We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget find.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Principe Di Piemonte
Ranked #688 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at a lot of hotels during my recent trip to Italy. It was predominantly for business and since we had to travel quite a bit we tried to keep the costs down while still staying at decent places. The hotels we stayed at were between 3-5 stars. This was one of the cheapest we stayed at.
This place was a good deal for Rome. We paid approximately 60 eu per night and had a decent room, basic continental breakfast and private, clean bathroom.
The cons were that internet only worked in the lobby and you had to pay for it. However, the internet cost was about a tenth of what they charged at many of the other places so still not so bad.
Breakfast was very basic so don't expect much, but again, at this price I thought it was still pretty cool that we even got free breakfast.
The location is near the train station. As anyone who has ever been to most of Europe knows, anywhere near train stations is generally where the crustier areas of town are. But again, it's also where the better hotel deals are. So I'm never sure why people get a cheap hotel by the train station and then complain that the area wasn't awesome. it's to be expected that you aren't going to be across the street from the Vatican.
This definitely isn't a honeymoon rental but if you want a clean place to crash at a good price I think it's a good deal.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarlenaTeresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 232 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights last week.was a bit worried about some of the reviews with regards to the area ,distance from town and hotel .need not have worried.dont know where other reviews about area or distance to town where on but they are sooo far off the mark.hotel is a ten fifteen min stroll from train station down a Main Street wiv plenty of people around.at no stage did me and the Missus feel unsafe.the rooms are clean and well kept with house keeping daily.breakfast is continental and met our needs.staff are very friendly and helpfull.the hotel is ideal as a base for seeing the sites,but if your after luxury and plan to spend a lot of time in the room then you might as well stay at home and stay in the Hilton or something.Piazza with shops and restaurants bout five mins walk as is metro.fifteen min walk to colosseum ,five mins on from there and your in the main town.easy to find when u leave the train station so quick bag drop and off you go.would defo stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surfage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I and my mum spent 3 nights at Principe Di Piemonte Hotel. When i was booking that hotel i wasnt sure if that one was a good idea to book that 3 star one. When you are at Termini Station you should walk a little down to the beginning of the street. Then you can reach the hotel. Its not like written far or close to hotel. That is just about you, if you are a person who likes walking its not far from Termini, and you can walk 15 minutes to Colloseum. And there is a market so close to the hotel.Its just 5 minutes to walk to the metro. (and Manzoni Street is pretty as well)
And the hotel degree is just up to you. It was a clean, comfortable and warm room and has perfectly hot water.. Beside all, when you are checkin in they are welcoming you. At hotel we met with Fabio and Estela, 2 amazing people, They both know Spanish also. And surely they are so helpful about everything!!!
At the beginning Fabio is giving a map to you and circling what to do in Rome with mentioning transportations.
And Estela was such a pretty lady, rules over the restaurant and takes the control :)
The only thing they should do is adding cheese to the continental breakfast.

Greetings from Istanbul.

Sanem

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank syjournals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was a really nice place, very friendly and helpful staff, the rooms could do with a bit of a spruce up but very adequate. If you are into using the trains this is the place to stay , its closer to the Colosseum, Rome is such a large city . The breakfast really needs looking at a bit basic, cereal and milk no fruit and pastries. We felt safe but you do get a mix of people there it seems ...

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leighb_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Although on booking.com it states kids under 6 are free, they charged us 50 euros extra for 3 nights for our two 4 olds. The manager Alessandro was we wont let you check in if this is not ok with you. The hotel is in poor area of town but close to Termini station with the tram like previous reviewers have stated.
Its a great price hotel for people without kids but with young kids it is a hardship. To enter the hotel lobby you have to drag your suitcases down stairs. Also the A/c was very weak & the kids found it very hot at night. We finally opened our windows on the last night & it was very noisy outside.
The rest of the hotel staff was pleasant but check in wasnt fun.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geneds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We booked this hotel under the impression that it's next to Termini station, as it was the most convenent location for us to get to from Amalfi coast and then to the airport to go back home after spending few days in Rome. We were wrong. It is some 5 tram stops away from Termini. We, of course, had no idea, so started walking from Termini with all the bags and everything, after some 30 minutes we were really really really pissed. Even though it was night, it was so hot, and the neighbourhood around Termini is not the nicest, so it was a really punishing experience. When we finally got there, reception staff explained that there are actually 2 metro stops to Termini, or 5 trams stops. Anyway, not close and not convenient at all. Also, the transportation in Rome is just horrible, so 5 stops might not seem like a lot, but the trams are so crammed, it's a disgrace really. If I'm gonna stay at a dodgy area like Termini, I would rather that I just sort of cross the street and get to my train/bus etc, than walk for half an hour through the seedy and dirty part of town. But anyway, lesson learned.
Other that rubbish location, the hotel is quite basic, it is clean, and staff is friendly.
Breakfast is ok, pretty standard.
Minus is also, except the location, that you can use wi-fi in the communal areas, if you pay 10 euros. I found this to be rubbish, as there are dozens cafes, restaurants and so on that let you use wi-fi for free if you're having just one lousy drink there, and the hotel where you're staying for 3 days or so charges you 10 euros, really ridicilous.
Also, while there is air condition in the room, it is operated from the reception, so if you want it on or off, you have to call the reception to do it for you. This is a bit annoying, I kind of like to control the temperature the aircon is set on myself, also in the middle of the night I feel silly if I just want it off for say half an hour, and then have to call the reception twice. Yes, they work night shifts and, yes, you can call them anytime, but it would just be a lot easier if you'd just get the remote and use it yourself.
Other than that, like I said, staff are nice and friendly, rooms are clean. The cute factor is that there are some 9 cats in the garden outside, so they provide plenty of entertainment if you can't sleep due to the heat or whatever, and also, where there are cats I suppose there are no rats or mice, which meant a world to me, given what area around Termini is like, so it was safe to open the window (we were on the first floor, really low so anything can climb in) and get some fresh air in.
Next time, I would not choose this hotel, as it's location is not convenient at all. I would rather either stay right next to Termini station to get all the travel connections easy and nice, or stay in a nice area of Rome far from Termini neighbourhood and enjoy the beautiful town around.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ancicamila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in June. Though it is located 1.5 km from the termini station on the main road with a tram way in front , i will not call it to be a good location. The area is very very quite with barely any movement on the road below, so if u are returning back late in the night you dont feel safe, add to it the number of prostitutes hanging all over the street and it makes a scarry picture. The hotel itself is ok . The day staff a fat guy was very nice and friendly but the guy in the night a spectackled gentleman was rude ill behaved and un coperative. Along with him there was an old gentleman who made some very bad racial comments. Actually the air conditioning in one of the rooms was not proper , after making complaint the first day we expected them to take care of the problem but they did not.He refused to acknowledge the problem and did not agree to come up and check the cooling for himself.After lot of pusuation he came up , saw the problem and told us flatly that he could do nothing to help us. When we asked him to change our room he refused, Breakfast in the hotel is very ordinary, otherwise the rooms are ok.

Room Tip: If u are a tourist in Rome,. avoid this location, the right place to stay is on the front side of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pramodAjmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Donatello
Hotel Donatello
#271 of 1,269 in Rome
673 reviews
Esquilino
Piemonte Hotel
Piemonte Hotel
#396 of 1,269 in Rome
807 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Latinum
Hotel Latinum
#612 of 1,269 in Rome
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Virginia Hotel
Virginia Hotel
#757 of 1,269 in Rome
361 reviews
Hotel Pineta Palace
#456 of 1,269 in Rome
1,050 reviews
Hotel Jonico
#774 of 1,269 in Rome
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Principe Di Piemonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe Di Piemonte

Address: Via Giovanni Giolitti 449, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #688 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $59 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Principe Di Piemonte 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Principe Di Piemonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe Di Piemonte Rome
Principe Di Piemonte Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing