We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sonya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Sonya
Ranked #245 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We love the breakfast as it has a wide variety of selection with quality. The breakfast receptionist is very friendly and provide very good service too!

The traditional lift is interesting but the room and bathroom are quite small. Wifi not very reliable and quite slow. But for the price, it's a great value.

The location is not very convenient. While within walking distance to the termini, it's quite a tough walk across busy and rocky roads with your heavy baggages.

Room Tip: Tap water in Italy generally taste weird with tiny particles, so best to purchase material/still wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bhwong1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    558
    176
    50
    37
See reviews for
326
619
62
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We selected this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews; it sounded too good to be true at the price. But the reviews were accurate. The service started months ahead of our stay when I made the reservations by email. The staff responded, confirmed the reservation, and gave a detailed list of the charges - within minutes of my request. Weeks later I had to extend our stay one day. No problem - all confirmed within minutes and again a review of charges.
On arrival, we were greeted, registered, offered restaurant suggestions, and ushered to our room promptly.
The room was large, clean and comfortable. The king bed was comfortable. There was an in-room refrigerator and safe. Floors were marble and so was the bathroom - walls and all. Bathroom was adequately-sized, but not spacious. Nice large shower. Free wi-fi throughout the hotel as well as several PCs in the lobby. There were also laptops available for use in the room.
Breakfast - included with the room - was very good: a nice selection of meats, cheese, breads, pastries, fruit, cereals. Once seated, staff will bring juices, coffee and make espresso, cappuccino, tea.
Great central, safe location: about 2 blocks from Roma Termini, across the street from the Opera House, a block from the Ministry of the Interior, easy walking to many tourist destinations. Many very good, friendly and reasonable restaurants in the immediate vicinity. The dining room at breakfast was a great information exchange among guests; we were directed by other guests to some wonderful neighborhood eateries.
The staff were friendly, fun and very helpful. We hated to leave after our 4-night stay. As if €61 per night were not reasonable enough, on checkout the rate was discounted for payment in cash.
I wouldn't hesitate to return to Hotel Sonya. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinenomine112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile


We stayed at the Hotel Sonya in Nov. Rooms were good, bathroom are smallish. Hotel is very central and easy to walk to most tourist sites and train station. Has a very quaint old lift which is fun. A hotel is for the budget conscience, great value. Staff were very helpful and knowledgable.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Sonya in 2011 and had a great experience. In planning to come back to Rome in November 2102, we decided to stay once more at Hotel Sonya, and we were again very pleased. This is a family owned establishment and the owners are always in sight.

This nondescript hotel (right across from the Opera House - about 2 blocks from the Termini) offers excellent value, clean, comfortable rooms, and exceptional service. Our stay started with greetings from the same staff as last year (Ivan, Babul, Joy, Arif). Our newly renovated room on the 5th floor exceeded European room standards. It was large and comfortable. The bathroom was modern, with plenty of hot water.

The Hotel provides a 'breakfast' buffet each day, seated in three separate dining rooms, and with coffee service provided by Arif and Joy. They served home-made breads, fresh fruit, pastries, and egg dish, sliced meats and yogurt. Did I mention the cappuccinos?

The staff offered tips on touring, nearby restaurants, metro stations, and grocery stores.

We recommend Hotel Sonya highly. Nice accommodations, nice staff, and location, location, location.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on the newly renovated 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Domercruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights, the stuff was nice and helpful, willing to answer our questions.
The room was quiet big, for the europe standards.
The breakfast was good, basic but enough for our short stay.
Had a towel warmer in the room, very helpful in these cold days.
The only thing that bothered us is a sound of falling water, happened about twice a day (the few hours that we stayed in the room), perhaps because of the building's heating.
Probably we'll stay here again

Room Tip: Ask for renovated room, not face to the street, in high floor (unless you are claustrophobic, then y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lian33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

I spent around 10days in Hotel Sonya,Rome. The location of the Hotel is quite good.All the major attraction points ,markets and Metro stations( Roma Termini, Cavour) are near by /walkable distance.
The staff is very very friendly. Plus point is Free Internet and Complementary breakfast.

Room Tip: Room sizes are vary for the same cost ,so please check the rooms before finalizing .I belive they ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madhuvarsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

I spent 3 days in Rome at the end of a glorious 6 week stay in Tuscany and Hotel Sonya was perfect. The location can't be beat (a short 5-10 minute walk from Termini Station) and staff was friendly and accommodating, even being patient as I practiced my Italian language skills. I look forward to returning to Rome soon and will definitely stay at Hotel Sonya again if I can!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Opera Roma
Hotel Opera Roma
#432 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#208 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Selene Roma
Hotel Selene Roma
#118 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#194 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#103 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonya

Property: Hotel Sonya
Address: Via del Viminale 58, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#170 Family Hotel in Rome
#274 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sonya 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sonya is in a quiet area of central Rome, in front of the Opera House and 55 yards from the Viminale Palace. Rooms offer free internet and free Sky satellite TV. Rooms at the Sonya Hotel are air-conditioned and feature a private bathroom and a tea/coffee maker. Breakfast includes a variety of breads and pastries, cold cuts, fried eggs and fresh fruit. The Sonya is a 2-minute walk from Termini Train Station. Free maps of the city are available at the front desk with ticket-booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Sonya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonya Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing