We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love the staff and owner of this place. Awesome”
Review of Hotel Ducale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ducale
Ranked #734 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I was having a hard time finding my hotel (hotel 1-2-3) and the receptionist there was really rude and wasn't helpful when I told him multiple times after looking I couldn't find "hotel 2". After about 10 minutes of walking in circles the owner of ducal seen me and tried to help me find my hotel too. He even brought me down and asked his receptionist. Unfortunately they didn't know where it was at either. However they were so friendly and nice I asked for a room there instead. I lost money on the other hotel but it was worth it because the staff and owner are so lovely. Place is clean. 24/7 entry. Free wifi and breakfast. Only downside is that it is a bit of a walk from the termini- further than I expected and with luggage it really sucks. I was too intimidated to take the bus on my first day but I hear the bus is just down the street and leaves you right there.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 171 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

Fungus in the bath! I don't like it at all. Strange damp patches on the ceiling. Are they blind?
The hotel is not good for that money because of this dirty bath and so on. It is not so close to Termini, so it's uncomfortable to go there with your luggage. It's about 15 minutes walk to the nearest metro station. Actually the only good opinion is about that girl in the reception. She was very polite, told us many useful things about public transport in Rome and places of interest.
Please, make this room clean and I'll come back, otherwise...

Room Tip: Don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pashaslon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We booked in advance and when we arrived late (1am) our room (hotel was fully booked!) was waiting for us nice and clean. Warm welcome, efficient, we got wifi and outdoor key-code immediately upon arrival without having to ask. We stayed 4 nights in the upper room. Room was clean, all basic needs, and comfortable. Small (empty) minibar was very handy. There was an air-co machine but we did not have to use it (windows were easy to open). Also an electric safe for passports etc. in the room. Bed was fine and bathroom was very clean and practical, with bathtub. Room was cleaned daily, new towels if used, and this was very pleasant after a full day walking trip. Supermarket around the corner. Easy access to Rome tourist sites by walking (c. 20-30 min to Colosseum), bus, metro, tram very near hotel. Hotel not far from termini station either (15 min by foot). Breakfast was good, plenty with several options; 3 types of bread, 2 types of cake, boiled eggs, salami, cheese, yogurt, cornflakes, fruit salad, hot milk, thee, coffee and more. Staff was friendly and very helpful, well-spoken English, and this was true for all 4 staff members we met. Payment with creditcard was helpful and done with a pin-machine. We have had no complaints at all. However, we can't compare this hotel with others in the same price range because we only stayed in Rome once. Nevertheless, we think it was a great deal. We sincerely recommend Hotel Ducale. Dusan & Lorena, April 2013.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dusan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I chose Hotel Ducale because I was only staying one night in Rome after spending my time in Tuscany. Hotel Ducale is very clean and convenient to Rome Termini and you can take the train from there to the airport for only 14 euros. It is about a 15 minute walk from Termini but if you have luggage, I suggest a cab. It only cost me 10 euros going and 8 going back to Termini.

The staff is VERY nice and helpful. They assisted me in where to go for dinner and a map of Rome. I was able to walk from the Hotel to the Colosseum, Trevi, Spanish Steps and back (about a 6 mile roundtrip walk but I wanted to do that)

The only bad thing is that there is no elevator which made heavily packed bags hard to get to the room (up on the 3rd floor.) It was also a bit noisy but that is nothing that the Hotel can do, it was more outside traffic and guests who had no consideration of their thumping up and down the stairs.

I would stay at Hotel Ducale again if I was on a quick trip to Rome.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great and friendly services, awesome communication with client, good localization (near to Termini Station, two metro stations nearby, direct tram to Coloseum), clean rooms and nice breakfast. Best choice for this price. Highly recomanded!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :)

Room Tip: "Rooms are small so it's better to take aditional bed for a child.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Turystka543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I was in this hotel and is very nice , clean,in center of Rome , near the metro ,and more restaurant in this area but "il tempio di minerva " very very good
Willy is the number one !!!!!!!
Super hotel highly raccomanded!!!!-))))))))))))))))))))))))))

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Дарья М
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

A really lovely hotel within walking distance of Termini station, the rooms were spotless and the breakfast very nice, the staff were fantastic so friendly and helpful would definitly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 705lilbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Donatello
Hotel Donatello
#284 of 1,269 in Rome
673 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Lussemburgo
Hotel Lussemburgo
#629 of 1,269 in Rome
173 reviews
Esquilino
Moscatello
Moscatello
#623 of 1,269 in Rome
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Conte House I
Conte House I
#738 of 1,269 in Rome
176 reviews
Hotel Versailles
#649 of 1,269 in Rome
179 reviews
Esquilino
Taormina Hotel
Taormina Hotel
#402 of 1,269 in Rome
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ducale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ducale

Address: Via Achille Grandi 4, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #734 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $51 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ducale 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Ducale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducale Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing