We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude and not as advertised” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Emona Aquaeductus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Emona Aquaeductus
Ranked #506 of 1,285 Hotels in Rome
Tasmania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Rude and not as advertised”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The female desk attendant was rude on arrival because I didn't speak Italian and the advertised four star hotel is more a two star. The single room I had was smaller than the two star rooms I've stayed in Paris. Disappointed!

Room Tip: Don't be misled by advertised room pictures
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KittyTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelaquaeductus, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Emona Aquaeductus, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing our hotel Emona Aquaeductus for your recent stay in Rome and for sharing your own opinion about our hotel and its services.
We take note about your comments and we’d like to clarify some discrepancies.

1) “The female desk attendant was rude on arrival because I didn't speak Italian “
The staff working at reception is fluently multilingual and its every days duty is to switch from one language to another while making check-in , checking-out or dealing with our guests.
we honestly don’t understand how and why it could happen that someone, very fluent in Italian, English and German, like the mentioned “ female desk attendant”, could became rude just because a guest speaks only English.
However this should never happen in the Emona Aquaeductus hotel and I do apologise in any case

Hereafter we would rather refer to some comments written by other TripAdvisor Traveler Reviewers:

“ ….we arrived in the late morning, after nearly 24 hours of travel, and were warmly greeted and promptly let into our room.

“ ..Reception was generally staffed by people who were helpful and friendly, or at worse efficient “


2) “the advertised four star hotel is more a two star”
As far as the above four star category complain, it is well known that one of the most important features in this category is that the Hotel must have a degree of sophistication and a sense of “ exclusiveness” besides the good level of service associated with the category.
The Hotel Emona Aquaeductus is an historical Liberty Villa, with splendid marble floors, furnished with authentic Thonet and various unique Liberty antiques, paintings made by a Roman Artist, large lounge and parking spot in the garden, two security exits and full fire alarm system.
All the mentioned elements are distinctive and determinant for the city of Rome to assign the 4 stars to our hotel .
To express my opinion on this subject I just rely on the following independent written comments from other TripAdvisor Travelers:

“ I loved the unusual colour scheme of the rooms and the eclectic mix of paintings and furniture.
A little gem of a hotel and a great find “

“I found the hotel to be clean and comfortable, homely, with friendly staff . It was excellent value”

“The garden -- complete with flowers, fountains, and Nero the resident cat -- is a lovely place to eat breakfast and relax in the evening”

“This is a well kept villa, we loved this hotel, especially the courtyard outside where we would have drinks and meet travellers from around the world. very well maintained and clean.”

So considering that the above comments show good appreciations for the Emona Aquaeductus hotel, we indeed feel that your unhappy stay in our hotel was an unfortunate case of misunderstanding, so let’s hope to welcome you again at our hotel in the future!

Cordially
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    158
    62
    41
    12
See reviews for
51
152
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I also booked this hotel as a secret deal where you don't find out the name of the hotel until you pay for it. It was in a nice, quiet area, not as close to Termini as I imagined, which could be a good thing. We used the metro to get around - about a 5 to 8 min walk from the hotel. Our room was a bit small, but clean. I found the decorations in the lobby quite strange and felt a bit cluttered, but the front yard was quite pretty and peaceful. For this price, I was very happy with my stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Emilia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I thought this was a great hotel for the price. The decor is very eclectic, the staff helpful and the breakfast was wonderful. Although it was too chilly to enjoy, the courtyard was very quaint.We brought in Pizza and beer and enjoyed it in the lobby. We were only there one night but it was a great experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank yergs56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Like several other reviewers, we booked an online 'secret deal' where you only discover the hotel you will be staying in after you have made the booking, and I was also a little apprehensive after reading some of the reviews. Having stayed there, I do wonder what some reviewers were expecting for their money. Perhaps a four star rating is a little generous - we thought it felt more like a 3 star hotel, but a lovely little place.

The location is fine, and the hotel is easy to find. It's a 5-10 minute walk from Manzone Metro Station. The hotel is just off Porta Maggiore, through which the routes of several trams pass.

Reception was generally staffed by people who were helpful and friendly, or at worse efficient. Breakfast offered a good selection, and the hours - 7.30 to 10am were convenient.
Our room was quite small, and storage space was limited but it was clean and comfortable. We had a balcony which looked out over Nero's aquaduct. There was a safe, TV, and a minibar. There is a free Wifi connection, which worked fine throughout our stay. Large clean towels and shower gell/shampoo in the bathroom.

As far as complaints about the noise go, we didn't find it to be a problem. Yes, the sound of the traffic is audible, but it isn't particularly intrusive. We found lowering the metal shutter at night blocked out a lot of noise. Perhaps we were fortunate not to have excessively noisy neighbours, but we both slept very well.

And what I've not mentioned yet is the cost. By booking a 'secret deal' online, our accommodation worked out at just under £20pppn, which was *fantastic* value for money.

Overall, we had a wonderful stay - three nights of comfortable sleep and a hearty breakfast to set us up for the day in Rome. We would recommend it to anyone looking for excellent value accommodation, and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank janeywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosslare
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I stayed for three nights in total with my daughter . I found the hotel to be clean and comfortable, homely, with friendly staff . It was excellent value . The breakfast was fine , typical of most Italian hotels . The hotel was convenient close to the Metro station and tram stop . I loved the unusual colour scheme of the rooms and the eclectic mix of paintings and furniture in the rooms and corridors . A little gem of a hotel and a great find .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank siobhanrosslare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband got this hotel on special online without knowing it was this exact hotel. After we found out the name and read reviews, we were worried.
The hotel was better than we expected. Although further from the metro stop than indicated online, it was very quaint. The front desk clerk on check in evening wasn't the friendliest, but did recommend a restaurant that turned out to be very good.
The room was bigger than we anticipated. Small bathroom( but in Europe, be happy you have a private bath) with very nice water pressure in shower. Small tv and fridge and the bed was on the stiff side. We understand the road noise complaint, but you are in an old, big city.....we have had worse. The wifi was good, never had a problem with it. Made it helpful for research on the days activities and keeping in touch with home. We did get a glimpse of our neighbors room in the hotel and it was tiny. So the really small ones are there.
We are not sure if this should be a four star rated hotel, but it was nice. The breakfast was decent. Great coffee. Eggs, bacon and breads and cheeses. Yogurt and assorted cereals. We got a little bored with it after three days, but that's not the hotels fault.
Their website says they have laundry facilities, but they do not. And the laundry they sent us to was Very expensive!! Had I known, I would have just washed earlier in the sink and air-dried in the room. And they offered no apology or explanation about the website info.
I think we would stay here again, it was definitely worth the money we paid.

Room Tip: Note- there are no laundry facilities- even though their website says so. Ask for a corner room, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cruzinfagans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahti, Finland
Level Contributor
229 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Art nouveau style is far away at this end of nineteenth century building, despite of some furniture in the lobby. And furniture there really are from different ages and times. reminds me more of a tasteless second hand gallery with naivistic paintings!
Tight rooms without nose isolation makes your vacation truly restless.
We had a room with a balcony and a view to the aquaducts, nice, but continuous traffic drops the joy.
Nice and helpful staff, though when I asked to have our boarding passes printed, there wasnt a printer in the hotel.
Breakfast is lower middle range, specially instant coffee machine(Rome!) drops their points.
How have they earned the fourth star?

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room beside the side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PepiFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Latinum
Hotel Latinum
#563 of 1,285 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Eurostars Roma Aeterna
#280 of 1,285 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 1,056 reviews
Trieste
Hotel Panama Garden
Hotel Panama Garden
#154 of 1,285 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Eurostars Saint John Hotel
Eurostars Saint John Hotel
#372 of 1,285 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 720 reviews
Hotel Beverly Hills Rome
#658 of 1,285 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 607 reviews
Hotel Villa Torlonia
#731 of 1,285 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Emona Aquaeductus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Emona Aquaeductus

Property: Hotel Emona Aquaeductus
Address: Via Statilia 23, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#245 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Emona Aquaeductus 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Emona Aquaeductus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emona Aquaeductus Hotel
Emona Aquaeductus Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing