We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sonya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sonya
Ranked #234 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

From India,I went to Milan ,venice and Rome in Italy in this Trip..
Overall in all hotels, Hotel Sonya Was the best.

Cleaniness: room Was clean and infact very big.

Heater: Working good on Dec ( CLimate was 8*) we didn feel that.

Bed: Kind Sized.

Rate: Best Budget Hotel in center of Rome.

BreakFast: The best u could get i can Say. They have their own traditional food for breakfast. They don't just stop with American breakfast. They keep few more things extra, which is still mouth watering for me now. Will stay there again just for Breakfast :)

Location: Center to all location. hop on - Hop Off bus will be very helpfull and available from hotel.

Staff : Lovely Staffs. They were very much helpful. They were able to arrange cabs and comunicate us on time and made our journey very confortable.

Extra Note: Lot of Indian Restaurents available near Hotel Sonya.( hunt them for good masala Chai )

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itsmevenkatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    579
    184
    51
    37
See reviews for
348
635
63
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went to Rome for the first time for my daughter's 18th birthday. The hotel was in a great location centrally for all the sites. The longest walk was about 30 minutes but many interesting things were much closer. Termini station where you could get hop on hop of buses was just 5 minutes away. If visiting the Colluseum enter via Palentine Hill, you get through a back entrance and skip the massive queues!
Our room was spotlessly clean, I'm quite fussy, but the bathroom was a good size and looked newly fitted. Towels and bedding bright white! The room itself was not particularly large but in Rome you don't spend much time in your room.
Breakfast was always ample with a selection of rolls, pastries, cakes, cold meats, boiled eggs, yoghurts etc, along with tea or coffee. Juice wasn't the best quality. I was always able to find something to eat and staff were all friendly and helpful, even giving me directions to specific eateries that we fancied.
I felt that the hotel was definately the best 3 star hotel I have stayed in, exceeding my expectations. Over and above that it was quaint, with its old iron framed lift and big imposing front doors.
If ever back in Rome I would stay there again. Perfect for sight seeing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosemariespeedie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hotel Sonya was incredibly clean and centrally located to all Rome attractions. Short walk to underground station and train station, and in a quiet area of the city. Within walking distance of great restaurants. Offered a wonderful full breakfast. Staff always happy to give advise (in English) for local attractions.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryJo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hotel Sonya is a pleasant oasis in the city of Rome. Very modern in its accommodations, the staff is friendly and helpful. The bed dings are quite comfortable. Breakfast is varied and delicious. Wonderful sweet and savory options. The location is convenient to the most common sights in Rome. We enjoyed our 2 night stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalleaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
581 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were in the 'annex', which was around the corner from the original hotel. Located on a quiet street near the opera and the train station, this was just what the doctor ordered after a hot day of sightseeing in Rome and a long, sticky walk from the Colosseum. Hotel was modern, AC was cool after a 98 degree day, WiFi was free, bathroom was huge, and breakfast was yummy. Front desk staff was very friendly. I would stay here again, which I would not say about other Rome hotels! Great place to stay if you have an early or late train and want a 5-minute walk to the train station.

Room Tip: Not sure what the main hotel is like, but the annex was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkm57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Very conveniently located to major train station and close to various attractions. The breakfast was sufficient and the staffs were extremely polite and friendly. Room is pretty basic and small, but with good housekeeping service. Carrefour is just across the street, which makes it easy to purchase basic stuff. will stay again if i ever go back to Rome.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

stayed at Sonya per Rick Steves - it was basic to say the least. While the staff was friendly, and it is certainly well located - there are other comparably priced hotels in the area that are a good bit more charming and similarly or less expensively priced. The rooms were small and the breakfast was only passable. There is nothing romantic or "Romanesque" about the experience.
I highly recommend Cortina right around the corner on Via Nationale. Family owned three star - rooms are small but service and friendliness, breakfast and location were wonderful.

Room Tip: Viminale is quite noisy throughout the evening - lots of activity in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanrumpole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#206 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#124 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Opera Roma
Hotel Opera Roma
#423 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#119 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#178 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonya

Property: Hotel Sonya
Address: Via del Viminale 58, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#169 Family Hotel in Rome
#273 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sonya 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sonya is in a quiet area of central Rome, in front of the Opera House and 55 yards from the Viminale Palace. Rooms offer free internet and free Sky satellite TV. Rooms at the Sonya Hotel are air-conditioned and feature a private bathroom and a tea/coffee maker. Breakfast includes a variety of breads and pastries, cold cuts, fried eggs and fresh fruit. The Sonya is a 5-minute walk from Termini Train Station. Free maps of the city are available at the front desk with ticket-booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sonya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonya Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing