We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fantastic hotel in a stunning city.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Londra And Cargill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Londra And Cargill
Ranked #187 of 1,285 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel in a stunning city.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

My review is very late, my mum, sister and I stayed here for a week last August, but now that I'm thinking of returning to Rome I just had to review this place. I thoroughly checked the reviews on here before booking our room and was a little mislead by people saying that Termini was just a 10minute walk away and therefore very convenient. We found that Termini is probably 20mins away in the glaring August heat and definitely not the nicest part of Rome to be in at night trying to get back to your hotel. The nearest bus stop is just two minutes away on Via Piave but we found buses do not return to that road from Termini, only go in that direction so in the evenings had to go a little further. Taxis can be pretty expensive so we stuck to the buses and found the easiest thing to do was walk from the hotel to Via Veneto, which takes about 10minutes and from there you can get buses to most of the attractions. The beautiful Villa Borghese is also just a few minutes further past Via Veneto. Like I said, getting back to the hotel at night was unpleasant as no buses go directly to this area so we first needed a bus to Termini and then another from there, I'm sure there is an easier way but that's how we did it. Because of this I did not think I would return here when visiting Rome but the location can be overlooked because of the fantasticly huge rooms!
Our room was on the 6th floor and as there were 3 of us we expected a double bed and a seperate single, however, the double was so HUGE that all 3 of us slept in it with room to spare. The bathroom was very clean, well equipped and the shower was exactly what you needed it to be after treking around Rome for the day. The room had lots of space to move around in, with a table and chairs, although like other people have said, tea making facilities would have been greatly appreciated. The breakfasts are ideal if you do not mind missing out on hot food, which I didn't for the first few days but after a while the pastries and cakes can become sickly. You can order eggs etc at an extra price, but not sure its very fair to charge approx €6 for it!
The air conditioning unit in our room began leaking after the first couple of days so we had to be moved which we were really annoyed at...until we found we were being upgraded to a suite to make up for the inconvenience! Again, the room was huge, with a seperate living room and dinning area and we had the beauiful terrace/balcony that you can see on their website. The staff were very helpful, especially the gentleman who helped us move rooms, although there was another older gentleman at reception who seemed out of sorts.
The hotel is great value for money, especially compared to the rest of Rome and no doubt if it was situated furter in the centre we would not be able to afford it.
When we first arrived at the airport we took the shuttle bus to Termini but on the way back we chose the hotel's car service which was €45 I think.
Unbelieveable comfy stay, hope to return here in June. Would recommend to those who prefer the quite and like generous rooms.
We opted not to go for guided tours as they were stupidly expensive (€50 pp for a 2 hour tour of the trevi fountain and spanish steps?!) so its best to get a good guide book and research bus routes upon arrival.
Thank you Londra and Cargill, cannot wait to see you and Rome again soon!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mmmeenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    364
    85
    18
    11
See reviews for
146
374
19
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Stayed here with my husband for the weekend. The hotel was rather quiet when we arrived. There is a small bar and breakfast room area not far from the reception area. The bedroom was a good size and very clean. The staff were very friendly. Breakfast was a nice continental breakfast with the usual pastries, yoghurts, cold meats & cheese, breads and cereals. Its only a short from the metro which makes everything accessible, the Trevi fountain and Pantheon are only a 10-15 minute walk away from the hotel if even that. the hotel provide you with a great map that really helped us to finding our barrings. I really couldn't fault the hotel, my only complaint would be that Rome practically shut down due to the snow that weekend with many places closing, however the yummy Italian food, wine and scenery more than made up for this.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinklily10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

The hotel suited us perfectly. Clean room and bathroom, on the small side but with nice views onto buildings and a palm tree also quiet. It is not too far from the sights but taxis were necessary and are quite expensive. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was only lacking in fresh fruit which would be a good addition to the buffet. I imagine that it would not be so good at the height of the tourist season as the breakfast room is on the small side and the bedrooms might be a bit noisy. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: 214 was quiet and had nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vict4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

In our opinion this is not a 4 star hotel may be 3 stars at a push!! On a positive note, we should mention that our room was kept clean and the bed was very comfortable. Only cold fare was on offer for breakfast, which is fine if you like cheese and ham with rolls or cakes, we appreciate that the europeans don't do the 'British breakfast' but from our experience there is usually some form of hot food on offer!!! We found the location of the hotel ok but, we don't mind walking, therefore we would not recommend for anyone do is disabled or cannot walk very far!!! I'm sure we will go back to Rome again as it is a lovely city however, we would not return here again but would ensure that found a real 4 star hotel!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Londra And Cargill, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear client,

we appreciate the time you spent in writing your comments about your stay as we take into consideration every single comments to improve our service level.
We have a wide range of sweety and salt food served for Breakfast and we are at our clients' disposal in case they would like to have hot dishes upon request with a supplement.
We are always happy to suggest how to reach an interesting point in Rome using any public transports, walking or by taxi and our location has always been one of our strenght.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

This was a very good hotel. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was well equipped, large and was cleaned to a high standard each day, and all other areas were well maintained. Breakfast was varied and plentiful, but staff bringing tea and coffee were slow and inattentive.
Hotel was about 20 minutes walk from the train/bus station (Termini), and about 45 minutes walk from Rome City centre.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichC001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Looking for a good hotel in Rome for a good price is as difficult as trying to find a needle in the hay. However, Hotel Londra and Cargill is the one.
Elegant, spacious and clean with big rooms, it is a truly 4-star hotel for an excellent price.
The breakfast room is a bit small and you got to watch out for your table, but breakfast is rich.

You do have to walk a bit but walking in Rome is part of your stay. It takes about 20 minutes leisure walk to the Spanish Stairs.

The only thing to keep on your mind - eating facilities are limited in the vicinity of the hotel so have your nice lunch or dinner in other parts of Rome.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbora_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We were delighted with our room upon arrival. Clean and spacious with delightful towels. The staff was super nice, friendly, and helpful. Breakfast was typical European fare: bread prosciutto and cereal. We were disappointed with the heat of the room and furthermore when we were told under no circumstances would they turn on the air conditioning or provide a fan. There is no restaurant but there are numerous options close by. Restaurants will be closed from 3 to 7 in Rome every day. We would stay here again but we would bring our own fan and snacks. Also the hotel is not "a few steps" from anything as the website describes however all of Rome is a very short and inexpensive cab ride away; average of 5 euros.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cox1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Villa Pinciana
Hotel Villa Pinciana
#183 of 1,285 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Leon's Place Hotel
#108 of 1,285 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 501 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Empire Palace Hotel
Empire Palace Hotel
#234 of 1,285 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Mascagni
Hotel Mascagni
#148 of 1,285 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 836 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Roma Boutique Hotel
Roma Boutique Hotel
#100 of 1,285 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 590 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#194 of 1,285 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Londra And Cargill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Londra And Cargill

Property: Hotel Londra And Cargill
Address: Piazza Sallustio 18, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#98 Family Hotel in Rome
#104 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#143 Business Hotel in Rome
#181 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Londra And Cargill 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet residential area of Rome's centre, Hotel Londra & Cargill is a 10-minute walk from the famous Via Veneto. It offers free Wi-Fi throughout. Set in a 19th-century building, each elegant room at Londra & Cargill has wooden furniture and light colour schemes. All rooms are air conditioned and feature a TV and a minibar. A free bottle of mineral water is provided on arrival. An extensive breakfast buffet is served daily from 7:00 until 10:30. Guests can enjoy drinks and local liqueurs at the Lobby Bar, and you will receive free water on arrival. The hotel also features meeting rooms, a business centre and a free internet point, set in the elegant hall. Londra & Cargill Hotel is 15 minutes on foot from Villa Borghese gardens and Piazza di Spagna while Repubblica Metro Station is a 10-minute walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Londra And Cargill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Londra And Cargill Rome
Londra And Cargill Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing