We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option for inexpensive room in Rome”
Review of Hotel Sonya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sonya
Ranked #236 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 608 helpful votes
“Great option for inexpensive room in Rome”
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Booked the hotel for one night pre-cruise based on Rick Steves recommendation. When we arrived a little after 10:00 am our room was ready and we were able to check in and drop our bags in our room before heading out to see the sites (which the Front Desk staff helped us with on a map they have). The metro is a short walk (8-10 minutes) but we spent our first day walking around the city. On the second day, we had reservations to tour the Vatican and were able to leave our bags at the hotel after we had checked out, since we had transportation that would be picking us up at 2:30 to take us to our ship.

As other reviewers have stated, there is free wifi available. There are computers in the lobby available for use, and there are passwords (good for 6 hours) that you can get from the front desk to use in your room....you can get an unlimited number of these.

The room is simple but clean and suited us just fine as we spent all our time out in the city. We would definitely use this hotel again on a future trip to Rome.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    594
    192
    53
    38
See reviews for
359
655
63
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Purcellville, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We found this place both in Rick Steve's Rome 2011 book and also a friend had stayed there earlier in the year and recommended it.
The Hotel Sonya is easy to find and very close to the Termini station. When we checked in, we were told we were at the new hotel. I was a little worried at first. Someone took our bags and escorted us up about 1/2 a block to another building, the Hotel Opera. I guess they are sister properties. Anyway, we checked in with no issues. Our room looked very new. King sized bed which was very comfortable, bathroom with bath and shower etc. The breakfast room is a little small with about 8 tables and our first morning when we arrived all the tables were filled. The young lady working the breakfast room asked us to either wait in the lobby or should would call our room when a table was free. About a five min wait and a table opened up. Lots of food to choose from ranging from hard boiled eggs, cakes both savory and sweet, scrambled eggs, cereal, fruit, meats and cheeses and of course coffee and cappuccino.
On check-out, ask for the discount if you plan to pay with cash.
I would easily stay here if I come back to Rome.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travlnchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice,FL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

The rooms were clean, did not have nice views, but it is located in the theater area and safe. Their WiFi system is kind of weird, in that you have to get a new user name and password every 6 hours and even then, it is so so as far a connection. The breakfast is quite nice with a good variety of well made foods.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buzzbuzz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Me and my wife only stayed for a night in this hotel as we had to catch a cruise ship from Civitavecchia so I wanted a hotel near Termini station. When we arrived they transferred us to the newer section of the hotel which is an apartment converted into hotel rooms with ensuite shower inside a building with other residents. There is a receptionist and even a small breakfast hall. Staff were excellent. Free wifi is a bonus too. Our Twin room was modern , comfortable and clean but unfortunatly it was very small. Much smaller than our bedroom at home. Lcd tv was good. Location is just 5 to 10 mins walk from Termini. Breakfast is nothing major but good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Unkn0wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coral springs, florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Stayed 1 night at this hotel, near the Termini Station. The staff was very attentive, the room was clean. The bathroom was spacious. Unfortunately the mattress was like sleeping on a table. The continental breakfast was adequate and check in and out was fast. Not sure we could go there again since the bed was so uncomfortable. A small discount is offered for Rick Steves readers when paying in cash.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zaydeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

price to quality of facilities translate to good value. staff is excellent, highly commendable in providing personalized attention. close proximity to terminal station, ideal for train/bus transfers within and to other cities. clean bathrooms, comfortable bed, hot breakfast. rick steves got it right!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at this modest but well run hotel. Our room was in the "newest" part of the hotel on the 5th floor. The room was well appointed, extremely clean and quiet. Be certain to ask for the newer section when booking. The included breakfast was more than satisfactory and gave us the energy we needed for our tours. An excellent location that is close to the Termini and still within a close distance to the Metro and excellent restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheOwlFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#214 of 1,257 in Rome
1,194 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#116 of 1,257 in Rome
1,282 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#100 of 1,257 in Rome
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Opera Roma
Hotel Opera Roma
#417 of 1,257 in Rome
616 reviews
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Esquilino
Aberdeen Hotel
Aberdeen Hotel
#281 of 1,257 in Rome
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonya

Property: Hotel Sonya
Address: Via del Viminale 58, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#169 Family Hotel in Rome
#273 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sonya 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sonya is in a quiet area of central Rome, in front of the Opera House and 55 yards from the Viminale Palace. Rooms offer free internet and free Sky satellite TV. Rooms at the Sonya Hotel are air-conditioned and feature a private bathroom and a tea/coffee maker. Breakfast includes a variety of breads and pastries, cold cuts, fried eggs and fresh fruit. The Sonya is a 5-minute walk from Termini Train Station. Free maps of the city are available at the front desk with ticket-booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Sonya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonya Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing