We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean, renovated hotel close to Termini and all major attractions”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sonya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sonya
Ranked #234 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very clean, renovated hotel close to Termini and all major attractions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

My wife and I, together with another couple, stayed in Hotel Sonya from 7 to 10 May 2011. All the staff we dealt with, both before and during our stay, were extremely helpful, and went out of their way to make us comfortable. The rooms had been recently renovated and were very comfortable. Double glazed windows, shutters and heavy drapes kept the noise, dust and light from the streets from penetrating, and efficient air conditioning kept us comfortable during the warm nights. Breakfasts were comprehensive and service was excellent. The hotel was perfectly situated, close to Termini and all the major attractions (we walked everywhere). Overall, a very pleasant stay in one of the most vibrant cities in the world.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mfmaguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    579
    184
    51
    37
See reviews for
348
635
63
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

Our Italy trip couldn't have started any better than our first hotel stay at Sonya. The location was exceptional - close to Roma Termini, in a clean, safe neighborhood and excellent room amenities - free wifi, modern italian furnishings and room facilities, Don't expect 5star accommodations, but for the cost, it was more than worth it and rivals other 3 star hotels we stayed at in Naples, Venice, Florence and Milan! The clean Metro line was around the corner and it was VERY easy to get a 3 day pass to get anywhere around central Rome. We also effortlessly took the Metro to a bus stop that took us out to the San Callisto Catacombs just outside of the central area. The staff were absolutely fantastic and accommodating, willing to help us out at every opportunity. We were moved from the original Sonya facility to its sister, and newer, facility just across the street - no hassle, the staff carried our luggage and allowed us to eat breakfast even if we arrived earlier than check in. Our room was ready 6 hours before check-in, which was a God-send, since we arrived at 8am due to the time difference. that was such a blessing for us to recover from jet lag and get some rest before beginning our Rome explorations! The staff confirmed our booked tours for us and totally went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. You won't be sorry! This is a GREAT hotel in a central location -- and EXCELLENT restaurants, shopping and sites! BEAUTIFUL church around the corner that we attended Sunday services in. WOW! What a deal!

Room Tip: There is a suite that could be booked, but didn't get the cost. The suite has exercise equipmen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NelVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

My husband and I booked a night at Hotel Sonya the night before flying back to the US because it was close to Termini. My first reaction to the hotel was that it was dingy and out-dated. The staff was appropriate, but not overly helpful. We asked for a cheese shop close by to stock up on Italian cheeses before traveling home and we were directed to a convenient store close by. Termini neighborhood is a more "colorful" part of Rome compared to other locations but the close proximity to the station makes it worth it. The room we stayed in was not as nice as the photos online. The decorations were very minimal and, although the room looked clean, I had a sense that rooms was unsanitary. The breakfast that was included was not good. The breakfast included processed foods and baked goods. The hotel served its purpose, however, I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Enj0ytheView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

I recently was in Rome and stayed at the Hotel Sonya....quaint small rooms but very clean and staff was nice and very helpful. Good location to all the main sites about 20 minutes from Trevi Fountain. A little longer to Spanish Steps but with good walking shoes it gave you a feel for Rome. Loved the old time elevator and a nice breakfast was included. Would recommend it to travelers who want something a little off the beaten path. Not far from the train station, about a 5-7 minute walk and across the street from the opera house. If you have big luggage walking can be a little awkward as streets are cobblestone.

Room Tip: Book early as this is a small hotel with limited number of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HedyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 606 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

Booked the hotel for one night pre-cruise based on Rick Steves recommendation. When we arrived a little after 10:00 am our room was ready and we were able to check in and drop our bags in our room before heading out to see the sites (which the Front Desk staff helped us with on a map they have). The metro is a short walk (8-10 minutes) but we spent our first day walking around the city. On the second day, we had reservations to tour the Vatican and were able to leave our bags at the hotel after we had checked out, since we had transportation that would be picking us up at 2:30 to take us to our ship.

As other reviewers have stated, there is free wifi available. There are computers in the lobby available for use, and there are passwords (good for 6 hours) that you can get from the front desk to use in your room....you can get an unlimited number of these.

The room is simple but clean and suited us just fine as we spent all our time out in the city. We would definitely use this hotel again on a future trip to Rome.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purcellville, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

We found this place both in Rick Steve's Rome 2011 book and also a friend had stayed there earlier in the year and recommended it.
The Hotel Sonya is easy to find and very close to the Termini station. When we checked in, we were told we were at the new hotel. I was a little worried at first. Someone took our bags and escorted us up about 1/2 a block to another building, the Hotel Opera. I guess they are sister properties. Anyway, we checked in with no issues. Our room looked very new. King sized bed which was very comfortable, bathroom with bath and shower etc. The breakfast room is a little small with about 8 tables and our first morning when we arrived all the tables were filled. The young lady working the breakfast room asked us to either wait in the lobby or should would call our room when a table was free. About a five min wait and a table opened up. Lots of food to choose from ranging from hard boiled eggs, cakes both savory and sweet, scrambled eggs, cereal, fruit, meats and cheeses and of course coffee and cappuccino.
On check-out, ask for the discount if you plan to pay with cash.
I would easily stay here if I come back to Rome.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travlnchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice,FL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

The rooms were clean, did not have nice views, but it is located in the theater area and safe. Their WiFi system is kind of weird, in that you have to get a new user name and password every 6 hours and even then, it is so so as far a connection. The breakfast is quite nice with a good variety of well made foods.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buzzbuzz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#206 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#124 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Opera Roma
Hotel Opera Roma
#423 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#119 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#178 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonya

Property: Hotel Sonya
Address: Via del Viminale 58, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#169 Family Hotel in Rome
#273 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sonya 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sonya is in a quiet area of central Rome, in front of the Opera House and 55 yards from the Viminale Palace. Rooms offer free internet and free Sky satellite TV. Rooms at the Sonya Hotel are air-conditioned and feature a private bathroom and a tea/coffee maker. Breakfast includes a variety of breads and pastries, cold cuts, fried eggs and fresh fruit. The Sonya is a 5-minute walk from Termini Train Station. Free maps of the city are available at the front desk with ticket-booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sonya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonya Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing