We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Termini, but a quiet location”
Review of Hotel Sonya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sonya
Ranked #241 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2014

The room was clean, but a bit small. The staff was great. Breakfast was delicious. By the time we left, they knew exactly what we each wanted to drink. We walked everywhere except the Vatican, which we reached by metro. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Pay cash (from the ATM down the street) for a discount on your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,558)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

425 - 431 of 1,558 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2014

We made the right choice staying at Hotel Sonya. This cozy property blends modern conveniences with charming elements from an era gone by, including a classic cage elevator, period woodwork and prominent wooden doors opening to private corridors of rooms. Our large, front facing room had very comfortable beds and a wonderful view of the Teatro dell'Opera di Roma and other picturesque architecture. Our room also featured free Wi-Fi, an in-room safe and a nice bathroom with a separate tub and shower. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet in their comfortable, private dinning area. The wait staff was very professional, warm and gracious. Hotel Sonya is conveniently located within a block of a small grocery store, bank, several restaurants and is within walking distance of the Roma Termini railway station and many historical sites. The hotel is in a safe neighborhood and we enjoyed wandering down nearby side streets discovering specialty shops featuring gelato, gourmet foods and more great restaurants. Our thanks to everyone at Hotel Sonya for a very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Great location near the station, walking distance to Trevi, etc. Quiet street, friendly staff, nice rooms, close to bus lines. In this price range you can't do much better than this. Easy to book via thier website/email.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

I mistakenly thought I was reserving a stay in Sept, but somehow I put in the wrong month, July. I emailed to ask them to please not charge me that day and that I actually wanted Sept. They never responded by email and after I called, the person on the phone was rude and just said "no, your fault." Yes, it was my fault, but we had three groups of people going in Sept and we were all going to stay at Sonya. Because of their poor customer relations, we all cancelled and are going to a different hotel that treats customers with respect and no just like a cash source.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
7  Thank JoeSueSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

My family and I spent three nights (broken 1 and then 2) at the Hotel Sonya. It is in a great location -- just 5-10 minute walk from Roma Termini. The rooms we stayed in were very clean though the first room we had - in the refurbished section -- was definitely better. Beds were very comfortable and the A/C was sufficient even in the 34+ degree weather. Wifi was included as was a very good breakfast. The staff were excellent -- helpful and friendly. Many great restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the "new" section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Londave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

The location of this hotel was perfect!! My daughter and I walked for miles everyday to all the sites, exploring the city was the best way to experience Rome for the first time. Hotel Sonya staff were wonderful, accommodating, friendly and we loved the breakfast!!! I will definitely be back!!! Right down the street is Ristorante Strega, wonderful food!! Matricianas was amazing also!!! There is a little sandwich shop (between hotel and Matricianas) that has amazing sandwiches (cash only). You will not be disappointed, this hotel delivers on all levels!!! Our room was beautiful and quite modern. Thank you Hotel Sonya!!! I hope to be back very soon!!! ❤️

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynnielou38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

My son and I stayed in a twin room for 4 nights in July. Our room was on the first floor and looked newly re-done. Beds were comfortable, extra blankets and pillows available. Room was very clean, including the bathroom. Room wasn't overly large but was set up well with lots of storage so never seemed crowded. Air conditioning worked great. The breakfast has a lot of variety and tasted great. The breakfast servers were so friendly; remembering what you had the day before and checking often to see if they could get you anything else. The desk clerk too, was always helpful - recommended a great restaurant for us, answered questions and called taxis always with a smile on his face. Location is convenient to the train station and metro/bus. I would recommend this hotel to others and hope to return myself.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank AuntyLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#214 of 1,272 in Rome
1,280 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Opera Roma
Hotel Opera Roma
#473 of 1,272 in Rome
627 reviews
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#228 of 1,272 in Rome
1,083 reviews
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#87 of 1,272 in Rome
973 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#150 of 1,272 in Rome
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonya

Address: Via del Viminale 58, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#273 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $57 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sonya 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sonya is in a quiet area of central Rome, in front of the Opera House and 55 yards from the Viminale Palace. Rooms offer free internet and free Sky satellite TV. Rooms at the Sonya Hotel are air-conditioned and feature a private bathroom and a tea/coffee maker. Breakfast includes a variety of breads and pastries, cold cuts, fried eggs and fresh fruit. The Sonya is a 5-minute walk from Termini Train Station. Free maps of the city are available at the front desk with ticket-booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sonya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonya Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing