We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”
Review of Hotel De Russie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel De Russie
Ranked #50 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great location and excellent service! Rooms are great, concierge efficient and the restaurant at the internal garden very nice. We had lunch (buffet) at the hotel restaurant and it was OK. We used a driver recommended by the hotel for a 3 hours tour and it was very interesting.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SilvioStein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

625 - 631 of 1,403 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was the last leg of a 3 city trip (Venice, Florence, Rome) and so we had high expectations. Sadly, the Russie did not deliver the best experience of our journey. There were many nice features but they definitely need to work on some of the problems.

On the good side - large, clean, comfortable rooms. They are beautiful and updated. We slept well. The breakfast was okay and fairly quick and served in the lovely garden. And while we didn't visit the bar during the evening it certainly looked nice and the bartenders put on a bit of a show with their service. The best part of all is the fabulous location.

On the negative side - WHY CHARGE FOR INTERNET at a 5 star hotel? We all have smartphones and tablets and we want to use our social media and to check our work email. Nothing starts a visit to a hotel on a bad note more than knowing that you are getting charged for everything. Also, I hate sharing a sink and both of our rooms had a single sink in each bathroom. I also hate the tiny shower curtains - the floor will get wet. A complimentary bottle of water in each room upon arrival would be nice. (One is provided at bedtime.)

But the worst was the concierge. We noticed that we had a free morning and decided to visit the Villa Borghese. We were told that it would be no problem and to see the desk that Sunday morning. We were told there was a complicated procedure and that our reservations would be under two different names, none of them ours, and were given two slips of paper with the details that included a confirmation number. We took a cab to be there on time and noticed the sign that said the museum was sold out in advance until Tuesday. When we went to the desk as instructed we were told the confirmations we had were for the previous day. That's right, they were were for Saturday and here we were on a Sunday. There was nothing we could do but leave disappointed, out the cost of the cab and with our morning ruined. When we returned it was explained that they gave us the wrong information (OBVIOUSLY!) and they offered to help us with another day. We had no available time. This entire experience was embarrassing and trust me when I say I don't expect to be embarrassed - ever - at a 5 Star hotel.

So Russie - you can do better! I challenge you to at the least make sure the concierge doesn't make such mistakes for other guests and to work on the internet charges. I know you can do it - but the question is will you try?

Room Tip: Rooms facing the court yard have the most charming view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TheScarlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We spent one night at the hotel after our cruise which ended in Rome. The ship was 6 star with excellent service (albeit geared up for the American market). However the service at the hotel left the ship standing. It was effortless, understated quality where nothing was too much trouble. The ship should send their staff to the hotel for training and learn how to really give good service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2jaygee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed in the Russie hotel for 3 nights for our first wedding anniversary. We were welcomed by champagne with strawberries. The room was spacious with the view for the bar, restaurant and garden. Housekeeping service was excellent, room was serviced twice a day. Breakfast was good but a buffet was a little bit too tiny. Quality of the food was very good and restaurant staff was very friendly and helpful.The location of the hotel was excellent very close to the major turist attractions such as Spanish steps and Trevi Fountain. I will recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arkadiusz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Hotel De Russie, is a beautiful hotel with the most fantastic privat hotel garden and bar in Rome. The rooms are very different but all very nice decorated. The outdoor bar is one of the best places to relaxe and being entertained. The hotel restaurant is in summertime set in the garden. The food and the service is excellent.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Jeanett E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed here one night on the 6th floor. We were with a group of people and the room sizes all varied - from the largest having a balcony bigger than the room itself to the smallest being cozy yet spacious enough to feel relaxed and comfortable! The staff was overly friendly in helpful. There is a nice size lobby and a courtyard with a bar where guests were happily enjoying themselves.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trina214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed with my two oldest daughters who accompanied me on a business trip through Europe. We started our journey in Rome and could not have started off on a better foot thanks to the Hotel de Russie.

Stayed in the Vaselli suite which was perfect since it had a connection to a classic double room so the girls could have there own space and come and go as they pleased without disturbing the old man.

The suite was impeccably decorated with plenty of room and some seriously exquisite amenities from the complimentary unpacking and packing service to the pressing of garments on the evening of arrival to the complimentary Internet access and in-house movies. Just makes your stay at this hotel feel like you have made the right choice.

The hotels relaxation zone is nice if a bit on the small side but still well equipped for any traveler workout areas sauna, steam and whirlpools are are great if you are on your feet sightseeing all day and a great way to either start or end your day. Did not have the opportunity to take advantage of any treatments myself but my daughters both did and well lets just say the loved their spa time. Additionally if you are a runner like me the Borghese gardens adjacent to the hotel offer a great running option a run through the park at sunrise is a magnificent site and a wonderful way to start the day as well as way to feel as if the park is yours and yours alone so serene.

The breakfast was great with many options to choose from and offerings to suit all tastes and wants from the health conscious to the bigger eater cannot recommend it enough very nice way to fill the tank before a long day of sightseeing shopping or work.

Overall cant recommend the hotel enough gracious staff from the front desk to the concierge to the bellboys to housekeeping all went out of there way to make our stay a memorable and enjoyable one.

So all I can say is when in Rome

Room Tip: Suites are marvelous especially with the wonderful terrace views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SEBESZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#28 of 1,270 in Rome
1,102 reviews
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#4 of 1,270 in Rome
458 reviews
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#87 of 1,270 in Rome
2,010 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Russie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Russie

Address: Via Del Babuino 9, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Rome
#13 Business Hotel in Rome
#13 Family Hotel in Rome
#32 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#40 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $542 - $1,232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel De Russie 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel De Russie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Russie Hotel
De Russie Rome
Russie Rome
Russie Hotel Rome
Hotel De Russie Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing