We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Location!”
Review of Hotel De Russie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel De Russie
Ranked #53 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I loved the Hotel de Russie. I am rather surprised this property is not higher rated on TA. I usually follow the guidance on this site religiously and pay attention to luxury rankings, but I'm glad I did not for this hotel.

The Hotel de Russie has a fantastic location where you can walk to the Spanish Steps, restaurants, the Trevi Fountain, and shops. My family and I just loved the freedom we had in roaming the city at our own free will.

The service is also wonderful and the concierge staff are top notch! They are really friendly and helpful.

The rooms are nice and comfortable with nice amenities. I do wish the suites were bigger as we have 3 kids. They are definitely smaller than even most European hotels. However, this did not spoil our experience as the bathrooms are a good size and there is ample closet and drawer space.

The outdoor breakfast and drinks in the courtyard can't be missed.

The Hotel de Russie is lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donyale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,369)
There are newer reviews for Hotel De Russie
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

659 - 665 of 1,370 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

Had a great stay at the De Russie and it would be hard to imagine wanting to stay anywhere else in Rome. It was really perfect for us. The location is ideal. I loved the large room with (side) view of the piazza and huge, and well appointed bathroom (great Rocco Forte products too). The concierge was outstanding. Great recommendations. And also went above and beyond when we were asking about suggestions for a day trip to Florence (easy train ride), he made arrangements for us to go to their sister hotel, The Savoy, where the concierge there allowed us to freshen up, and made wonderful reservations for us (we had stayed at The Savoy on a prior trip).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TooMuchIsNeverEnough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel is probably the best in Rome. Location is perfect, on del popolo, walking distance from the Spanish steps and spot on a top shopping street.
The hotel in itself is superb, the garden terrace is beautiful especially on sunny days for breakfast and drinks. The hotel restaurant is very good too.
The rooms are a decent size, nicely decorated in a classic style but are getting a bit "used". There are some dents and cracks here and there.
Hotel spa is very good with excellent therapists, but beware some treatment rooms can get very noisy because of kitchen above or street noises.
The entire hotel staff is very kind, helpful and courteous.
I am already planning my next trip there very soon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dflawless1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

excellent hotel, of course over priced like any hotel in italy but over all a great hotel.
the food, the bar, the service, the concierge and the spa are just amazing.
best to have a room inside the garden high floor, in the morning the sun hit the pincio hill and you really feel like a roman emperor.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank astondb9London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Hotel de Russie has a lot going for it. The hotel is in a very fashionable area with lots of classy cafes and shops. If you like to walk, there are lots of sights within a half hour on foot. The rooms aren't large, but they are well appointed. The decorations in the public spaces were also lovely, as was the garden. The maid service is excellent. They do a good job of tidying up your things, and the turn-down service is nice to have. The toiletries are high quality and they replenish them throughout the day. The concierge staff is also great, with helpful suggestions. My friend was having a rough day, one of the concierges sat down to have a heart-to-heart with her for 15 minutes and really cheered her up.

I do have a few complaints. The restaurant in the garden is really disorganized. The different hosts didn't seem to communicate, and we frequently resorted to flagging down waiters that weren't ours when we wanted more coffee or water or to order dessert. They were always friendly, but it could have been a lot smoother. The food was generally good, if overpriced. My other complaint is that they charge a lot for internet service (20 Euros a day). It seems a little tacky at a nice hotel to charge for internet. Also, you're likely to have a view of a wall from your room.

Even with my few complaints, I would still recommend the hotel. The location is good and the rooms are comfy when you come back from touring. And big props to the desk staff and the maid staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StudentInBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel is on a perfect location and within walking distance of the Spanish Steps. Stay here and let yourself be pampered. The service is good, the rooms very nice and the restaurant is excellent. The concierge can take care of your wishes when it comes to making reservations in the best restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delauny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Fantastic position in the centre of Rome, few minutes from Spanish Steps and right in the Designer shops, fabulous gardens, cosy bar, rooms are spacious with everything you need, bed is amazing and very comfortable.
Concierge team is very good so is the reception.
All this has a price, and yes it is not cheap but it is worth it!
if you have not breakfast included, it is a very good cafe/brasserie next to the hotel.
Look for the best deal as you have some operator who are including the 10% tax and also breakfast.
I had a bad experience with Hotel.com and fortunately the hotel management was very good and refund me the tax who suppose to be included, but I would never use again this operator.
That was my only bed experience with the hotel.
Would definitely be back here.

Room Tip: Take one not facing the street as it can be noisy, go for the garden side.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JerseyLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,267 in Rome
433 reviews
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#91 of 1,267 in Rome
1,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#37 of 1,267 in Rome
1,063 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#111 of 1,267 in Rome
867 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#105 of 1,267 in Rome
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Russie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Russie

Address: Via Del Babuino 9, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Rome
#13 Business Hotel in Rome
#16 Family Hotel in Rome
#34 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#40 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $587 - $4,080 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel De Russie 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel De Russie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Russie Hotel
De Russie Rome
Russie Rome
Russie Hotel Rome
Hotel De Russie Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing