We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy”

Biscottificio Innocenti
Ranked #1 of 289 Bakeries in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Neighborhood: Trastevere
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Trastevere
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
351 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

It's hidden, it's not touristic and the seller doesn't speak English. But she smiles, you can point at the cookies you want and then it's just about eating and being in heaven.
The cookies and pastries are delicious. I loved most the ones filled with jam or the ones which look like rabbits and are half way dipped into chocolate.
That's a must see and taste place!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank KristinMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    427
    89
    21
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Wonderful local bakery in Trastevere. The young lady working here was charming, friendly, and helpful. We tried two of each (for the most part) - everything looked so good. Pastries were very, very tasty. Two bags of cookies didn't cost much; we had enough to snack on for several days. Be adventurous and try what looks good.

Helpful?
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious homemade cookies”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is a small family-run establishment in Trastevere. Finding it is half the fun. They have a great assortment of cookies made on the premises. We were lucky enough to get some brutti ma buoni (literally, ugly but good) cookies that were still warm out of the oven. Whoosh! Bag empty. That experience alone was worth five stars, but the other cookies we got (amaretto, meringue, etc) were also very tasty.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zamfir R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“adorable Roman biscotti shop in Trastevere”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

well, it does not get more authentic than this is you are looking to sample a few (or many!) Roman biscotti. we came on a food tour and i honestly am not sure we would have found this place otherwise. it was only two blocks from our apartment but there is not much for signage and we had clearly walked right by it more than a few times and not noticed it. and it has a charm about it when you walk in - there is an authenticity here, and a true love of their biscotti.

the business has been in the family for a few generations and the current owner makes all the cookies fresh daily in an impressive conveyor oven that takes up a large part of the bakery. it's not fancy and doesn't need to be. it's all about the biscotti here. we had the owner pick a few of her favorites to sample and we were not disappointed. i just wish i could remember their names... i know the one cookie's name translates into "cat's tongue", but honestly, it really doesn't matter which you choose they are all pretty much spectacular. don't just get a few though, get a bag full or you may be truly sad when you have that espresso later and wish you just had one more...

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank tinderhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Hazelnuts and meringues!”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

I loved this bakery in Trastevere, both for the wonderful cookies and the wonderful woman who ran it. Out of a huge variety of sweets, my favourite were the small hazelnut cookies, while my daughter preferred the chocolate dipped meringues. Try a large sampling, though. There was nothing I didn’t like.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snullr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Biscottificio Innocenti also viewed

 

Been to Biscottificio Innocenti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing