We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Clean & Great Location”
Review of Mariano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mariano Hotel
Ranked #572 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Value, Clean & Great Location”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Whilst the hotel is not the most imposing edifice, inside is a clean comfortable place to base yourself for your stay in Bella Roma.Free WiFi is available in the communial seating area. The main rail terminal is seconds away, so you should never get lost. A good selection of eateries are close by. The reception chaps are quite "Dry" but helpfull and cheerfull when you get used to them. I would return to this well deseved 3 star establishment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    254
    179
    47
    44
See reviews for
103
293
16
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We only stayed two nights but had a very nice stay. The bed was very comfortable. Room was a decent size and very clean. Its a good location, very close to the train station. Free wifi, I felt it was a good value. Breakfast wasnt very good but we didnt have high expectations to begin with. The staff were the friendlist and most helpful people we encountered on the whole trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcneumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed there for 4 nights. We asked for the 5th floor to avoid the noise from the road. The first night the room was very warm in spite of setting the A/c at 16 degrees centigrade. I complained, and the gentleman with the big mustache kept saying it will get cooler, but it didn't. and we couldn't sleep properly that night. The next night there was a different person at the reception. He said he will look into it and when we returned to the room that evening the room was very cool and comfortable. I realised the temperature control is at the reception and no matter what temperature you set the A/c in your room, they can regulate it form the reception.
the hotel is situated close to the termini station, about 6 minutes walk from the station. When you get out from the station, turn left and then again turn left till you reach the Manfredo road.This is where the hotel is situated. The area is run down, but quite safe.
It is easy to move around in Rome form this location as the train station, bus station and the tram are very closeby.
We had a quadruple room which was quite spacious. The toilet was clean and so were the linen. The WiFi is available only downstairs close tot he reception which is converted into a Wi-Fi room where people gather to chat on Skype or browse the net.

When you check in ask for the room safe, you need to pay 5 Euros as a deposit, very useful to store your passports when you go out.The check out is 11 Am and they ask for City tax of 2 Euros per resident per day in cash.

The breakfast is rolls(hard bread), jam, butter, honey, nutella, sweet croissant, soft cheese spread, bisuits, crispy bread, coffee, tea, orange juice and Ace.Cant complain, but after 2 days you wish they served some eggs or bacon. The girl in charge of the breakfast room checks whether you have paid for the breakfast, please carry your hotel card with you.Breakfast is on the second floor.

There are a few Chinese shops around where you can buy the Roman souvenirs quite cheap..
Most of the restaurants around you can get a decent Pizza or lasagne or spaghetti for 7 Euros or 8.each.
overall this is a good restaurant, the rest of the reception staff are quite helpful. I will defenitly recommend this place to my friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floor , but make sure the A/c is working properly or complain. They can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bipshayl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

A great value for money hotel. Basic, but very clean, free wifi, a good view, in a great location close to the station and within walking distance of restaurants & bars in Monti and Ancient Rome. The staff are friendly & helpful - all in all very good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

It is a very clean hotel, close to to central station, and within walking distance to the main attractions. The breakfast is pretty small, and you should not expect a big breakfast for this price. In general it is worth the money paid.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra_432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Not plush, but offers a very clean room, tidy bedroom, ensuite facilities in a convienient location for tourist attractions. Not in the most up market area, but remember if are staying here you are on a budget and it offers a fair product for a fair price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Nobody3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Willunga, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Worst place I have EVER stayed. How they ever managed 2 stars is beyond me, there should be a minus star rating. .
Arrived after 30+ hrs of travelling with my fit 70 year old Mum and so looking forward to getting to our hotel we were very disappointed.
On arrival no warm welcome, dour minimum information.
No fridge in room, no drinks at all, drinks machine in lobby broken down for the 3 unfortunate nights we spent in this awful place.
Once we reached our room Mum called down to reception and asked could she possible get a cup of tea, was told "no, its not possible", she asked could she get anything at all to drink, "no, not possible"
No sitting room or space where you could relax and absolutely nothing in the rooms, apart from the tv (which of course we couldnt understand anyway).
Sour older woman on guard in their cold, uninviting breakfast room, ensuring no-one disappeared with a couple of packets of condiments, maybe some strawberry jam to lick out of the packet in their room.
The breakfast was shocking, no fruit, 3 cereals (coco pops, cornflakes and a very ordinary muesli), white rolls or sweet pastry. There was an orange drink, it was not juice, more like a cordial
No wifi access at all
The final night the overwhelming, nauseating smell of sewerage permeated our room to the extent that neither of us slept and I had to wrap a scarf around my nose and mouth to try and block the odour. We could not get out fast enough. I wrote a letter that I handed in with our key, explaining how dreadful our experience of their hotel had been.
The man on reception then charged us the city tax. I was aghast, it was the final insult after a sleepless night and being treated so badly by the staff there and I told him about the stench and the appalling service and said I did not mind paying a city tax but in this instance the decent thing he should do in the circumstance was pay it on our behalf. He could not believe that we had experienced such a bad smell as we were in the new rooms! I am not sure if he thought we were making it up but my goodness it was disgusting.
Never, ever have I been so pleased to leave somewhere and it has coloured our whole experience of Rome. It is such a shame as the place was recommended by a friend who stayed there several years ago.
Arriving in Florence was so great after that experience and our 2 star hotel here is blissful and really deserves more stars, it is brilliant and shows just how repulsively bad the Hotel Mariano is.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moira-jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Kennedy Hotel
Kennedy Hotel
#1,029 of 1,261 in Rome
732 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Gabriella
Hotel Gabriella
#929 of 1,261 in Rome
428 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel San Remo
Hotel San Remo
#967 of 1,261 in Rome
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
D'Este Hotel
D'Este Hotel
#664 of 1,261 in Rome
139 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Scott House
Hotel Scott House
#618 of 1,261 in Rome
488 reviews
Esquilino
Siracusa Hotel
Siracusa Hotel
#961 of 1,261 in Rome
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariano Hotel

Property: Mariano Hotel
Address: Piazza Manfredo Fanti 19, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #572 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariano Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel set in former Italian Officers Quarters dating from 1880 offers modern comfort; located near Santa Maria Maggiore Basilica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mariano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariano Hotel Rome
Hotel Mariano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing