We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for the price”
Review of Hotel Sonya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sonya
Ranked #242 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed in the hotel in August for almost a week. I did not had any kind of problem. The breakfast was good, lot of options including a marvelous sweet croissant and a good cappuccino. The room was surprisingly big and clean. The bathroom was bit small but very clean. I think that this is the standard in most of the places that are not 5 stars. People from the reception provided a map and info regarding the city and public transportation, including the Roma Pass, which was very helpful and saved few euros. A big thing about the hotel is its location, since it is very near the Termini Station. In the end I consider a good place to stay for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cesar_Augusto_SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,543)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

493 - 499 of 1,543 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is within 10 minute walking distance from Rome Temini train station. Overall, room is big n clean and staff very friendly. Once u step out from hotel, a lot of restaurants nearby and also souvenirs shop. It's good value of money and will definitely recommend to my friends!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mkyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Close to everything, this hotel is a gem! The staff were gracious, happy and very informative. The rooms were clean and up to date. And the breakfast was just wonderful. Although we only stayed two nights it had everything we needed. Also there are some great places to eat on the same street just a few doors down. Thanks for a great introduction to Rome!

Room Tip: The rooms on the front of the building can be noisy, but listening to the music from the cafes down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The hotel is at one end of Via Del Viminale but still within 10-15 minutes walk to the Repubblica metro stop and Termini station. It was a good base for our expedition to the Colosseum, Roman Forum and also up to Vatican City, Trevi fountain and its surroundings.

There are a number of eateries in the vicinity, including two Chinese places for those seeking a change. Two large banks and ATMs are within 100 meters. When we left on Tuesday morning we noticed a small street market between 0700-0900 hrs right next to the hotel and another at the back of it.

There is quite easy access into the hotel, and we easily managed the few small steps with our rather large bags. The hotel lift is rather quaint and we mainly used it to transfer our luggage, otherwise, we mainly kept to the stairs. I had asked for a quiet room and our request was met. The room was slightly tight with our bags and all but it was still larger than some hotel rooms in Asia.

The staff were friendly and very helpful, both those manning the reception and the breakfast room. Breakfast was quite decent with a wide range of fruits, cakes and bread available.

Room Tip: We liked room 333 - quiet and an easy walk by stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatureWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We enjoyed a 3 night stay here in Sept 2013. Rooms were reasonable size, clean and well equipped. Had a comfortable foam mattress. They had the best breakfast buffet selection of all the places we stayed in our 3 weeks traveling in Itlay. Staff were helpful when asked. Loved the elevator!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123sierra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This little hotel was in a great location near the train station and has a friendly helpful staff. The breakfast buffet was excellent. The room and bathroom were clean and well equipped and the elevator was a definite plus.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Close to main train station and the Avis car hire depot.

Pleasant english speaking reception staff. Room clean and for Italy a good size along with a good sized bathroom.

Tiny breakfast area but food ok.

Trevi fountain, Spanish Steps and Colosseum all walkable on that side of the city.

Room Tip: We had a updated room on a higher floor facing a large internal area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeenPhotographer-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#225 of 1,271 in Rome
1,254 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Opera Roma
Hotel Opera Roma
#458 of 1,271 in Rome
625 reviews
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#209 of 1,271 in Rome
989 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#169 of 1,271 in Rome
1,301 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#94 of 1,271 in Rome
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonya

Address: Via del Viminale 58, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#169 Family Hotel in Rome
#273 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $64 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sonya 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sonya is in a quiet area of central Rome, in front of the Opera House and 55 yards from the Viminale Palace. Rooms offer free internet and free Sky satellite TV. Rooms at the Sonya Hotel are air-conditioned and feature a private bathroom and a tea/coffee maker. Breakfast includes a variety of breads and pastries, cold cuts, fried eggs and fresh fruit. The Sonya is a 5-minute walk from Termini Train Station. Free maps of the city are available at the front desk with ticket-booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Sonya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonya Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing