We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel but facilities very poor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi
Ranked #565 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel but facilities very poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and the hotel is beautiful and full of history and in a fantastic location but unfortunately the facilities let the hotel down. After having a first shower there was a leak in the bathroom which was reported immediately and was told by reception that this would be looked at by the bell boy, apart from being mopped each morning by the maid this was'nt fixed during our stay - hopefully this will of been done ready for the next guest!!!!. The food available for breakfast was ok but dont look forward to enjoying a nice HOT cup of tea or coffee with your brekkie as this was stone cold even though we were down for breakfast each morning just after the resturant was opened. As for the bar i dont think this exsists, we were told the bar maid was'nt available and we could use our mini bar which consisted of 2 bottles of water and a very small bottle of campari soda!!!!!. Due to the history of the hotel it makes an interesting stay in Rome especially being so close to the Colossum and just a short way away from the other sights but dont expect too much of the facilities. The saving grace was the balcony that was across the hall from our room, it looked out onto the well kept courtyard and was very pleasant to sit out on.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank melanie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    135
    112
    38
    28
See reviews for
134
155
17
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed there for 4 nights with my family and it was a terrible experience. I have no idea why this is a 4 star hotel, it is maybe a 2 star. Wouldnt recommend it. Rome is so hot in June and the air conditioning was almost not working. Breakfast was less than ok and the location is ok. Value for your money, not worth it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mochita12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelvalle, General Manager at Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Mochita 12 and Neverhome 76,

Your contribution is not useful to improve our service because it is obviously intended to discredit our work. Please note that you stay in a historic home in 1600 where the furniture should reflect the style of the period, but the rooms and common areas are equipped with all modern comforts, including air conditioning and free wifi. Furthermore, it appears that the rate you paid was a special offer, therefore, the highest price you paid is not true
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

I would not advise to go to this hotel, unless you are paying a very low price. The only positive thing is the friendly and very kind staff. All the rest is very poor: rooms, furniture, noise, location, breakfast etc.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank neverhome76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed here for one week on our honeymoon. I had emailed the hotel and told them we were on our honeymoon and they offered to upgrade us to a executive or superior room which was kind. The room was a little dissapointing although it had a lovely view of the church. The bathroom didn't have a bath, just a shower so they moved us the next day to a room which had a bath to relax in and the same view. Overall, the room and hotel was very tired looking. The restaurant doesn't open (only for the breakfast buffet) and although there is a good selection, it's not the greatest food. The cinema was never open once in the week we were there neither was the cocktail bar. With such a lack of buzz, the hotel was very cold and atmosphereless. The only people we saw were at breakfast. The main red carpeted entrance was always closed off and minimum staff just sat in the smaller foyer which was a real anticlimax when you arrive. It was a shame as the hotel has real histor and potential and is in a good location (only a ten min walk to the Colosseum and about a 3 min walk from Termini main station!). The church inside the hotel was beautiful but when we went to look in it it was full of beds piled up and other furniture and there was no mention of a service.
The staff were very helpful and friendly but they didn't go to extra lengths. I would have expected something special since they new it was our honeymoon, perhaps flowers or chocolates or towels laid out etc. Some wall paper was torn, a little damp smell in the bathroom, overall I wouldn't give this hotel 4 stars. Thankfully Rome is such an amazing place that we didn't spend much time in the hotel and had a wonderful honeymoon.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Basillica.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biddulph111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelvalle, General Manager at Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Sirs,

We are sorry to read your comment aimed at discrediting the image of our hotel. Our staff was on hand to try to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We specify that our hotel has no restaurant, nor has ever been advertised, and the cinema film projection room is on request for meetings and events.
So before you discredit a honorable activities on the market from many years, and with the satisfaction of our best guests and customers, we invite you wish to respect the work of a renowned company.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed for three nights in mid-June, and enjoyed our stay very much. Our room was large, with all of the facilities you'd expect of a decent, but not expensive hotel. The location is very central, and most of the time we walked (although a taxi to the Vatican, for instance, cost only about 10 Euros).

What I really enjoyed about Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi was the very palatial public rooms and the beautiful central courtyard, which I think makes this more than just a standard hotel.

The staff were very helpful, particularly on the final day when they booked us a car to the airport at a lower rate than the typical taxi fare.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelvalle, Direttore generale at Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Mr Shhayes,

Thank you for your very kind and thoughtful feedback.

Comments such as these always encourage us in enhancing our efforts to provide the best in hospitality and service.

It was indeed a pleasure having you at the Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi, and we look forward to welcoming you again.


Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

My famil and I (4) stayed at this hotel in June 2012. The hotel is a short walk away from the main central metrol station Termini. We arrived at the hotel at 10:30ish. Even though we were early, our room was maid avalable. The hotel staff are very kind and made us feel welcome.

We had one room, which had another small room within. The small room had 1 bed which my elder daughter took up. The main area had 1 double and 1 singel. The room was very spacious and very clean and tidy.

The shower in out room was fansatic, it was perfect after being out for the day Roaming the streets of Rome with tierd legs and feet.

Breakfast was basic but perfect.

There is no bad things to say about this hotel. The staff are friendly and willing to sort things out asap.

Thanks

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Narendra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

Arrived in Rome from Australia---had booked the hotel and paid in full months before.
We were told on arrival that we had to be moved to the sister hotel The Valle just around the corner as there were sick people in the room I had booked!!1
The Valle Hotel is disgusting and the bathroom smelt like an open sewrage,
We then stayed 2 nights at the Rospiigliosi and it was very ordinary.
No offer of a refund
I clearly stated my case but they did not care.
The breakfast at this hotel is disgusting---stale and cold water for tea etc
I was very disappointed and I paid a lot of money.
Do not go there!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Novena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Gallia Hotel
Gallia Hotel
#709 of 1,290 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Villa Pinciana
Hotel Villa Pinciana
#127 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Prati
Hotel Farnese
Hotel Farnese
#109 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Duca D'Alba Hotel
Duca D'Alba Hotel
#148 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Esquilino
Mecenate Palace
Mecenate Palace
#166 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,636 reviews
Monti
Valle Hotel
Valle Hotel
#1,058 of 1,290 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi

Property: Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi
Address: Via Liberiana 21, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#272 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi is a 4 stars hotel located inside an ancient building from Renaissance Time (1600), facing on the beautiful Square of Santa Maria Maggiore, in front of the main Basilica. The hotels is 2 minutes walking from the Central Station of Roma Termini, final destination for all shuttle buses from airports, here there are all bus lines and the 2 metro lines A/B. From the hotel it is easy to reach by walking the Colossuem and Imperial Forum, and a little be far away the Spanish Steps and the main Via del Corso. The hotel has 39 rooms, elegantly furnished an equipped with a/c, television, minibar, safe and free wifi. Room categories available are: classic doubel, deluxe double, multiple rooms and Junior Suite. On request the hotel provides bar service and room service. Inside the building there is a maginificent internal garde with sofa and umbrellas where you can comfortably read a book or drink something; furthermore there is a Church from 1600 and a library room, provided also for meetings and conferences. The hotel serves the breakfast in the breakfast room or in the rooms on request, and our staff is available 24/24 for any information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi Rome
Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing