We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay...Again in 2012”
Review of Hotel Sonya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sonya
Ranked #242 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Sonya in 2011 and had a great experience. In planning to come back to Rome in November 2102, we decided to stay once more at Hotel Sonya, and we were again very pleased. This is a family owned establishment and the owners are always in sight.

This nondescript hotel (right across from the Opera House - about 2 blocks from the Termini) offers excellent value, clean, comfortable rooms, and exceptional service. Our stay started with greetings from the same staff as last year (Ivan, Babul, Joy, Arif). Our newly renovated room on the 5th floor exceeded European room standards. It was large and comfortable. The bathroom was modern, with plenty of hot water.

The Hotel provides a 'breakfast' buffet each day, seated in three separate dining rooms, and with coffee service provided by Arif and Joy. They served home-made breads, fresh fruit, pastries, and egg dish, sliced meats and yogurt. Did I mention the cappuccinos?

The staff offered tips on touring, nearby restaurants, metro stations, and grocery stores.

We recommend Hotel Sonya highly. Nice accommodations, nice staff, and location, location, location.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on the newly renovated 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Domercruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,543)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

585 - 591 of 1,543 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights, the stuff was nice and helpful, willing to answer our questions.
The room was quiet big, for the europe standards.
The breakfast was good, basic but enough for our short stay.
Had a towel warmer in the room, very helpful in these cold days.
The only thing that bothered us is a sound of falling water, happened about twice a day (the few hours that we stayed in the room), perhaps because of the building's heating.
Probably we'll stay here again

Room Tip: Ask for renovated room, not face to the street, in high floor (unless you are claustrophobic, then y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lian33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I spent around 10days in Hotel Sonya,Rome. The location of the Hotel is quite good.All the major attraction points ,markets and Metro stations( Roma Termini, Cavour) are near by /walkable distance.
The staff is very very friendly. Plus point is Free Internet and Complementary breakfast.

Room Tip: Room sizes are vary for the same cost ,so please check the rooms before finalizing .I belive they ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madhuvarsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I spent 3 days in Rome at the end of a glorious 6 week stay in Tuscany and Hotel Sonya was perfect. The location can't be beat (a short 5-10 minute walk from Termini Station) and staff was friendly and accommodating, even being patient as I practiced my Italian language skills. I look forward to returning to Rome soon and will definitely stay at Hotel Sonya again if I can!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We spent 3 days at the Hotel Sonya. The whole staff was generous with their time and great with their helpfulness. I couldn't recommend them any higher. Fabulous stay. Thank you Babul and all the staff.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Andi Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

It is well located, 10 min walk from termini. Staff was very cooperating. We spend three days in roma and staff guided us very well how to explore Rome. Room was also good. It is well located, 10 min walk from termini. Staff was very cooperating. We spend three days in roma and staff guided us very well how to explore Rome. Room was also good.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reddune21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Although my daughter and I had been to Rome before, we wanted to try to find a hotel with larger rooms than we had in the past. We checked many sites, and found this hotel on Rick Steves site with a great review so we decided to book it. From the first e mail the service was helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. We needed to make changes to our stays since our plans changed and every time we were given quick and friendly responses. From the moment we arrived it was clear we made the right choice. We had asked for a room with a view of the Opera House and we got it. The staff made us feel welcome every minute we were there. The location is excellent, easy walks to all the classic sites like the Fontani di Trevi, Pantheon or the Coliseum or a quick taxi ride to the Vatican and St. Peter's.The free breakfast was delicious and such a great variety; great cappucinos or very rich Italian hot chocolate. We also visited Florence but were coming back to Rome and the Hotel Sonya for another week and on our return we were given the same room and we told the staff it made it feel like we were coming home. We are planning a return visit in the near future and we look forward to staying at this beautiful hotel again soon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElviraNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#225 of 1,271 in Rome
1,254 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Opera Roma
Hotel Opera Roma
#458 of 1,271 in Rome
625 reviews
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#209 of 1,271 in Rome
990 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#169 of 1,271 in Rome
1,301 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#94 of 1,271 in Rome
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonya

Address: Via del Viminale 58, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#169 Family Hotel in Rome
#273 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $64 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sonya 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sonya is in a quiet area of central Rome, in front of the Opera House and 55 yards from the Viminale Palace. Rooms offer free internet and free Sky satellite TV. Rooms at the Sonya Hotel are air-conditioned and feature a private bathroom and a tea/coffee maker. Breakfast includes a variety of breads and pastries, cold cuts, fried eggs and fresh fruit. The Sonya is a 5-minute walk from Termini Train Station. Free maps of the city are available at the front desk with ticket-booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Sonya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonya Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing