We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel in Rome”
Review of Hotel De Russie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel De Russie
Ranked #48 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“best hotel in Rome”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Wonderfully wide hallways for any hotel in Europe, the Hotel de Russie has a dining courtyard with large potted lemon trees and an upper outdoor restaurant for breakfast.

Spa is large and diverse. Gardens are almost tropical.

Room Tip: get a room facing the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarrenCampo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    924
    221
    92
    51
    31
See reviews for
274
570
50
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Great location right on Piazza del Popolo a few blocks away from Spanish Steps. We stayed at Hotel de Russie for our honeymoon in September 2012 (TripAdvisor doesn't let me select that date).

Hotel de Russie's piece de resistance is its most beautiful interior garden for dining and lounging. We had several meals outside in the garden (which we shared with an army of Roman cats who live there).

Another highlight of the hotel was its spa. The massage I had at de Russie was incredible and the facilities were really luxurious.

After switching several rooms, we settled on the third floor with a view of the garden. I prefer having outdoor space, so we had a little terrace. The room was lovely with very large built-in closet which was great.

The food was not memorable but it was definitely offset by the ambiance of the garden.

One night, we heard very loud music coming from the penthouse suite, so I complained. The front-desk couldn't do anything about the party though but they graciously invited us to attend it, which we did. It was a perfect summer night in Rome, great music and a great crowd. Overall, I recommend Hotel de Russie to those looking for a chic and effortless stay in Rome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CamillaPapale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful 2 day stay while in Rome for business. Beautiful hotel with lovely spa pool and fitness center. Front desk and concierge were exceptional and go out of their way to please. Concierge picked 2 perfect non tourist restaurants for me based on what I was looking for and gave me a great two hour walk to see sights. Exceptional service; felt like a boutique hotel. Will stay again on next trip!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank MarnieJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The Wellness Zone offers excellent spa service with spacious treatment rooms and a knowledgeable staff. Booking through email is easy and their follow up is prompt and courteous. The massage is exactly what you need to help recover from jet lag, however their indoor pool and facilities seem a bit cramped.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcakwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The terrace and gardens are amazing for a city-centre hotel. The staff are, if anything, over-solicitous! Great Spa. Comfortable rooms and exceptional service.We were given a late check-out with no fuss.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Just returned from a Roman Holiday with my husband and two teenage kids..Hotel De Russie has an amazing Reception and Concierge staff that made our stay all the more memorable. Concierge went out off their way to make sure we were directed to the right places to suit our needs.
Rooms were spacious and comfortable. My rating for sleep quality would have been a 5 if not for the very firm beds which we were not used to and which seems to be the standard for all beds in most of Italy. LOCATION was great . We were ALWAYS ALWAYS greeted with warmth and enthusiasm upon leaving and entering the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-DeRussie, Manager at Hotel De Russie, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to personally thank you for your kind and helpful review. I am very glad that you found that our staff was always professional and welcoming. I am especially happy that the Reception and Concierge in particular exceeded your expectations and were central to ensuring a memorable stay in the heart of the Eternal City. Thank you for bringing to our attention the fact that you found the mattresses too firm. We will keep note of this and make sure to provide you with a softer mattress during your next stay with us. We make every effort to ensure that each guest’s stay is as enjoyable as possible, and we are always happy to personalize the bedding options – offering softer mattresses upon request- in order to guarantee the utmost comfort. Thank you once again for staying at the Hotel de Russie and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Martin Elsner
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed there for a get-a-way from the kids :-) And we surely got a way in the most luxurious manner. Its an a amazing hotel, beautiful, elegant and the best service ever. Great waiters, nice room, and the breakfast was the bomb!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,256 in Rome
400 reviews
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#87 of 1,256 in Rome
1,944 reviews
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#32 of 1,256 in Rome
1,024 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#103 of 1,256 in Rome
1,082 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#112 of 1,256 in Rome
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Russie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Russie

Property: Hotel De Russie
Address: Via Del Babuino 9, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Rome
#13 Business Hotel in Rome
#16 Family Hotel in Rome
#30 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#40 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel De Russie 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel De Russie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Russie Hotel
De Russie Rome
Russie Rome
Russie Hotel Rome
Hotel De Russie Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing