We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pub with no Beer.”
Review of Hotel Sonya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sonya
Ranked #245 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“The Pub with no Beer.”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We booked into this Hotel using Booking.com and trusted the description given on their website. The Hotel is easy to find when arriving at Termini station in beautiful Rome and is very convenient for accessing the major sites and tour options. The Colosseum and The Roman Forum are just 10 minutes walk down Via Cavor, a road that runs beside Via Del Viminale. The description of this Hotel stated that a bar and mini bar were both available but upon arrival we were told that no bar existed and that each room had a mini bar only. This was very unsatisfactory as we like to relax after a long day's sight seeing. There are numerous good bars and restaurants in the area so this compensated somewhat. The room was adequate and came with air conditioning and a neat on suite shower room with all the necessary requirements. The breakfast was very poor and the service slow. Traditional Italian cakes and pastries were available for breakfast but were not very fresh. Their yoghurts were either frozen solid or lukewarm so no joy there. Coffee was ordered from a waiter but it came already in the cup and you had to ask hard for a refill. The staff were not eager to spend time answering questions and customer satisfaction was not a priority. We will probably look elsewhere for our next visit to Rome.

Room Tip: The Hotel has a lift to all floors. A front view room is the best option as you can look out at Rome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    601
    195
    55
    40
See reviews for
371
664
63
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel has very nice accommodations and the rooms are very clean. The breakfast down stairs was very nice and quite large with the options. I would have no hesitations on returning to this hotel. It was close to the subway and rail stations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hicksy1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in July 2013. Our room was on the 5th floor and was clean and larger than expected. We had a "triple" room with a king and twin bed. The bathroom was very nice and redone with a large walk-in shower. We found the staff at the hotel (front desk, cleaning and breakfast staff) all to be very courteous and helpful. The breakfast was very good with lots of seating space spread over 3 rooms. The breakfast was not just a typical continental breakfast, but was a full meal including eggs, bacon, meats and cheese as well as yoghurt, fruit and pastries. The hotel offered very good value for the stay and we would return again if we had the opportunity to.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulKitchenerOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertsville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed in Rome at Hotel Sonya for 2 nights in July 2013. The two nights were fine. The room was clean, staff friendly, breakfast was great. We left for a cruise and returned for another night before we traveled home. Upon arrival we were told that the water was off but they had secured a room nearby. We drug all our luggage from the train station to the hotel then to the 2nd hotel. The rooms were small and stuffy. You were not allowed to have food or drinks in your room. And worst of all, NO A/C!! We decided this was unacceptable. We paid quite a bit for our room and this was not at all comparable. My husband went back to Hotel Sonya and explained our dilemma. The staff was able to find another room and we were very pleased. We stayed at Hotel Rex. We loved this hotel!!!!! However all the moving around cost us precious time for our last evening in Rome.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatRobertsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Hotel was average, rooms were nice and clean but overall the hotel was not as good as Rick Steve's reviews made it out to be. Some reception staff quite rude and not helpful. Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bronwyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had a great stay at Hotel Sonya for 4 nights. They hotel isn't overly fancy, but that is not what we were looking for. We were looking for clean, good value, and friendly staff, and that is what we got. The room was larger than expected. Breakfast was great, the hotel was quiet, and again, the staff was very friendly and helpful. It is in a very good location, and we were able to walk everywhere. They are just a few blocks from a restaurant that stole our credit card info, so just a side warning to stay away from Galla Matta Roma. Looking at Tripadvisor, apparently the waiter has stolen credit card info from others as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boandzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel for 3 nights. The old fashioned lift elevator was quaint but functional with our suitcases and after a long day of sightseeing. The breakfast rooms were small but functional and there were good choices on the buffet line for breakfast. Our room was a nice size and the refrigerator a bonus for having water and soda available. The bathroom was nice size and the front desk very helpful with the free access to the internet computers in the lobby. We were told there was a discount for paying cash and since it was our last night we got rid of our last Euros. We loved being so conveniently located to the Termini station!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summerfun77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#210 of 1,261 in Rome
1,214 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#121 of 1,261 in Rome
1,291 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Opera Roma
Hotel Opera Roma
#416 of 1,261 in Rome
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#109 of 1,261 in Rome
816 reviews
Esquilino
Aberdeen Hotel
Aberdeen Hotel
#284 of 1,261 in Rome
966 reviews
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonya

Property: Hotel Sonya
Address: Via del Viminale 58, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#169 Family Hotel in Rome
#273 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sonya 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sonya is in a quiet area of central Rome, in front of the Opera House and 55 yards from the Viminale Palace. Rooms offer free internet and free Sky satellite TV. Rooms at the Sonya Hotel are air-conditioned and feature a private bathroom and a tea/coffee maker. Breakfast includes a variety of breads and pastries, cold cuts, fried eggs and fresh fruit. The Sonya is a 5-minute walk from Termini Train Station. Free maps of the city are available at the front desk with ticket-booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sonya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonya Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing