We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Trip to Rome..put on your walking shoes” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sonya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sonya
Ranked #245 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Trip to Rome..put on your walking shoes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

My girlfriend and I were going on a planned tour of Italy and Sicily but decided to add a couple of days on our trip by going to Rome first by ourselves. We looked into various hotels and came across the Hotel Sonya. It is an older hotel with small but clean rooms. It is located a couple of blocks form the metro which we thought would be great.Ii checked into directions to the hotel and followed them but got lost because there are several doors you can use when leaving the train station. After finding the hotel we were pleased. You do need to walk a bit to the sites but considering the cost it was worth it. It gave us shopping in various areas and about 20 minutes from the Fountain of Trevi. once you are in the old area of the city it's easy to get around. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We got there early and they held our bags so we could do some site seeing. Included was a small breakfast the next day which was enough for us both. They called a cab for us to get to our next location. The room also had a private shower which many do not which was small but very clean. the elevator is old so be prepared otherwise the steps are steep.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blondee61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    561
    179
    49
    37
See reviews for
329
620
62
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. The hotel was clean, the room a typical European size, the breakfast was fantastic and the hotel staff could not have been more gracious or helpful. I loved the European amenities like bidet and towel warmer, things we don't see in the US. We had no problem with the free Internet and enjoyed being able to catch up on things back home after being on a cruise. The hotel is in easy walking distance to most of the major sites and we loved getting out to "stroll" in the evening with the local population. We will be recommending Hotel Sonya to friends who will be in Rome this summer.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sixsigrph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torun, Poland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel. Excellent location, close to most places you want to visit in Rome. Nice, spacious rooms and fine breakfasts. Close to the station-which makes it easy to get to from the airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank agata71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights prior to a cruise across the Atlantic to Galveston Texas. Enchanting place that accomodates both tourists and people who actually live in the building. It's located about 20 mins walk to the Colosseum. Rooms were smallish but fine for us. Food in the dining room was acceptable and very nicely presented. Yes we would return. The price was great and it oozed the Italian charm one looks for on their first visit to this beautiful country. Definately worth a try!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We love the breakfast as it has a wide variety of selection with quality. The breakfast receptionist is very friendly and provide very good service too!

The traditional lift is interesting but the room and bathroom are quite small. Wifi not very reliable and quite slow. But for the price, it's a great value.

The location is not very convenient. While within walking distance to the termini, it's quite a tough walk across busy and rocky roads with your heavy baggages.

Room Tip: Tap water in Italy generally taste weird with tiny particles, so best to purchase material/still wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bhwong1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We selected this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews; it sounded too good to be true at the price. But the reviews were accurate. The service started months ahead of our stay when I made the reservations by email. The staff responded, confirmed the reservation, and gave a detailed list of the charges - within minutes of my request. Weeks later I had to extend our stay one day. No problem - all confirmed within minutes and again a review of charges.
On arrival, we were greeted, registered, offered restaurant suggestions, and ushered to our room promptly.
The room was large, clean and comfortable. The king bed was comfortable. There was an in-room refrigerator and safe. Floors were marble and so was the bathroom - walls and all. Bathroom was adequately-sized, but not spacious. Nice large shower. Free wi-fi throughout the hotel as well as several PCs in the lobby. There were also laptops available for use in the room.
Breakfast - included with the room - was very good: a nice selection of meats, cheese, breads, pastries, fruit, cereals. Once seated, staff will bring juices, coffee and make espresso, cappuccino, tea.
Great central, safe location: about 2 blocks from Roma Termini, across the street from the Opera House, a block from the Ministry of the Interior, easy walking to many tourist destinations. Many very good, friendly and reasonable restaurants in the immediate vicinity. The dining room at breakfast was a great information exchange among guests; we were directed by other guests to some wonderful neighborhood eateries.
The staff were friendly, fun and very helpful. We hated to leave after our 4-night stay. As if €61 per night were not reasonable enough, on checkout the rate was discounted for payment in cash.
I wouldn't hesitate to return to Hotel Sonya. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinenomine112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile


We stayed at the Hotel Sonya in Nov. Rooms were good, bathroom are smallish. Hotel is very central and easy to walk to most tourist sites and train station. Has a very quaint old lift which is fun. A hotel is for the budget conscience, great value. Staff were very helpful and knowledgable.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#197 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Opera Roma
Hotel Opera Roma
#442 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#122 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#193 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#115 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonya

Property: Hotel Sonya
Address: Via del Viminale 58, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#170 Family Hotel in Rome
#274 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sonya 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sonya is in a quiet area of central Rome, in front of the Opera House and 55 yards from the Viminale Palace. Rooms offer free internet and free Sky satellite TV. Rooms at the Sonya Hotel are air-conditioned and feature a private bathroom and a tea/coffee maker. Breakfast includes a variety of breads and pastries, cold cuts, fried eggs and fresh fruit. The Sonya is a 2-minute walk from Termini Train Station. Free maps of the city are available at the front desk with ticket-booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sonya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonya Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing