We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi
Ranked #581 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

My wife and 2 children stayed for 3 nights in a family room, (March 25 -27). Although a little small it was very comfortable and we slept well. With the hotel being in a very old building it help us feel we were really in Rome, especially as our room opened up onto the church.There is a lovely central courtyard that had the weather been a little better I am sure would have been pleasant to sit in. Its location, right next to the stops for the 'Hop n Ride' buses meant we could walk out of the door and get onto a bus and get to see many of the best buildings and sites. The staff were very friendly and helpful, they gave good advice on how to get to various different sites and made sure we went at the right times. Unlike some of the comments I see, we found breakfast very nice with lots of selections, only critism was the tea and coffee was not too hot however that would not stop us from recomending this hotel. Good Hotel, fantastic City.

Room Tip: Nice to have a room looking out onto the Church
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    134
    109
    38
    28
See reviews for
133
150
17
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Just returned from our 6th visit to Beautiful Rome and stayed for 5 days at Palazzo Rospigliosi and we do not regret it at all . We do not have words enough to say a BIG THANK YOU and well done to all the friendly staff working at Palace. We were always greeted with a smile as we returned from our visits and even reception personnel stood up as if a King & Queen entered this charming place. Centrally situated, and at the same time quite from the inside and felt you were away from it all . Room was well sized, well lit , very comfortable and a nice bathroom too ! Spotlessly clean ~ Breakfast was more than enough for us ~ There was a big variety of items ~ enough to suit everyone's appetite . The girl taking care in the breakfast room was superb ~ she prepared everything practically alone and always was there to help & serve hotel guests. Hotel in general was well looked after and all public areas were clean. The atmosphere in general was great ~ We will certainly return and we would like to take this opportunity to thank all the staff that made our stay an unforgettable one, and to the management keep up the good work & effort. We definitely recommend this place to all visitors spending some time in Rome ! We will return .......A Prestissimo.....Rit & Ronald De Giorgio from Malta

Room Tip: We were given a Room on the fourth floor which was superb and there is a lift that runs to all floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ronald986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Well appointed european type hotel, very good location.

Very good customer/concierge service for suggestions and reservations to nearby restaurants, landmarks and services. We stayed with our two teenage daughters, and they loved its ambiance.

Would gladly stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdRegis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelvalle, Direttore generale at Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Client,
We thank you for your nice words and for your stay to our hotel too.
We are very happy that you and your family had a nice stay and enjoyed the hotel services. We are careful choosing our Staff. All the front office’ staff are from Rome and they really love to suggest sights and restaurant where local people go to let clients try the “real flavor” of Rome.
We wish to welcome you again to our hotel next time you decide to visit Rome.
You will discover little changes we regular do to improve the atmosphere an hotel services.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Lovely hotel, perfect location (across the street from Sta. Maria Maggiore). Typical Italian hotel breakfast (i.e. lame, but adequate), but very large room (particularly for Rome). Queen bed plus separate bed and still room to move around.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We too got the "Sorry, we can't give you a room" treatment and got sent to the Hotel Valle round the corner, which is their 3 star business. We were told that the Palazzo had had a flood so couldn't accommodate us. We had a room each, far apart, so highly unlikely they had both been flooded at the same time while other people were affected. Suspect they are double booking and then make use of the Valle. We were told that we couldn't get a refund or discount because we'd booked with ba.com.
When we did return to the Antico my room certainly wasn't very palazzo. The room was so cramped that the only way to use the desk was to sit on the edge of the bed -there was no room to use the chair. One socket near the bed didn't work, so when I wanted to use my phone charger, I had to shunt the heavy desk around to plug the phone into the socket behind it. The TV didn't work. The bin in the bathroom had the last person's rubbish still in it. There was no minibar. No safe either. The breakfast room was also cramped and the breakfast dull. Bed, though, was comfortable in both the Antico and the Valle. And the bells of Santa Maria Maggiore which ring every quarter hour don't ring at night, thank goodness!
I go to Rome at least once a year and won't be staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

The location is excellent, walking distance to all areas. Hotel chosen because of location and web site advertises a restaurant and cocktail bar. However, it is a glorified Bed and Breakfast. There are no facilities in the bedrooms to make drinks, the mini bar consisted of one bottle of water between 2 despite having a card listing all the items that should be included. The room included an advert for athe bar. The restaurant and bar do not exist. other than at breakfast, which was poor to say the least, cold tea and coffee, tepid 'hot' food, it was not possible to get a drink or anything to eat in the hotel. The shower leaked over the bathroom floor and there was nowhere to hang the towels. The hotel has a lot of potential but has not achieved it. When asked for extra water, it appeared 24 hours later.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel, unless you only want a B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelvalle, Direttore generale at Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Estimable client,
First of all we would like to thank you for your stay to our property.
Our hotel, as you noted, offers high standard and personalized services.
The minibar service in the room is “on request” When you first arrived to your room you found the minibar provided by 2 bottles of sparkling and natural water that we consider “free of charge” to all of our clients. As you probably know, all the other hotels charge Euros 2,00/3,00 per bottle taken from the minibar. All the items listed in the minibar’ price list are available “on request”. Clients whom wish to have the minibar service have just to inform the reception staff. They will immediately inform the waiter to have the minibar supplied by the products the client wish to find in it.
By the first floor of the hotel you can access to the open air Cloister from the 15th Century with tables, chairs and umbrellas where we offer the non-stop Bar service. The Restaurant service is available by the same place to serve food at lunch time or dinner time, 7 days at week.
We really regret that during your last stay you never ask for any explanation to our reception staff, they always appreciate to give to you exhaustive responses to your question 24 hours at day.
Best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

just come back from a 2 night stay in rome which was fantastic the only down side was waking up in the morning to a bad breakfast, my partner had cold and runny scrambled egg with hotdog sausages which where also cold and cold baked beans and if this wasn't bad enough the only other option was bread(not toasted, just bread) this i thought was stuipid and not only that but the room that the 'breakfast room ' was held ina small basment room.
however dont let this put you off this hotel, the mold and grime that was in our room should though, i couldnt belive that they would put you in a room where they know where mold is, saying that we never stayed in the hotel for more that 10mins in the day and just slept in there too.
there are better hotels in this area of rome that have higher standards, dont use this hotel because it is not value for money and deffinatly not a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelvalle, Direttore generale at Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear valuable Client,
We really want to thank you for your stay to our property.
With pleasure we read that you 2 days stay’ in Rome has been wonderful.
As you directly saw, our breakfast room is composed by 3 connecting rooms where at least, all of the 80 clients of the hotel can have breakfast for their convenience at the same time.
The breakfast room is located at the ground floor, at the same reception’ level and NOT on the basement level as you write. Our clients can sleep and have breakfast in a building from the 15th Century and try what it really means to be surrounded from walls “scented of History”.
Concerning the cold eggs, sausages and beans you found on the buffet’ table during the breakfast time, we fell very sorry for the faulty service that you and other clients had suffered. During your stay we had an unexpected breakage of the thermoregulation device of the chafing dish. Lucky other very kind clients have promptly informed us so that we can repair it. On the large buffet of the breakfast room our clients can have hot and cold food. Espresso coffee, cappuccino and toasted bread are supplied by the waiters directly on request to avoid to serve “food not made at the time of the request” to be sure we offer food to be tasted at its best.
We are sorry to contradict you about what you wrote about rooms’ cleaning. Our room made are working with us from years and years. They are always assigned to clean the same rooms so that they fell more responsible and their work is always a bit more careful than before. For the high standard of cleaning of rooms, furniture in the room and in the bathroom, we now have more than the 65% of the Italian and Foreign clients coming to stay again with us after their first visit.
If you did not like the room we assigned to you, you had just to report it to reception staff. We could change your room to let your stay more pleasant. Some clients love lower floors’ rooms, other ones love to be on the high floor, other clients like rooms facing the main square, other like rooms facing the back of the hotel. If you did not advice us at reservation time about your rooms preference it is a bit hard to give you a room that meet you needs.
Your words that in the same area of our hotel there are better and cheaper hotels, let us understand that you choose the wrong hotel for your stay in the heart of Rome. You should have chosen an hotel in a new building, a modern style hotel for sure without its personality.
Who choose a “Relais Hotel” in a 15th Century Historical building where even Popes have lived in, should appreciate to live a “different from the usual” but with all of the comforts that a four star hotel offer.
Best regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Gallia Hotel
Gallia Hotel
#757 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Prati
Hotel Farnese
Hotel Farnese
#107 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Villa Pinciana
Hotel Villa Pinciana
#116 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Duca D'Alba Hotel
Duca D'Alba Hotel
#143 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
Esquilino
Mecenate Palace
Mecenate Palace
#176 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Palladium Palace
Hotel Palladium Palace
#273 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi

Property: Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi
Address: Via Liberiana 21, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#275 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi is a 4 stars hotel located inside an ancient building from Renaissance Time (1600), facing on the beautiful Square of Santa Maria Maggiore, in front of the main Basilica. The hotels is 2 minutes walking from the Central Station of Roma Termini, final destination for all shuttle buses from airports, here there are all bus lines and the 2 metro lines A/B. From the hotel it is easy to reach by walking the Colossuem and Imperial Forum, and a little be far away the Spanish Steps and the main Via del Corso. The hotel has 39 rooms, elegantly furnished an equipped with a/c, television, minibar, safe and free wifi. Room categories available are: classic doubel, deluxe double, multiple rooms and Junior Suite. On request the hotel provides bar service and room service. Inside the building there is a maginificent internal garde with sofa and umbrellas where you can comfortably read a book or drink something; furthermore there is a Church from 1600 and a library room, provided also for meetings and conferences. The hotel serves the breakfast in the breakfast room or in the rooms on request, and our staff is available 24/24 for any information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi Rome
Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing