We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”
Review of Hotel Sonya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sonya
Ranked #249 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had a great stay at Hotel Sonya for 4 nights. They hotel isn't overly fancy, but that is not what we were looking for. We were looking for clean, good value, and friendly staff, and that is what we got. The room was larger than expected. Breakfast was great, the hotel was quiet, and again, the staff was very friendly and helpful. It is in a very good location, and we were able to walk everywhere. They are just a few blocks from a restaurant that stole our credit card info, so just a side warning to stay away from Galla Matta Roma. Looking at Tripadvisor, apparently the waiter has stolen credit card info from others as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boandzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    601
    195
    56
    40
See reviews for
371
665
63
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel for 3 nights. The old fashioned lift elevator was quaint but functional with our suitcases and after a long day of sightseeing. The breakfast rooms were small but functional and there were good choices on the buffet line for breakfast. Our room was a nice size and the refrigerator a bonus for having water and soda available. The bathroom was nice size and the front desk very helpful with the free access to the internet computers in the lobby. We were told there was a discount for paying cash and since it was our last night we got rid of our last Euros. We loved being so conveniently located to the Termini station!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summerfun77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have mixed feelings about this hotel.
Pros - excellent location and we chose this area for that as we had an early train from Termini. Easy walk to Termini even with luggage and we walked everywhere (did not go to the Vatican) with no problem. We found the area around the hotel fine.
Quad room with two teens was fine for space. We had a street view and loved it - no problem with noise.
Staff very friendly.
Good breakfast.
Cons - tv/remote didn't work, stained ceiling tiles made us wonder about mold/something (how hard is it to replace ceiling tiles anyway?), room was clean enough I would say but not sparkling clean, shower temperature very unreliable - in the evening changed constantly from cold to scalding and in the morning only scalding.
For the price in central Rome, it is likely very reasonable but keep your expectations in check!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Texastrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were traveling in Europe for 3 weeks and Hotel Sonya was our first stop. After dragging our 2 suitcases through the cobbled streets of Rome, we get to the hotel and there's a staircase to get to reception desk...my husband carried our suitcases up the stairs. The reception area is so tiny and cramped. Then they tell us they were fixing our room and would put us in another hotel for the night....saying our room will be ready for us the following night...back down the staircase to Hotel Corona, which was on a dead end street...a homeless man was sleeping 2 feet away from that hotel entrance. The next day we came back to Hotel Sonya when our room was ready. If I could redo my trip all over I would not stay in this hotel. I would pay the taxi fare and go stay in a nicer area. The hotel looks nicer online than in real life. Everything in this hotel is so cramped from reception/bedroom/breakfast area/bathroom in reception area....I was in a bad mood my first 2 days in Rome and staying at this hotel was the start of it...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoleilBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upwey, Victoria, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

After arriving in Rome by train we were able to walk to Hotel Sonya with our suitcases with no trouble at all. When we arrived we were directed to another building but this seemed to be in a quieter location so we saw no problems with this. Our room was comfortable and accessed by a lift that seemed to be a bit hit and miss as to whether it was working. The breakfast room was comfortable and the food very good. The freshly made coffee was a lovely addition to our meal. I would recommend Hotel Sonya for value for money in what is an expensive city to visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is a rip off. We stayed with friends who were charged less for their room than we were because they booked directly through the hotel. The hotel refused to negotiate an acceptable price. The staff was inattentive; the front desk clerk talked on his cell phone and our maid left our window open after cleaning. Had we not gotten back to our room before the torrential downpour, our things would have been ruined. In addition, our room had plaster falling from the wall...possibly from a hanging item or water damage.
The breakfast was less than appealing, and the wait staff had no manners. I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meelisya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

small hotel close to the central station and close to the center of the city, small rooms well equiped. Excellent breakfast, with real dark coffee. The TV choice is limited to italian chanels but we were in Rome for business and visits after work.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alain51500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#207 of 1,263 in Rome
1,216 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#121 of 1,263 in Rome
1,295 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Opera Roma
Hotel Opera Roma
#417 of 1,263 in Rome
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#110 of 1,263 in Rome
817 reviews
Esquilino
Aberdeen Hotel
Aberdeen Hotel
#289 of 1,263 in Rome
966 reviews
Esquilino
Corona Hotel
Corona Hotel
#381 of 1,263 in Rome
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonya

Property: Hotel Sonya
Address: Via del Viminale 58, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#169 Family Hotel in Rome
#273 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sonya 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sonya is in a quiet area of central Rome, in front of the Opera House and 55 yards from the Viminale Palace. Rooms offer free internet and free Sky satellite TV. Rooms at the Sonya Hotel are air-conditioned and feature a private bathroom and a tea/coffee maker. Breakfast includes a variety of breads and pastries, cold cuts, fried eggs and fresh fruit. The Sonya is a 5-minute walk from Termini Train Station. Free maps of the city are available at the front desk with ticket-booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sonya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonya Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing