We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little Hotel in the middle of Rome!”
Review of Hotel Sonya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sonya
Ranked #242 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights prior to a cruise across the Atlantic to Galveston Texas. Enchanting place that accomodates both tourists and people who actually live in the building. It's located about 20 mins walk to the Colosseum. Rooms were smallish but fine for us. Food in the dining room was acceptable and very nicely presented. Yes we would return. The price was great and it oozed the Italian charm one looks for on their first visit to this beautiful country. Definately worth a try!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,543)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

581 - 587 of 1,543 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

We love the breakfast as it has a wide variety of selection with quality. The breakfast receptionist is very friendly and provide very good service too!

The traditional lift is interesting but the room and bathroom are quite small. Wifi not very reliable and quite slow. But for the price, it's a great value.

The location is not very convenient. While within walking distance to the termini, it's quite a tough walk across busy and rocky roads with your heavy baggages.

Room Tip: Tap water in Italy generally taste weird with tiny particles, so best to purchase material/still wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bhwong1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We selected this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews; it sounded too good to be true at the price. But the reviews were accurate. The service started months ahead of our stay when I made the reservations by email. The staff responded, confirmed the reservation, and gave a detailed list of the charges - within minutes of my request. Weeks later I had to extend our stay one day. No problem - all confirmed within minutes and again a review of charges.
On arrival, we were greeted, registered, offered restaurant suggestions, and ushered to our room promptly.
The room was large, clean and comfortable. The king bed was comfortable. There was an in-room refrigerator and safe. Floors were marble and so was the bathroom - walls and all. Bathroom was adequately-sized, but not spacious. Nice large shower. Free wi-fi throughout the hotel as well as several PCs in the lobby. There were also laptops available for use in the room.
Breakfast - included with the room - was very good: a nice selection of meats, cheese, breads, pastries, fruit, cereals. Once seated, staff will bring juices, coffee and make espresso, cappuccino, tea.
Great central, safe location: about 2 blocks from Roma Termini, across the street from the Opera House, a block from the Ministry of the Interior, easy walking to many tourist destinations. Many very good, friendly and reasonable restaurants in the immediate vicinity. The dining room at breakfast was a great information exchange among guests; we were directed by other guests to some wonderful neighborhood eateries.
The staff were friendly, fun and very helpful. We hated to leave after our 4-night stay. As if €61 per night were not reasonable enough, on checkout the rate was discounted for payment in cash.
I wouldn't hesitate to return to Hotel Sonya. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sinenomine112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013


We stayed at the Hotel Sonya in Nov. Rooms were good, bathroom are smallish. Hotel is very central and easy to walk to most tourist sites and train station. Has a very quaint old lift which is fun. A hotel is for the budget conscience, great value. Staff were very helpful and knowledgable.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Raymond K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Sonya in 2011 and had a great experience. In planning to come back to Rome in November 2102, we decided to stay once more at Hotel Sonya, and we were again very pleased. This is a family owned establishment and the owners are always in sight.

This nondescript hotel (right across from the Opera House - about 2 blocks from the Termini) offers excellent value, clean, comfortable rooms, and exceptional service. Our stay started with greetings from the same staff as last year (Ivan, Babul, Joy, Arif). Our newly renovated room on the 5th floor exceeded European room standards. It was large and comfortable. The bathroom was modern, with plenty of hot water.

The Hotel provides a 'breakfast' buffet each day, seated in three separate dining rooms, and with coffee service provided by Arif and Joy. They served home-made breads, fresh fruit, pastries, and egg dish, sliced meats and yogurt. Did I mention the cappuccinos?

The staff offered tips on touring, nearby restaurants, metro stations, and grocery stores.

We recommend Hotel Sonya highly. Nice accommodations, nice staff, and location, location, location.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on the newly renovated 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Domercruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights, the stuff was nice and helpful, willing to answer our questions.
The room was quiet big, for the europe standards.
The breakfast was good, basic but enough for our short stay.
Had a towel warmer in the room, very helpful in these cold days.
The only thing that bothered us is a sound of falling water, happened about twice a day (the few hours that we stayed in the room), perhaps because of the building's heating.
Probably we'll stay here again

Room Tip: Ask for renovated room, not face to the street, in high floor (unless you are claustrophobic, then y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lian33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I spent around 10days in Hotel Sonya,Rome. The location of the Hotel is quite good.All the major attraction points ,markets and Metro stations( Roma Termini, Cavour) are near by /walkable distance.
The staff is very very friendly. Plus point is Free Internet and Complementary breakfast.

Room Tip: Room sizes are vary for the same cost ,so please check the rooms before finalizing .I belive they ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madhuvarsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#223 of 1,271 in Rome
1,254 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Opera Roma
Hotel Opera Roma
#453 of 1,271 in Rome
625 reviews
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#212 of 1,271 in Rome
989 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#159 of 1,271 in Rome
1,301 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#95 of 1,271 in Rome
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonya

Address: Via del Viminale 58, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#169 Family Hotel in Rome
#273 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $64 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sonya 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sonya is in a quiet area of central Rome, in front of the Opera House and 55 yards from the Viminale Palace. Rooms offer free internet and free Sky satellite TV. Rooms at the Sonya Hotel are air-conditioned and feature a private bathroom and a tea/coffee maker. Breakfast includes a variety of breads and pastries, cold cuts, fried eggs and fresh fruit. The Sonya is a 5-minute walk from Termini Train Station. Free maps of the city are available at the front desk with ticket-booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sonya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonya Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing