We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what it says on the tin”
Review of Mariano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mariano Hotel
Ranked #575 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Not plush, but offers a very clean room, tidy bedroom, ensuite facilities in a convienient location for tourist attractions. Not in the most up market area, but remember if are staying here you are on a budget and it offers a fair product for a fair price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Nobody3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (608)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

161 - 167 of 608 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2012

Worst place I have EVER stayed. How they ever managed 2 stars is beyond me, there should be a minus star rating. .
Arrived after 30+ hrs of travelling with my fit 70 year old Mum and so looking forward to getting to our hotel we were very disappointed.
On arrival no warm welcome, dour minimum information.
No fridge in room, no drinks at all, drinks machine in lobby broken down for the 3 unfortunate nights we spent in this awful place.
Once we reached our room Mum called down to reception and asked could she possible get a cup of tea, was told "no, its not possible", she asked could she get anything at all to drink, "no, not possible"
No sitting room or space where you could relax and absolutely nothing in the rooms, apart from the tv (which of course we couldnt understand anyway).
Sour older woman on guard in their cold, uninviting breakfast room, ensuring no-one disappeared with a couple of packets of condiments, maybe some strawberry jam to lick out of the packet in their room.
The breakfast was shocking, no fruit, 3 cereals (coco pops, cornflakes and a very ordinary muesli), white rolls or sweet pastry. There was an orange drink, it was not juice, more like a cordial
No wifi access at all
The final night the overwhelming, nauseating smell of sewerage permeated our room to the extent that neither of us slept and I had to wrap a scarf around my nose and mouth to try and block the odour. We could not get out fast enough. I wrote a letter that I handed in with our key, explaining how dreadful our experience of their hotel had been.
The man on reception then charged us the city tax. I was aghast, it was the final insult after a sleepless night and being treated so badly by the staff there and I told him about the stench and the appalling service and said I did not mind paying a city tax but in this instance the decent thing he should do in the circumstance was pay it on our behalf. He could not believe that we had experienced such a bad smell as we were in the new rooms! I am not sure if he thought we were making it up but my goodness it was disgusting.
Never, ever have I been so pleased to leave somewhere and it has coloured our whole experience of Rome. It is such a shame as the place was recommended by a friend who stayed there several years ago.
Arriving in Florence was so great after that experience and our 2 star hotel here is blissful and really deserves more stars, it is brilliant and shows just how repulsively bad the Hotel Mariano is.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moira-jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

This hotel worth the money you pay.

It is located 5 minutes walk from the central station Termini
and you have many places to eat nearby.

The rooms are clean and you can always ask question about what to do.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ori_haim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

This is definitely one of the best budget hotels I have ever stayed in. The staff is veeery helpful, location is perfect, rooms are very clean, nice, comfortable, perfect bathroom. We have stayed at the end of February, 2012 so it was not the season and price was really low. I would really stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Egidija L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Very nice hotel, it's a 3* but is clean and proper for the city and the level of italian hotels. Nice staff and location. It deserves the good rank it has.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LM2097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

This hotel is a great value! The service is good, especially if you are out roaming the city, there is always someone at the front desk 24/7. The staff is very knowledgeable of the area and will gladly help out and point you in the right direction. The location is perfect, it is a block from Termini Station! I recommend taking the metro into the Colosseum station, it is inexpensive and easier than walking. The rooms are very big, comfortable beds and large bathroom. I also recommend adding on breakfast for your stay because it is an inexpensive meal before going out sightseeing. The breakfast has coffee, juice, pastries, rolls, etc. Overall, I had an amazing stay here at this hotel and would stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brendon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stayed here at the end of January for three nights with my boyfriend. For the price per night (something like €40) this hotel is fab. Round the corner from the station and metro - sightseeing buses all stop at Termini so excellent if you are planning on being a total toursit like we were :)

Walking distance to the Colosseum / Forum and a couple of nice restaraunts nearby; Giuseppes round the corner was the nicest. There's also a place called Tudini's nearby where they make a fab cocktail but the food was pretty average and quite expensive - lovely staff though including Tudini himself... they also have free wi-fi at both Guiseppe's and Tudini's so we went there to use the internet if needed as it's not available in the hotel.

The local area is slightly 'Kings Cross' at night - if you are a city dweller then you're unlikely to be worried...but there are a fair few homeless people / odd charachters around after dark. We always felt quite safe though but wouldn't carry alot of cash etc as there are dodgy groups hanging around the station. We didn't have any trouble at all though so dont be put off.

There's not a great deal to do of an evening but apparently this applies to Rome as a whole not just the Termini area. If you are sightseeing all day then you will probably be glad to have an excuse to have an earlyish night and a rest :D

Hotel is nice enough, fab for the price. Breakfast was ok - just croissants and stuff but enough to fill you up til lunch. Staff were always really friendly. Rooms are cleaned and well equipped, not luxury but were certainly better than I expected for the price.

For sightsee-ers - highly recommend this place

Room Tip: As for a double room witrh a nice view as we did - we stayed in room 507 and apparently rooms on tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oakley2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Luzzatti
Hotel Luzzatti
#934 of 1,272 in Rome
112 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Aquarium
Hotel Aquarium
#1,034 of 1,272 in Rome
181 reviews
Esquilino
Caput Mundi
Caput Mundi
#898 of 1,272 in Rome
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Gabriella
Hotel Gabriella
#987 of 1,272 in Rome
433 reviews
Osimar Hotel
#386 of 1,272 in Rome
478 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Genova
Hotel Genova
#398 of 1,272 in Rome
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariano Hotel

Address: Piazza Manfredo Fanti 19, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #575 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $55 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariano Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel set in former Italian Officers Quarters dating from 1880 offers modern comfort; located near Santa Maria Maggiore Basilica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mariano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariano Hotel Rome
Hotel Mariano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing