We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I liked everything about it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sonya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sonya
Ranked #221 of 1,285 Hotels in Rome
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“I liked everything about it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Great choice of a hotel and location - away from the crowds but not away from easy access to all that I wanted to do (although I am a walker and took great pride in being able to navigate my way - eventually!- to all that I wanted to get to, and enjoyed immensely getting around with the very useful Hotel Sonya map). However, what I really appreciated was the help from the very friendly staff - no question a stupid one, etc. thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    504
    154
    44
    31
See reviews for
287
563
52
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel is situated across the Opera, at 10 minutes walking distance from Termini station. It is situated in an old building. Due to its location it is very convenient to walk to the main attractions, in just 15-20 minutes walking distance.
The room was large, with classic furniture and a classic bathroom. All was clean and functional, including A/C. There are coffee and tea facilities in the room. I think that the room and the bathroom need a refurbishment, but it is OK, anyway, ones go to the Rome for visiting the city.
The breakfast was repetitive, but it was very good. There is no carpet on the floor so do not forget your slippers at home!
There were cakes, salami, ham, cheese, tomato, butter, honey, eggs, cereals, yogurt, etc. The vegetable pie is delicious, but the eggs and the omelets were cold. It was better if they would have been at least warm.
The shower was very narrow. The towels were clean, without any spots.
The room was not sound proof, as we heard the sound of flashing the toilet from the next room and the car noise from outside.
The staff is friendly and helpful. I recommend this hotel for its good location!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deliatm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

From India,I went to Milan ,venice and Rome in Italy in this Trip..
Overall in all hotels, Hotel Sonya Was the best.

Cleaniness: room Was clean and infact very big.

Heater: Working good on Dec ( CLimate was 8*) we didn feel that.

Bed: Kind Sized.

Rate: Best Budget Hotel in center of Rome.

BreakFast: The best u could get i can Say. They have their own traditional food for breakfast. They don't just stop with American breakfast. They keep few more things extra, which is still mouth watering for me now. Will stay there again just for Breakfast :)

Location: Center to all location. hop on - Hop Off bus will be very helpfull and available from hotel.

Staff : Lovely Staffs. They were very much helpful. They were able to arrange cabs and comunicate us on time and made our journey very confortable.

Extra Note: Lot of Indian Restaurents available near Hotel Sonya.( hunt them for good masala Chai )

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Itsmevenkatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went to Rome for the first time for my daughter's 18th birthday. The hotel was in a great location centrally for all the sites. The longest walk was about 30 minutes but many interesting things were much closer. Termini station where you could get hop on hop of buses was just 5 minutes away. If visiting the Colluseum enter via Palentine Hill, you get through a back entrance and skip the massive queues!
Our room was spotlessly clean, I'm quite fussy, but the bathroom was a good size and looked newly fitted. Towels and bedding bright white! The room itself was not particularly large but in Rome you don't spend much time in your room.
Breakfast was always ample with a selection of rolls, pastries, cakes, cold meats, boiled eggs, yoghurts etc, along with tea or coffee. Juice wasn't the best quality. I was always able to find something to eat and staff were all friendly and helpful, even giving me directions to specific eateries that we fancied.
I felt that the hotel was definately the best 3 star hotel I have stayed in, exceeding my expectations. Over and above that it was quaint, with its old iron framed lift and big imposing front doors.
If ever back in Rome I would stay there again. Perfect for sight seeing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosemariespeedie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hotel Sonya was incredibly clean and centrally located to all Rome attractions. Short walk to underground station and train station, and in a quiet area of the city. Within walking distance of great restaurants. Offered a wonderful full breakfast. Staff always happy to give advise (in English) for local attractions.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryJo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hotel Sonya is a pleasant oasis in the city of Rome. Very modern in its accommodations, the staff is friendly and helpful. The bed dings are quite comfortable. Breakfast is varied and delicious. Wonderful sweet and savory options. The location is convenient to the most common sights in Rome. We enjoyed our 2 night stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CalleaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
479 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were in the 'annex', which was around the corner from the original hotel. Located on a quiet street near the opera and the train station, this was just what the doctor ordered after a hot day of sightseeing in Rome and a long, sticky walk from the Colosseum. Hotel was modern, AC was cool after a 98 degree day, WiFi was free, bathroom was huge, and breakfast was yummy. Front desk staff was very friendly. I would stay here again, which I would not say about other Rome hotels! Great place to stay if you have an early or late train and want a 5-minute walk to the train station.

Room Tip: Not sure what the main hotel is like, but the annex was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dkm57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Opera Roma
Hotel Opera Roma
#392 of 1,285 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 561 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#177 of 1,285 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 913 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Selene Roma
Hotel Selene Roma
#129 of 1,285 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#192 of 1,285 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 1,052 reviews
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#81 of 1,285 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonya

Property: Hotel Sonya
Address: Via Del Viminale 58, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#170 Family Hotel in Rome
#275 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sonya 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sonya is in a quiet area of central Rome, in front of the Opera House and 55 yards from the Viminale Palace. Rooms offer free internet and free Sky satellite TV. Rooms at the Sonya Hotel are air-conditioned and feature a private bathroom and a tea/coffee maker. Breakfast includes a variety of breads and pastries, cold cuts, fried eggs and fresh fruit. The Sonya is a 2-minute walk from Termini Train Station. Free maps of the city are available at the front desk with ticket-booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sonya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonya Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing