We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, nice, friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Londra And Cargill
Ranked #199 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quiet, nice, friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed here in September which is still busy season. I got a great rate and it includes a superb breakfast, and free wi-fi. Location wise, it's about a 15-20 minute walk (southward) to the Spanish Steps or the Trevi Fountain. It's in a quiet neighborhood which was nice. The closest Metro station is Barberini. It's also close to the US Embassy.
The room was nicely furnished with a big bathroom. The bed was softer on one side so I slept on the other. The carpet in my room was clean but worn and should be replaced soon. Towels and sheets were excellent. Chairs were comfortable; desk was small but functional; nice size closet, safe, and a mini fridge round out the furnishing. One word of warning. I stayed in a room on Floor 1 (remember, in Europe ground floor is Floor 0) while my colleague stayed in the room 2 floors above mine. To our surprise, my colleague's room was smaller and the layout was different. We both paid the same exact price so there is variability.
My room came with a special key to activate the electricity. It seems strange but it works just fine. Also, you're supposed to leave the key at the desk when you leave the premise. It's a safety feature so someone doesn't pickpocket your keys when you're doing the tourist thing and slip into your room while you're out. I like it. All the staff I spoke to spoke English well.
Overall, I highly recommend the Hotel Londra & Cargill.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    391
    92
    20
    11
See reviews for
160
390
22
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Hotel Londra is about a 15 min walk (20 if you walk slow) to get to some main attractions, but worth it. Like other reviews, it is far from the noise of the city but not too far from the action. Food in the area is average priced... $50-$60 for a couples dinner. Hotel was nice and clean. Rooms were pretty decently sized. Breakfast buffet was cool, italian style, not American. Bread, ham, cheese, pastries, yogurt and delicious juices!
There is no pool or fitness center so I cant rate those categories!
It is a 4 star hotel... but this on European standards, not American, so dont expect the same thngs!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tptran07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here for 3 days in September. Our room was spacious and clean with a pleasant view. The buffet breakfast was plentiful and varied, although some fresh fruit would have been welcome. All staff, from reception through to dining room staff and doormen were sociable, helpful and polite. Lots of reasonably priced non-touristy restaurants nearby. Fantastic value all round. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1emmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elstree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed here for New Years Eve. Was a very nice quiet hotel. Bit of walk to various places and in a very residential area. But close to some very nice traditional restaurants..

Reception staff were very nice and always friendly and helpful with free maps to point you in the right direction. Bar staff were vary often hard to find and had to go looking for them. Very nice area to lounge next to the lobby.

Room was very clean and modern with a comfy bed. Bathroom was fantastic. Modern TV and good size fridge.

The breakfast included was a bit of a let down. Was not expecting a full english but fresh rolls and replenishment of drinks and buffet items needs to be a lot better as bread rolls had been there all week and had to ask waitress 3 times for a tea only for her to serve everyone but us.

One tip would be if going for New Years Eve in Rome is to book a table well ahead of time. Struggled to find a good restaurant which wasn't a fortune.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0af
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Johns, FL
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay here in Rome. The room was clean and exactly what we needed. The bed was a queen and not just two twins pushed together so one of you don't wake up in the crack of the beds. We aren't sure how we got it because we booked online, but our room had a wonderful balcony (ask for room 210 if possible). The free Wifi was a wonderful perk and the front desk staff was very helpful. We had great restraurant recommendations within just 2-3 blocks walking, we highly recommend the restraurant 44. The breakfast was very tastey, pastries, cereals, yogurts, juices, and individually served coffees. Great spot in Rome, walkable to the Spanish steps and termini station.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJPress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We arrived on 27 August 2012 and were greeted by very friendly staff who had arranged our transfer from Fiumicino Airport which all went smoothly. Had requested an early check-in which we received to allow us to make the most of our first day in Rome. We were recommended to dine at "Pinto Gusto" that evening which we just around the corner from Londra and Cargill. What a wonderful evening we had. The Chef even came out to sing happy birthday to my Partner who was celebrating a 'special' birthday, which ended up in a music session, with all of us singing ably assisted by the Chef who was preparing to take part in "Italy's Got Talent". The food was excellent along with all the hospitality!!!

Would just like to say thank you to "Pavio" in the bar who served lovely chilled Prosecco and knew how to make a perfect "gin and tonic"!!!!

Overall we had a wonderful stay in Rome and would definitely stay in the hotel again. The hotel was in a great location, a quiet and chic area, near Villa Borghese. The room met expectations and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and "Pinto Gusto"!!

Room Tip: We did have a Superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Villa Pinciana
Hotel Villa Pinciana
#127 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Mascagni
Hotel Mascagni
#150 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Gambrinus Hotel
#297 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Leon's Place Hotel
Leon's Place Hotel
#107 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Tribune Hotel
The Tribune Hotel
#130 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#204 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Londra And Cargill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Londra And Cargill

Property: Hotel Londra And Cargill
Address: Piazza Sallustio 18, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#97 Family Hotel in Rome
#114 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#142 Business Hotel in Rome
#179 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Londra And Cargill 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet residential area of Rome's centre, Hotel Londra & Cargill is a 10-minute walk from the famous Via Veneto. It offers free Wi-Fi throughout. Set in a 19th-century building, each elegant room at Londra & Cargill has wooden furniture and light colour schemes. All rooms are air conditioned and feature a TV and a minibar. A free bottle of mineral water is provided on arrival. An extensive breakfast buffet is served daily from 7:00 until 10:30. Guests can enjoy drinks and local liqueurs at the Lobby Bar, and you will receive free water on arrival. The hotel also features meeting rooms, a business centre and a free internet point, set in the elegant hall. Londra & Cargill Hotel is 15 minutes on foot from Villa Borghese gardens and Piazza di Spagna while Repubblica Metro Station is a 10-minute walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Londra And Cargill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Londra And Cargill Rome
Londra And Cargill Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing