was nothing especially wrong with it and there were plenty of towels.

Breakfast is upstairs, in one of two rooms. A decent spread (and the eggs were lovely!). I have to say, the coffee was appalling - and made worse by the fact that we were in a decent coffee country - and the orange juice was cordial.

Being November, the roof garden was closed, although we went to visit it to have a look and both agreed that it would be a very pleasant place for a pre-dinner drink. Yes, you do look over neighbouring rooftops with satellite dishes, but you can see St. Peter´s and it would be nice to have the option in good weather.

I imagine there are other, similar hotels in the area. However, I would recommend it as an option to others looking for somewhere convenient to stay for a weekend break in Rome.

Room Tip: Probably overlooking the back or the internal courtyard would be better for noise.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mad194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Diana last week, what a wonderful hotel this is. The staff are so friendly and cannot do enough, the hotel is clean and a great location, I would highly recommend this hotel. Well done to all the staff and thank you for your help, you were all most welcoming.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cruising50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Hotel Diana is close to the train station and reasonably located to the attractions.
The rooms were large and comfortable and very clean. We never had an issue with noise and our room faced the street. The breakfasts were delicious and there was lots to choose from.
Although a few of the front desk staff seemed a bit grumpy, they still assisted us, and Daniel provided exceptional service.
I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Hotel is clean and safety. Rooms are large and well decorated. Especially, bathrooms are so cute. Close to Termini Station, even you can reach to Trevi or Spagna by walking within 20 minutes. However ,,,,,,,,, Reception staff is not friendly and helpful. Yes, they aswer if you ask them something. But their attitude like that 'I have a lot of work enough, please do not waste my time.' Restaurant and house keeping staffs are gentle and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hunkydories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We checked into the hotel without a problem. The staff was nice and friendly. We were given room 316. The room was clean, but right on the street. Very noisy! Even though out the night until about 4am. The shower was horrible. There was a ledge over the tub which prevented me from standing upright to bath. The shower door was a folding door which let water go all over the floor.

Breakfast was served on the 7th floor and getting there was an experience. Even though you pushed the "up" arrow to go up. When the elevator arrived, you might go down or up then down before you reached the floor you had pushed on the panel.

The food for the breakfast was the worst we had in Italy. The eggs were questionable at best. There was a line for the self serve instant coffee/chocolate/espresso machine. Fruit was out of a can and the bread was stale.

Wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Chuck W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Best Western Plus Hotel Universo
Esquilino
Augusta Lucilla Palace
Augusta Lucilla Palace
#187 of 1,267 in Rome
1,712 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
#246 of 1,267 in Rome
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Starhotels Metropole
Starhotels Metropole
#167 of 1,267 in Rome
2,218 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio
Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio
#321 of 1,267 in Rome
938 reviews
Esquilino
Bettoja Hotel Mediterraneo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diana Roof Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diana Roof Garden

Address: Via Principe Amedeo 4, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#183 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $107 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diana Roof Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Hotel offering modern comforts and amenities, restaurant and bar; situated in the heart of Rome near the Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Diana Roof Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Diana Rome Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing